Canada - Micronesia Relations

Diplomatic relations were established on March 3, 1998.

In Micronesia, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in Australia.

Micronesia is represented in Canada through its embassy in Washington, D.C., U.S.A.

Canada enjoys a close and friendly relationship with the Federated States of Micronesia. Bilateral relations are cordial and enhanced by a shared membership in international organisations such as the United Nations, the International Monetary Fund and the Food and Agriculture Organization.

Canada and the Federated States of Micronesia share interests with respect to fisheries and are both party to a number of agreements such as the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and the United Nations Fish Stocks Agreement. Canada is also a Dialogue Partner of the Pacific Islands Forum to which the Federated States of Micronesia belongs.

The Federated States of Micronesia include 607 islands regrouped under four states: Chuuk, Pohnpei, Yap and Kosrae, each represented by a star on the national flag.

With regard to development assistance, Canada supports community-based projects in Micronesia through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives administered by the High Commission of Canada in Australia. Canada also provides long-term institutional support to multilateral and global organizations that are present in the Pacific. 

Canada's trade relations with Micronesia are managed by the Trade Commissioner Service at the Embassy of Canada in the Philippines.

November 2014


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Relations Canada - Micronésie

Des relations diplomatiques ont été établies le 3 mars 1998.

Aux États fédérés  de Micronésie, le Canada est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie.

Les États fédérés  de Micronésie sont représentés au Canada via son ambassade située à Washington aux États-Unis. Les relations bilatérales entre les deux pays sont cordiales et profitent de leur appartenance à des organisations internationales telles que les Nations Unies, le Fonds monétaire international et l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture.

Le Canada et les États fédérés de Micronésie ont des intérêts communs à l’égard de la gestion des pêches. Ils font partie d’un certain nombre d’accords internationaux, comme la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer et l’Accord des Nations Unies sur les stocks de poissons. Le Canada est également un partenaire du dialogue du Forum des îles du Pacifique, auquel les États fédérés de Micronésie appartiennent.

Les États fédérés de Micronésie sont composés de 607 îles regroupées en quatre États : Chuuk, Pohnpei, Yap et Kosrae, chacun représenté par une étoile sur le drapeau national.

Concernant l’aide au développement, le Canada appuie des projets communautaires en Micronésie par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales administré par le haut-commissariat en Australie. Le Canada fournit également un support à long-terme aux organismes multilatérales et internationales présents dans le Pacifique.

Les relations commerciales du Canada avec ce pays sont gérées par le Service des délégués commerciaux de l’ambassade du Canada aux Philippines.

novembre 2014


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à ce fichier, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page d'aide.