Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

australia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Unique Perspectives and Difference Makers: Discussions of disability in Australia

Three high profile Canadians visited Australia to participate in continuing dialogue on the challenges, achievements and research into disability and accessibility – and to connect with communities in the arts and sciences. 

L- R Miguel Syjuco, Tom MacDonald, Norman Doidge, Nicolas Dickner, Ian Brown, Jaspreet Singh, Tom Jokinen
L- R Miguel Syjuco, Tom MacDonald, Norman Doidge, Nicolas Dickner, Ian Brown, Jaspreet Singh, Tom Jokinen
   
Man in Motion Rick Hansen talking in Sydney about his original world tour in 1985
Man in Motion Rick Hansen talking in Sydney about his original world tour in 1985
   
Ian Brown (left) in conversation with Consul General Tom MacDonald (right) at the Brisbane Writers Festival
Ian Brown (left) in conversation with Consul General Tom MacDonald (right) at the Brisbane Writers Festival
   
Consul General of Canada Tom MacDonald (far right) with Rob Spence,  Rick Randall (The Other Film Festival) and Sharon Pinney
Consul General of Canada Tom MacDonald (far right) with Rob Spence, Rick Randall (The Other Film Festival) and Sharon Pinney
   

Marking the 25th anniversary of his original Man in Motion world tour, legendary Canadian paralympian and activist Rick Hansen stopped in Brisbane, Sydney, and Melbourne to celebrate achievements in accessibility and spinal cord research, and to inspire ongoing efforts by a new generation of innovators. The visit to Australia was of particular significance as it had marked the official half way point of the original tour in 1985. Events in all three cities recognized local Australian "Difference Makers" with special awards for their achievements in research towards a cure for spinal cord injuries and in the creation of accessible communities.

Having previously worked with the Rick Hansen Foundation in support of their efforts to build research links in Australia, the Consulate General of Canada provided organisational assistance to the Rick Hansen Foundation for the anniversary tour events in Sydney.

“It was truly an honour to host the Sydney event for the Man in Motion tour anniversary” said Consul General Tom MacDonald. “Rick Hansen is a hero to so many people in Canada and across the world. His contribution deserves to be celebrated. We are delighted at the strong links which the Rick Hansen Foundation had forged in Australia and at the fact that Rick was able to come here to inspire and recognise Australian difference makers”.

Approaching disability issues from a different perspective, filmmaker and technical innovator Rob Spence captured Australian audiences with his humor and thought-provoking work, presented by The Other Film Festival.  This biennial event in Melbourne presents new cinema by, with and about people with a disability. Spence, who lost an eye in an accident at age 15, has developed a bionic eye camera with a team of young Toronto-based optical engineers. The device, code-named Eyeborg, enables a transformative approach to filmmaking. 

Consul General Tom MacDonald introduced him to a full cinema at Melbourne Museum. Spence’s presentation highlighted how ground-breaking innovation in prosthetic design is empowering the disabled with new potential, a theme which he will be exploring in a documentary film currently in development. Spence has already had success in documentary film-making with his tongue-in-cheek exposé Let’s All Hate Toronto.

This was the Consulate’s second collaboration with The Other Film Festival. In 2008, Montreal based filmmaker Paul Nadler presented Braindamag’d Take 2, a film that went on to win two Gemini awards. The documentary followed Nadler’s inspirational recovery from a 1994 car accident that left him near death. The next edition of The Other Film Festival is scheduled for 2012.

Award winning journalist and author Ian Brown also visited Australia, making appearances at Brisbane Writers Festival as well as in Sydney, Melbourne and Canberra. Brown is a feature writer for The Globe and Mail; the anchor of TVOntario’s Human Edge and The View from Here and for ten years was the host of CBC Radio’s Talking Books. Winner of the British Columbia National Book Award, the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction, as well as Ontario’s coveted Trillium Award, Brown was one of a large number of Canadian authors at the Brisbane and Melbourne Writers’ festivals. He visited Australia to present his stunning new book, The Boy in the Moon.

This book is a moving account of the life of Brown’s severely disabled son Walker, who was born with a genetic mutation so rare that there are only some 150 known cases in the world. Through his book, Brown gives voice to his son, whose many disabilities include an inability to speak. The book provides not only a highly personal memoir of life with Walker but also a philosophical reflection on disability and the meaning of life itself.

Hansen, Spence, and Brown are just three of the many Canadians who inspire achievements in disability and accessibility research, and – through making a difference themselves – continue to invigorate difference makers in Australia, in Canada, and around the world.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-10-14

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

australie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Perspectives uniques et innovatrices : discussions sur les handicaps en Australie

Trois Canadiens de renommée ont visité l’Australie pour participer à des discussions portant sur les défis, les réalisations et les recherches en matière de questions touchant les personnes handicapées et l'accessibilité, et pour établir des contacts avec des communautés qui font des activités artistiques et scientifiques.

