Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

australia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Maple leaves abound at University of Wollongong’s All Canada Day

A scene from Kinngait: Riding Light Into the World
 
A scene from Kinngait: Riding Light Into the World

Located in the beautiful coastal city of Wollongong in Australia’s New South Wales, UOW is internationally renowned for its excellence in innovation and diversity. With over ten thousand international students, UOW boasts enrolment from all over the world – including Canada.

It was, therefore, a great delight when the red maple leaf popped up all over campus for the celebration of All Canada Day, in which the university highlighted Canadian film, literature, and seminars on exchange to Canada and Canadian research funding. Information booths and displays decorated the campus library and communications buildings, giving students the opportunity to learn about Canadian culture and education.

The High Commissioner for Canada to Australia, Michael Small (left), is pictured with the Director of the Centre for Canadian-Australian Studies at UOW, Dr Debra Dudek, and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (International), Professor Joe Chicharo.
The High Commissioner for Canada to Australia, Michael Small (left), is pictured with the Director of the Centre for Canadian-Australian Studies at UOW, Dr Debra Dudek, and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (International), Professor Joe Chicharo.
   

As a special guest, the High Commissioner for Canada to Australia, Mr. Michael Small, took a tour of the campus and introduced a screening of a Canadian film entitled Kinngait: Riding Light Into the World, by Annette Mangaard. In his introduction, the High Commissioner pointed out the significant role that the isolated Inuit community of Cape Dorset plays in the psyche of the Canadian identity: the fact that very few Canadians have had the opportunity to visit the region yet the art of Cape Dorset is something that Canadians readily recognize and in fact it is art that is globally identifiable with Canada.

With its hauntingly beautiful soundtrack to accompany stunning visuals, Kinngait features intimate representations of the Canadian North and brings together the art of successive generations.

After the screening, students at UOW engaged in a lively discussion of the film, facilitated by documentary filmmaker and videographer Dr. David Blackall from UOW’s Faculty of Creative Arts.  Annette Mangaard, the Director of Kingaait, provided the audience with intimate insights of her experiences living in Cape Dorset, including how the Northern community received her documentary when she returned to show them the completed film.

You can check out the film’s trailer to get a little taste of what the students of UOW enjoyed.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-09-26

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

australie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

À l’occasion de la Journée du Canada, l’Université de Wollongong regorge de feuilles d'érable

Photo de Kinngait: Riding Light Into the World
 
Photo de Kinngait: Riding Light Into the World

Située dans la magnifique ville côtière de Wollongong dans la Nouvelle-Galles-du-Sud en Australie, l’UOW est reconnue à travers le monde pour son excellence en matière d’innovation et de diversité. Comptant plus de dix mille étudiants internationaux, l’UOW s’enorgueillit d’inscriptions provenant du monde entier, y compris le Canada.

C’était, par conséquent, un grand plaisir de voir la feuille d'érable rouge jalonner tout le campus pour la célébration de la Journée du Canada, durant laquelle l'université s'est penchée sur le cinéma, la littérature et les programmes d’échanges canadiens et le financement de la recherche au Canada.  Des stands d’information et des présentoirs décoraient la bibliothèque et les édifices du département de communication du campus et offraient aux étudiants l’occasion d’acquérir des connaissances sur la culture et le système d’éducation canadiens.

Le haut commissaire du Canada auprès de l’Australie, Michael Small (gauche), avec Dre Debra Dudek, et Professor Joe Chicharo.
Le haut commissaire du Canada auprès de l’Australie, Michael Small (gauche), avec Dre Debra Dudek, et Professor Joe Chicharo.
   

Un invité spécial, le haut commissaire du Canada auprès de l’Australie, M. Michael Small, a visité le campus et a présenté la projection d’un film canadien intitulé Kinngait: Riding Light Into the World, d’Annette Mangaard. Dans son mot d’introduction, le haut-commissaire a noté le rôle significatif de la collectivité isolée inuite de Cape Dorset par rapport à l’« âme » de l’identité canadienne : le fait que très peu de Canadiens ont eu l’occasion de visiter la région, mais les œuvres d’art issues de Cape Dorset sont facilement reconnues par les Canadiens… en fait elles sont associées au Canada partout dans le monde.

Grâce à une bande sonore d’une beauté envoûtante qui accompagne des effets visuels à couper le souffle, Kinngait met en scène les représentations intimes du Nord canadien et réunit tout l'art des générations successives.

Les étudiants de l’UOW ont ensuite engagé une discussion passionnée sur le film, laquelle était animée par le réalisateur documentaire et vidéaste, le Dr. David Blackall de la Faculté des arts créatifs de l'UOW.  Annette Mangaard, la directrice de Kingaait, a fait connaître aux personnes sur place des détails personnels de son expérience de vie à Cape Dorset, y compris l’accueil qu’a réservé la collectivité du Nord à son documentaire lorsqu’elle est retournée pour montrer la version finale du film.

Vous pouvez jeter un œil à la bande-annonce du film afin d’avoir un avant-goût de ce que les étudiants de l’UOW ont eu le plaisir de découvrir.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-09-26