Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

australia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada-Australia exchange profiles and develops Aboriginal artists

The Only Good NDN (Indian) (invitation for BEAR WITNESS exhibition at the Parramatta Art Studios, Sydney, Australia)
“The Only Good NDN (Indian)” (invitation for BEAR WITNESS exhibition at the Parramatta Art Studios, Sydney, Australia)
   
Left to Right: Consul General Tom MacDonald, The Hon. Virginia Judge MP, Minister for the Arts, Bear Witness, Councillor Chiang Xavier Lim, Deputy Lord Mayor of Parramatta.
Left to Right: Consul General Tom MacDonald, The Hon. Virginia Judge MP, Minister for the Arts, Bear Witness, Councillor Chiang Xavier Lim, Deputy Lord Mayor of Parramatta.
   
DJ/video artist Bear Witness’ solo exhibition.
DJ/video artist Bear Witness’ solo exhibition.
   

The Canada Council for the Arts has put Australia on the list of international visual arts residencies with the Urban Indigenous Residency Exchange. A Canadian Aboriginal artist will visit Australia each year to expand their international career experience, collaborate with the local community and exhibit the work of their residency.   

DJ/video artist Bear Witness attracts attention

Ottawa-based DJ/video artist Ehren "Bear Witness" Thomas recently completed the inaugural residency and solo exhibition with “The Only Good NDN (Indian)”, a video installation that examines Aboriginal representation in popular culture.

Displayed at the Parramatta Art Studios as an official component of the Sydney Festival, the project was opened by the New South Wales Minister for the Arts and received significant public and media attention. Bear’s residency has already enabled him to attract interest for other exhibition projects. 

The flip-side of the exchange will see Australian artist Kerrie Kenton, of the Darug Nation, undertake a residency at Montreal’s Darling Foundry. For both Bear and Kerrie, the project enables them to develop a body of work through the residency, exhibit and meet with other artists. 

This residency is a direct result of the Aboriginal Curators’ Mission to the 2008 Biennale of Sydney, a project sponsored by the Canada Council and earmarked for expansion in 2010 when an even stronger contingent of Canadian Aboriginal artists and curators will participate.  This year’s Biennale is themed “The Beauty of Distance: Songs of Survival in a Precarious Age.” 

The Consulate General of Canada, Sydney liaised closely with the Canada Council, Parramatta City Council and the other sponsors to ensure that this exchange program was endorsed and launched.

 

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad.

 

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-04-20

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

australie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

L’échange Canada–Australie met en valeur les artistes autochtones

The Only Good NDN (Indian) (invitation à l’exposition de BEAR WITNESS aux Parramatta Art Studios, à Sydney, en Australie).
The Only Good NDN (Indian) (invitation à l’exposition de BEAR WITNESS aux Parramatta Art Studios, à Sydney, en Australie).
   
De gauche à droite : le consul général du Canada, Tom MacDonald, la députée et ministre des Arts, l’honorable Virginia Judge, Bear Witness, et le conseiller municipal et lord-maire adjoint de Parramatta, Chiang Xavier Lim.
De gauche à droite : le consul général du Canada, Tom MacDonald, la députée et ministre des Arts, l’honorable Virginia Judge, Bear Witness, et le conseiller municipal et lord-maire adjoint de Parramatta, Chiang Xavier Lim.
   
Exposition individuelle du DJ et vidéaste Bear Witness.
Exposition individuelle du DJ et vidéaste Bear Witness.
   

Le Conseil des Arts du Canada a ajouté l’Australie à sa liste d’endroits où peuvent résider les artistes dans le cadre de son Programme de résidences internationales en arts visuels. Ainsi, chaque année, un artiste autochtone canadien se rendra en Australie pour acquérir de l’expérience professionnelle à l’étranger, collaborer avec la communauté locale et exposer ses œuvres réalisées en résidence.

Le DJ et vidéaste Bear Witness retient l’attention

Le DJ et vidéaste Ehren « Bear Witness » Thomas, d’Ottawa, a terminé récemment le premier séjour en résidence. Il a présenté une exposition individuelle, intitulée The Only Good NDN (Indian), un montage vidéo examinant la représentation des Autochtones dans la culture populaire.

L’exposition, qui a fait l’objet d’une présentation officielle aux Parramatta Art Studios à l’occasion du Festival de Sydney, a été inaugurée par la ministre des Arts de New South Wales et a retenu l’attention du public et des médias. En ce qui concerne l’artiste, grâce à son séjour en résidence, il a déjà réussi à susciter de l’intérêt pour d’autres projets d’exposition.

Par ailleurs, cet échange donnera l’occasion à l’artiste australienne Kerrie Kenton, de la nation Darug, de faire un séjour en résidence à la Fonderie Darling de Montréal. Tout comme pour Bear Witness, le projet lui permettra de réaliser une série d’œuvres en résidence, de les exposer et de rencontrer d’autres artistes.

Le programme de résidence est un résultat concret de la mission des conservateurs autochtones à la Biennale de Sydney de 2008, un projet parrainé par le Conseil des Arts du Canada et qui devrait prendre de l’ampleur en 2010 avec la participation d’un plus grand nombre d’artistes et de conservateurs autochtones canadiens. Cette année, la Biennale a pour thème «The Beauty of Distance: Songs of Survival in a Precarious Age » [La beauté de la distance : chants de survivance en ces temps incertains].

Le Consulat général du Canada à Sydney a collaboré étroitement avec le Conseil des Arts, le conseil municipal de Parramatta et les autres commanditaires pour garantir l’appui au programme d’échange et son lancement.

Autres références (en anglais) : les Parramatta Art Studios et la Biennale de Sydney.

 

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-04-20