Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

australia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canadian Music Makes Noise in Australia

Carmen Townsend and the Tom Fun Orchestra rock Sydney, January 2011

Carmen Townsend and the Tom Fun Orchestra rock Sydney, January 2011 
 

Australia is a natural stage for Canadian performers, and Australian audiences regularly and enthusiastically welcome our iconic international artists, such as Leonard Cohen, k.d. lang , Neil Young , Diana Krall, Michael Bublé, Avril Lavigne, Justin Bieber, and more.

2010 was a banner year for Canadian music in Australia, with the Consulate General of Canada in Sydney putting a particular focus on promoting emerging Canadian artists.

Leveraging the strong brand that Canadian music enjoys in Australia, the Consulate General has initiated a program focused on introducing emerging talent to the vibrant Australian music festival market, and to the opportunities for touring “down under”.

Group photo - backstage with Bedouin Soundclash
Consul General of Canada Tom MacDonald, Susan MacDonald, Sharon Pinney (Public Affairs, Sydney) and Sebastian Mair (Public Affairs, Tokyo) backstage with Bedouin Soundclash
   
Maple Syrup showcase poster, Perth, Australia
Maple Syrup showcase poster, Perth, Australia
   
Dan Mangan and band at the Code One Canadian showcase, Sydney
Dan Mangan and band at the Code One Canadian showcase, Sydney
   

To help develop these opportunities, the Consulate has promoted participation in Canadian music marketing events, specifically Canadian Music Week and the East Coast Music Awards.

One unique event promoted by the Consulate was the “Sydney-meets-Sydney” initiative.  At the East Coast Music Awards in Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canadian artists Two Hours Traffic and Carmen Townsend joined forces with Australian artists Fergus Brown and Dead Letter Chorus to showcase their music and undertake collaborative songwriting.

Subsequently, the Canadian artists attended APRA’s Song Summit in Sydney, Australia. The Song Summit, launched by Consul General Tom MacDonald and New South Wales Minister for the Arts Virginia Judge, further developed the collaborations, including the local label release of Covered by Snow (one of the collaboration songs).

Canadian representation was also organized at Queensland’s Bigsound Festival, where Ottawa-based rockers Amos the Transparent were the only international act to perform.

The Canadian Consulate worked with both Canadian and Australian promoters to help make Canada the leading international participant at One Movement for Music Asia-Pacific in Perth, Western Australia.
The following nine Canadian acts performed at the Festival: Bedouin Soundclash, Colin Moore, Elliott Brood, Final Flash, JP Hoe, Matthew BarberSarah McLachlan, The Trews and The Respectables.

Additionally, the Consulate supported Code One Entertainment in its production of a “Maple Syrup” showcase that toured Australia with some of the Canadian performers from One Movement, thereby allowing them to extend their reach beyond the Perth-based event.

2011 began with yet another dynamic showcase of Canadian talent that was organized by Code One with the involvement of the Canadian Consulate in Sydney.  This saw return visits to Australia by Carmen Townsend, The Tom Fun Orchestra, Zeus, Jason Collett, Matthew Barber and Dan Mangan.

An updated version of the handy reference The Southern Compass – A How-To Guide to Touring Australia was launched at Canadian industry events in 2010 to provide Canadians with guidance and to take the guesswork out of setting up a tour to the region.

Australian buyers will again have a strong presence at Canadian Music Week in Toronto and the East Coast Music Awards in Charlottetown, PEI this year.  The Canadian Consulate in Sydney therefore expects the momentum to continue.  Let the bands play on!

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-01-31

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

australie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

La musique canadienne se fait entendre en Australie

Carmen Townsend et le Tom Fun Orchestra font vibrer Sydney, au mois de janvier 2011
 
Carmen Townsend et le Tom Fun Orchestra font vibrer Sydney, au mois de janvier 2011
 

L’Australie est un lieu naturel où donner une prestation pour les artistes canadiens. Les auditoires australiens accueillent régulièrement et avec grand enthousiasme nos artistes canadiens iconiques tels que Leonard Cohen, k.d. lang , Neil Young , Diana Krall, Michael Bublé, Avril Lavigne, Justin Bieber et bien plus encore.

