Canada - Nauru Relations

Diplomatic relations were established on September 11, 1997. In Nauru, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in Australia. Nauru has no diplomatic mission in Canada. Nauru has a permanent representative to the United Nations in New York.

Nauru is the third smallest country and smallest island state in the world. Nauru is a member of the Commonwealth, International Monetary Fund, United Nations, United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, World Bank, Asia Development Bank, Pacific Islands Development Forum, Pacific Islands Forum, and Pacific Community.

Canada and Nauru maintain an excellent relationship. Bilateral relations are cordial and enhanced by a shared membership in international organisations such as the Commonwealth, the United Nations and the World Health Organisation.

Canada and Nauru share interests with respect to fisheries and are both party to the United Nations Fish Stocks Agreement. Canada is also a Dialogue Partner of the Pacific Islands Forum to which Nauru belongs.

With regard to development assistance, Canada supports community-based projects in Nauru through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives administered by the High Commission of Canada in Australia. Canada also provides long-term institutional support to multilateral and global organizations that are present in the Pacific. 

Canada's trade relations with Nauru are managed by the Trade Commissioner Service at the High Commission of Canada in Australia.

June 2018

Relations Canada - Nauru

Des relations diplomatiques ont été établies le 11 septembre 1997. À Nauru, le Canada est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie. Aucune mission diplomatique ne représente Nauru au Canada. Nauru compte un représentant permanent auprès des Nations Unies à New York.

Nauru est le troisième plus petit pays et le plus petit état insulaire au monde. Nauru fait partie du Commonwealth, du Fonds monétaire international (FMI), des Nations Unies, de la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer, de la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques, de la Banque mondiale, de la Banque asiatique de développement, du Forum de développement des îles du Pacifique, du Forum des Îles du Pacifique et de la Communauté du Pacifique.

Le Canada et Nauru entretiennent d’excellentes relations. Les relations bilatérales sont cordiales et consolidées par l’appartenance des deux pays à des organisations internationales telles que le Commonwealth, les Nations Unies et l’Organisation mondiale de la santé.

Le Canada et Nauru ont des intérêts communs à l’égard des pêches et sont en outre signataires de l’Accord des Nations Unies sur les stocks de poissons. Le Canada est également un partenaire du dialogue du Forum des îles du Pacifique, auquel Nauru appartient.

Concernant l’aide au développement, le Canada appuie des projets communautaires à Nauru par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales administré par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie. Le Canada accorde également un soutien institutionnel à long terme aux organisations multilatérales et mondiales présentes dans la région du Pacifique. 

Les relations commerciales du Canada avec Nauru sont gérées par le Service des délégués commerciaux au haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie.

Juin 2018