Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

argentina.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canadian Indigenous Heritage Standing Strong in Buenos Aires

Bookmark and Share

Canadian support has made it possible for Totem — a documentary that explores a symbol of indigenous solidarity in Argentina — to bring a unique piece of history to light.


Construction of the original totem pole. (Image obtained via Franca Gonzalez Serra.)
   

One year ago, we shared the story of a totem pole from British Columbia being erected in Buenos Aires. The totem pole serves a tangible cultural bridge, uniting the countries of the Americas through an indigenous world view.

The story of the totem pole, however, reaches farther back than a single year. This totem pole is actually the second to stand in Buenos Aires’ Canada Square. Its predecessor was erected in 1964 and stood until 2008.

The master carver who produced the new totem pole, Stan Hunt, is the son of the carver who produced the original totem erected in 1964. The Embassy of Canada to Argentina helped locate Mr. Hunt and facilitated negotiations between the artist and the local government of Buenos Aires.

The Embassy also secured funding that helped produce Totem.

Argentinian filmmaker Franca Gonzáles and her Canadian producer Carole Laganière found the story of the totem pole to be compelling material for a film. Canadian funding enabled them to capture the images necessary for their documentary, which went on to be post-produced and financed by the Argentine National Film Institute.


Filming the construction process from start to finish. (Image obtained via Franca Gonzalez Serra.)
   

The documentary features segments on indigenous Kwakuitl culture and family history, told through the story of the beautiful new totem pole. It was one of three feature films at this year's Doc Buenos Aires, a documentary film festival.

At a recent gathering, guests from the local diplomatic corps, Canadian businesses, NGOs, academia and different levels of government came together to celebrate the documentary’s release and acknowledge the ongoing and vibrant connection shared by the indigenous cultures of the Americas.

Interested in seeing the film? You can view the trailer online.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-12-12

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

argentine.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

L’identité autochtone canadienne bien représentée à Buenos Aires

Partagez et faite un signet

Grâce à l’aide du Canada, Totem, un documentaire portant sur un symbole de la solidarité autochtone en Argentine, met en lumière un moment d’histoire hors du commun.


Construction du premier totem. (Photo obtenue de Franca Gonzalez Serra.)
   

Il y a un an, paraissait un article sur l’érection à Buenos Aires d’un totem provenant de la Colombie-Britannique, symbole tangible d’une cosmovision autochtone nous définissant en tant que pays des Amériques.

L’idée du totem a cependant pris naissance bien avant l’an dernier. Il s’agit en effet du second totem à se dresser sur la Place du Canada à Buenos Aires, le premier ayant été érigé en 1964 et retiré en 2008.

Le maître sculpteur Stan Hunt, à qui l’on doit le nouveau totem, est le fils de l’artiste qui avait sculpté le premier totem. L’ambassade du Canada en Argentine a aidé à localiser M. Hunt et facilité les négociations entre ce dernier et l’administration locale de Buenos Aires.

L’ambassade a aussi trouvé du financement pour la production du film Totem.

La réalisatrice argentine Franca Gonzáles et la productrice canadienne Carole Laganière ont trouvé l’histoire du totem suffisamment intéressante pour en faire le sujet d’un documentaire. Le Canada a fourni du financement pour le tournage et l’Institut national du film de l’Argentine s’est occupé de la postproduction et du financement complémentaire.


Tournage de la construction, du commencement jusqu’à la fin. (Photo obtenue de Franca Gonzalez Serra.)
   

Le documentaire comprend des segments sur la culture du peuple Kwakuitl et son histoire familiale, que l’on découvre à travers celle de ce magnifique nouveau totem. C’est un des trois longs métrages présentés cette année à Doc Buenos Aires, le festival du film documentaire de la capitale argentine.   

Des membres du personnel diplomatique local et des représentants d’entreprises canadiennes, d’ONG, des milieux universitaires et des différents paliers de gouvernement se sont rassemblés dernièrement pour fêter la sortie du documentaire et souligner les rapports soutenus et énergiques qui existent entre les différentes cultures autochtones au sein des Amériques.

Vous aimeriez voir le film? Vous pouvez visionner la bande-annonce sur Internet.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-12-12