2010 était une année bannière pour la musique canadienne en Australie. Le Consulat général du Canada à Sydney a en effet mis l’accent sur la promotion d’artistes canadiens naissants. 

En profitant de la popularité de la musique canadienne en Australie, le consulat général a lancé un programme visant à faire connaître aux artistes naissants le marché des festivals de musique australiens et les occasions de faire une tournée aux antipodes.

Photo de groupe - en coulisses avec Bedouin Soundclash
Le consul général du Canada Tom MacDonald, Susan MacDonald, Sharon Pinney (Affaires publiques, Sydney) et Sebastian Mair (Affaires publiques, Tokyo) en coulisses avec Bedouin Soundclash
   
Affiche du spectacle Maple Syrup, Perth, Australie
Affiche du spectacle Maple Syrup, Perth, Australie
   
Dan Mangan et son groupe à la présentation canadienne chez Code One, à Sydney
Dan Mangan et son groupe à la présentation canadienne chez Code One, à Sydney
   

Pour aider à créer ces occasions, le consulat a fait de la promotion pendant les événements de marketing de la musique canadienne, en particulier la Canadian Music Week et la East Coast Music Awards .

Un des événements uniques ayant fait l’objet de la campagne promotionnelle du consulat a été le projet « Sydney-rencontre-Sydney ».  À la East Coast Music Awards à Sydney, en Nouvelle-Écosse, les artistes canadiens Two Hours Traffic et Carmen Townsend se sont joints aux artistes australiens Fergus Brown et Dead Letter Chorus pour faire connaître leur musique et faire de la composition musicale conjointe.

Par la suite, les artistes canadiens ont assisté au Song Summit de l'APRA à Sydney, en Australie. Le Song Summit, qui a été lancé par le consul général Tom MacDonald et la ministre de New South Wales pour les Arts, Virginia Judge, a permis aux projets de collaboration de progresser. Il a notamment été question de la publication par la maison de disques locale de Covered by Snow (une des chansons écrite en collaboration).

On a également organisé la représentation canadienne au Festival Bigsound du Queensland, où les rockers d’Ottawa Amos the Transparent étaient les seuls artistes internationaux à donner une prestation. 

Le consulat du Canada a collaboré avec des promoteurs canadiens et australiens afin de faire du Canada le participant international principal au One Movement for Music Asia-Pacific à Perth, dans l’ouest de l’Australie. Les neufs groupes et artistes canadiens suivants ont donné une prestation au Festival : Bedouin Soundclash, Colin Moore, Elliott Brood, Final Flash, JP Hoe, Matthew Barber, Sarah McLachlan, The Trews et The Respectables.

De plus, le consulat a appuyé Code One Entertainment dans sa production du spectacle « Maple Syrup » qui a été en tournée en Australie et qui comptait des musiciens canadiens de One Movement, ce qui a permis à ces artistes de se faire connaître au-delà du spectacle à Perth. 

L’année 2011 a commencé par une autre présentation dynamique de talents canadiens qui a été organisée par Code One, de concert avec le consulat canadien à Sydney.  On a eu droit à une nouvelle visite en Australie de Carmen Townsend, du groupe The Tom Fun Orchestra, de Zeus, de Jason Collett, de Matthew Barber et de Dan Mangan

Une version mise à jour du document de référence utile intitulé The Southern CompassA How-To Guide to Touring Australia a été lancée aux événements du secteur canadien en 2010. Le document servira de guide aux Canadiens et leur évitera d’avoir à se poser des questions sur les rouages de l’organisation d’une tournée dans la région.

Les acheteurs australiens profiteront une fois de plus d’une forte présence au Canadian Music Week à Toronto et aux East Coast Music Awards à Charlottetown, à l’Ile-du-Prince-Edouard cette année.  Le consulat du Canada à Sydney s’attend donc à ce que cette lancée se maintienne.  Que la musique continue!   

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-01-31