Canada – Vanuatu Relations

In Vanuatu, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in Australia and diplomatic relations were established on 30 July 1980.

Vanuatu is represented in Canada by a permanent mission to the United Nations in New York, U.S.A.

Like Canada, Vanuatu is a member of the Commonwealth and La Francophonie and has three official languages, which are Bislama, English and French.

Canada enjoys a deep and positive relationship with Vanuatu. Bilateral relations are cordial. Canada and Vanuatu share interests with respect to fisheries and are both parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. Canada is also a Dialogue Partner of the Pacific Islands Forum to which Vanuatu belongs.

Canada's trade relations with Vanuatu are managed by the Trade Commissioner Service at the High Commission of Canada in Australia.

Vanuatu’s new 15 year development plan called Vanuatu 2030 – The People’s Plan, was launched in January 2017 and focuses on social, environmental and economic goals. Many of these goals are in line with Canada’s international assistance priorities, including climate change resilience and the empowerment of women.

Canada’s development assistance supports community-based projects in Vanuatu through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives and administered by the High Commission of Canada in Australia. Canada also provides long-term institutional support to multilateral and global organizations that are present in the Pacific.

Canada is a donor for the Global Environment Facility that has approved US $15 million for projects in Vanuatu to support initiatives of climate adaptation and resilience.

Through UN Women, Canada is providing $3.5 million to implement the Pacific Islands Markets for Change Project which supports female merchants in rural and urban markets in Vanuatu by ensuring that markets provide safe, inclusive and non-discriminatory environments.

Canada is contributing $1.5 million to the Pacific Catastrophe Risk Assessment and Financing Initiative, which provides Vanuatu with disaster risk assessment and financing tools, including sovereign risk insurance.

June 2018

Relations Canada – Vanuatu

À Vanuatu, le Canada est représenté par le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie. Les relations diplomatiques avec ce pays ont été établies le 30 juillet 1980.

Vanuatu est représenté une mission permanente auprès des Nations Unies à New York, aux États-Unis.

Tout comme le Canada, Vanuatu est membre du Commonwealth et de la Francophonie. Il compte trois langues officielles, soit le bislama, l’anglais et le français.

La relation entre le Canada et Vanuatu est profonde et positive. Les relations bilatérales sont cordiales. Les deux pays ont des intérêts communs liés à la pêche et ont signé la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer. Le Canada est également partenaire de dialogue du Forum des îles du Pacifique duquel est membre Vanuatu.

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et Vanuatu sont gérées par le Service des délégués commerciaux du Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie.

En janvier 2017, Vanuatu a lancé son nouveau plan de développement sur 15 ans (Vanuatu 2030 – The People’s Plan) dont les grands objectifs sont sociaux, environnementaux et économiques. Bon nombre des objectifs correspondent aux priorités du Canada en matière d’aide internationale, notamment la résilience aux changements climatiques et l’autonomisation des femmes.

L’aide au développement du Canada soutient des projets communautaires à Vanuatu par l’intermédiaire du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales géré par le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie. Le Canada fournit également un appui institutionnel à long terme aux organismes multilatéraux et internationaux présents dans le Pacifique.

Le Canada est un des donateurs du Fonds pour l’environnement mondial qui a approuvé l’octroi de 15 millions de dollars américains pour des projets à Vanuatu appuyant des initiatives d’adaptation au climat et de résilience aux changements climatiques.

Par l’intermédiaire d’ONU Femmes, le Canada accorde 3,5 millions de dollars pour la mise en œuvre du projet Markets for Change dans les îles du Pacifique. Ce projet appuie les commerçantes des marchés ruraux et urbains de Vanuatu en veillant à ce que les marchés offrent des environnements sécuritaires, inclusifs et non discriminatoires.

Le Canada donne 1,5 million de dollars à l’initiative Pacific Catastrophe Risk Assessment and Financing qui sert à évaluer le risque de catastrophe à Vanuatu et offre des outils de financement connexe, notamment une assurance pour risque de catastrophe.

Juin 2018