Cartoonists discuss freedom of expression in Algeria

Caricatures draw attention to press freedom issues in Algeria.

Caricature exhibit "Freedom of Expression in Broad Strokes".

One of the caricatures featured, by Run Tang Li.

In Algeria, editorial cartoons are among the first content people look at when they read the daily paper - readers are interested to see cartoonists draw attention to sensitive subjects and provide commentary on current events or personalities.

At a time when constitutional reform was all over the news in Algeria, the Embassy of Canada and the Algerian Ministry of Communication presented the cartoon exhibit “Freedom of Expression in Broad Strokes” at the prestigious Palais de la Culture Moufdi Zakaria.

The exhibit encouraged citizens to reflect on the complexity of freedom of expression and what it means to them. Government officials attended the exhibit and reiterated the importance of press freedom in a modern democracy.

The Embassy of Canada and Algeria’s Ministry of Communication complemented the exhibit with the work of five well-known Algerian cartoonists: Slim, Haroun, Aider, le Hic, and Maz, representing different generations, hence different periods of Algeria’s history.

These five Algerian cartoonists attended the inauguration, and two of them along with the Embassy’s political counsellor participated in an hour-long radio show to discuss the role that cartoonists play in a free press, and the changing situation in Algeria over the decades.

Journalists rejoice over zero censorship

In the 1990s when Algeria was going through a civil war, an estimated 100 journalists were killed for exercising their profession. While in recent years journalists no longer need to fear for their lives, a number of challenges remain, such as the harassment and the denial of visas to foreign journalists.

In the week following the exhibit, the Algerian National Assembly approved the country’s new Constitution, which for the first time guarantees press freedom without any form of prior censorship.

These constitutional guarantees represent a major step forward for the right and the freedom to inform in Algeria,” said Yasmine Kacha, the head of Reporters without Borders’ North Africa desk. “Nonetheless, the real value of these provisions will not be realized unless Algeria’s current legislation, especially the criminal code, is brought into line with the new Constitution and with the country’s international obligations regarding freedom of information and freedom of the media.”

Canada hopes that with the new Constitution now in effect, Algeria will take adequate measures to enact the new articles which are intended to strengthen press freedom.

Des caricaturistes discutent de la liberté d'expression en Algérie

Les caricatures attirent l'attention sur les enjeux de la liberté de la presse.

Exposition de caricatures « La liberté d'expression à grands traits ».

L'une des caricatures exposées, réalisée par Run Tang Li.

Bien souvent quand ils lisent leurs quotidiens, les Algériens commencent par le dessin éditorial. Les lecteurs aiment bien voir comment les caricaturistes abordent des sujets délicats et donnent leur avis sur des sujets d'actualité ou des personnalités.

À une époque où la réforme constitutionnelle faisait les manchettes en Algérie, l'ambassade du Canada et le ministère de la Communication de l'Algérie ont présenté l'exposition itinérante intitulée « La Liberté d'expression à grands traits » au prestigieux Palais de la Culture Moufdi Zakaria.

Cette exposition avait pour but d'encourager les citoyens à réfléchir à la complexité de la liberté d'expression et à ce qu'elle représente pour eux. Des représentants du gouvernement qui étaient présents à l'exposition ont réitéré l'importance de liberté de la presse dans une démocratie moderne.

L'ambassade du Canada et le ministère de la Communication de l'Algérie ont enrichi cette exposition en y associant le travail de cinq caricaturistes algériens de renom, soit Slim, Haroun, Aider, le Hic et Maz. Ces derniers représentent diverses générations et, par le fait même, différentes périodes de l'histoire de l'Algérie.

Ces cinq caricaturistes algériens étaient présents à l'inauguration. D'ailleurs, deux d'entre eux, de même que le conseiller politique de l'ambassade, ont participé à une émission de radio d'une heure pendant laquelle il a été question du rôle que jouent les caricaturistes dans la liberté de presse ainsi que de l'évolution de la situation en Algérie au fil des décennies.

Les journalistes se réjouissent de la fin de la censure

On estime à 100 le nombre de journalistes tués pour avoir exercé leur profession pendant la guerre civile qui a déchiré l'Algérie dans les années 1990. Si ces dernières années, les journalistes n'ont plus à craindre pour leur vie, les défis comme le harcèlement ou le refus de visa pour les journalistes étrangers restent nombreux.

Dans les semaines qui ont suivi l'exposition, l'Assemblée nationale algérienne a approuvé la nouvelle Constitution, qui, pour la première fois, garantit la liberté de la presse sans aucune forme de censure préalable.

« Ces garanties constitutionnelles marquent une avancée importante pour le droit et la liberté d’informer en Algérie », a déclaré Yasmine Kacha, responsable du bureau Afrique du Nord de Reporters sans frontières. « Cependant, ces dispositions ne sauraient revêtir leur véritable valeur si la législation nationale actuelle, et notamment le code pénal, n’est pas mise en conformité avec cette nouvelle Constitution et avec les engagements internationaux de l’Algérie en matière de liberté d’information et de presse. »

Le Canada espère que l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Constitution fera en sorte que l'Algérie prendra les mesures qui s'imposent pour faire respecter les nouveaux articles visant à renforcer la liberté de la presse.