De gauche à droite : Miguel Syjuco, Tom MacDonald, Norman Doidge, Nicolas Dickner, Ian Brown, Jaspreet Singh, Tom Jokinen
De gauche à droite : Miguel Syjuco, Tom MacDonald, Norman Doidge, Nicolas Dickner, Ian Brown, Jaspreet Singh, Tom Jokinen

L’homme en mouvement Rick Hansen parle à Sydney de sa Tournée mondiale originale en 1985
L’homme en mouvement Rick Hansen parle à Sydney de sa Tournée mondiale originale en 1985

Ian Brown (à gauche) en conversation avec le Consul général Tom MacDonald (à droite) au Brisbane Writers Festival
Ian Brown (à gauche) en conversation avec le Consul général Tom MacDonald (à droite) au Brisbane Writers Festival

De droite à gauche : Le Consul général du Canada Tom MacDonald (à l’extrême droite) avec Rob Spence, Rick Randall (The Other Film Festival) et Sharon Pinney
De droite à gauche : Le Consul général du Canada Tom MacDonald (à l’extrême droite) avec Rob Spence, Rick Randall (The Other Film Festival) et Sharon Pinney

Pour marquer le 25e anniversaire de sa Tournée mondiale L’homme en mouvement), Rick Hansen, athlète paralympique et activiste canadien, a fait escale à Brisbane, à Sydney et à Melbourne pour célébrer les réalisations dans les recherches portant sur l’accessibilité et sur les lésions médullaires, et pour encourager les efforts d’une nouvelle génération d’innovateurs. La visite en Australie a été d’une importance particulière, étant donné que ce pays a marqué le mi-chemin de la tournée originale en 1985. Les évènements tenus dans trois villes récompensaient les Australiens locaux avec la remise d’un prix spécial « Difference Makers » pour leurs réalisations dans la recherche visant à trouver un traitement pour les lésions médullaires et qui contribuent à la création de communautés accessibles.

Le Consulat général du Canada, qui a déjà collaboré avec la Fondation Rick Hansen pour appuyer ses efforts en Australie de créer des liens de recherche, l’a aidé de nouveau, cette fois à organiser les activités à Sydney dans le cadre de la tournée d'anniversaire.

« C'est vraiment pour moi un honneur d’animer l’activité à Sydney pour l’anniversaire de la tournée de L’homme en mouvement », a affirmé le Consul général Tom MacDonald. « Rick Hansen est un véritable héros pour beaucoup de gens au Canada et partout au monde. Ses importantes contributions sont à célébrer. Nous sommes ravis des liens solides tissés en Australie par la Fondation Rick Hansen et du fait que Rick lui-même ait pu venir pour inspirer et récompenser les Australiens qui font place au changement ».

En abordant les questions touchant les personnes handicapées sous un angle différent, Rob Spence, cinéaste et innovateur technique, a éveillé l’intérêt du public australien avec son film plein d’humour et qui suscite la réflexion, présenté à The Other Film Festival. Ce festival à Melbourne a lieu tous les deux ans et présente de nouveaux films faits, avec et par des personnes handicapées. M. Spence, qui a perdu un œil dans un accident à l’âge de 15 ans, a créé une caméra oculaire bionique à l’aide d’une équipe de jeunes ingénieurs optiques de Toronto. L’appareil, dont le nom de code est « Eyeborg », permet d’adopter une approche transformative en matière de cinématographie.

Le Consul général Tom MacDonald a présenté le cinéaste devant une salle de cinéma complète au musée de Melbourne. La présentation de M. Spence a mis en évidence la manière dont l’innovation en matière de conception de prothèses peut doter les personnes handicapées d'une nouvelle force, un thème qu'il explorera dans un documentaire actuellement en tournage. M. Spence est déjà expert des films documentaires après la réussite de son exposé ironique « Let’s All Hate Toronto ».

Il s’agit de la deuxième fois que le Consulat participe à The Other Film Festival. En 2008, le cinéaste Paul Nadler de Montréal y a présenté Braindamag’d Take 2, récipiendaire de deux prix Gemini. Ce documentaire raconte du rétablissement surprenant de M. Nadler à la suite d’un accident de voiture en 1994 qui l'avait presque tué. La deuxième édition du festival The Other Film Festival est prévue de nouveau en 2012.

Ian Brown, journaliste et écrivain primé, a également visité l’Australie pour participer au Brisbane Writers Festival, faisant également escale à Sydney, Melbourne et Canberra. M. Brown est rédacteur d’articles de fond pour le Globe and Mail, animateur des émissions Human Edge et The View from Here sur TVOntario, et a animé pendant dix ans l’émission Talking Books sur les ondes de CBC/Radio-Canada. Lauréat du British Columbia National Book Award, du Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non­Fiction, ainsi que du Trillium Book Award très convoité de l’Ontario, M. Brown a été parmi les nombreux écrivains canadiens participant aux festivals des écrivains à Brisbane et à Melbourne. Il a visité l’Australie pour présenter son nouveau livre éblouissant, The Boy in the Moon.

Il s’agit d’un compte-rendu émouvant de la vie de son fils gravement handicapé, Walker, né avec une mutation génétique si rare qu'il n'y en a que quelque 150 cas confirmés au monde. Dans ce livre, M. Brown donne la voix à son fils, qui, outre ses nombreux handicaps, est aussi muet. L'auteur a écrit non seulement un mémoire extrêmement personnel de sa vie avec Walker, mais aussi une réflexion philosophique sur les déficiences et sur le sens de la vie même.

M. Hansen, M. Spence et M. Brown sont seulement trois des nombreux Canadiens qui inspirent des réalisations en matière de recherches sur les questions touchant les personnes handicapées et l’accessibilité. Avec leurs contributions au changement, ils continuent à encourager les innovateurs en Australie, au Canada et partout au monde.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-12-05