Countering Violent Extremism and the Radicalisation of Youth -  A Canada-Australia Symposium

Canadian and Australian participants from the first day of the Canada-Australia Symposium on the Radicalisation of Youth

The High Commissioner for Canada to Australia, His Excellency Mr Paul Maddison, opens the Canada-Australia Symposium on the Radicalisation of Youth at a formal dinner at Customs House in Brisbane, Queensland.
 

Griffith University Professor Mohamad Abdalla (far left) moderates a panel session titled “A view from the community” at the Canada-Australia Symposium on the Radicalisation of Youth.
 

Canada-Australia Symposium on the Radicalisation of Youth Key Note Speaker Mr Phil Gurski, President and CEO of Borealis Threat and Risk Consulting.
 

Heads of mission from Belgium, Canada, Pakistan and the UK form a diplomatic panel moderated by Mr Richard C. Smith AO PSM (far left) at the Canada-Australia Symposium on the Radicalisation of Youth.
 

The High Commission of Canada, in partnership with the Griffith Criminology Institute, and supported by the Queensland Police Service, organized a Canada-Australia Symposium on the Countering Extremism and Radicalisation of Youth at Griffith University in Brisbane, Queensland. Drawing on the first-hand experience of many of the participants, especially leaders in Australia’s Muslim communities, the focus of the symposium was on identifying practical “whole-of-community” solutions aimed at preventing the radicalisation of youth to violence, and instead enabling a broader social cohesion. The event was well-attended and brought together Canadian and Australian experts, including RCMP and Australian Federal Police, with a broad group of Australian practitioners, state and federal government and police officials, researchers and community leaders, including youth.

High Commissioner Paul Maddison set the stage in his opening remarks encouraging open-dialogue from all; he stated “by investigating this issue from the points of view of both our countries, we can draw on a larger pool of knowledge and practical experience in this area.” A sentiment later expressed by Keynote speaker Mr. Phil Gurski, former strategic analysts in the Canadian Intelligence community and current CEO and President of Borealis Threat and Risk Consulting. Mr. Gurski presented on Al Qaeda-inspired violent extremism and radicalisation across Canada and around the world. Participants from both countries expressed a strong commitment to finding effective ways of countering youth radicalisation, and there was agreement on the importance of early intervention and prevention. Canada’s efforts and success in multiculturalism policy and practice were commended by Australian participants and Montreal’s de-radicalisation program drew much praise.

Need for Community Involvement

Australian Senator the Hon Concetta Fierravanti-Wells expressed the need for community involvement; “Recent terrorist events have confirmed the need for us all to work closely together, to better understand what drives people to commit senseless acts of violence and what strategies work when it comes to safeguarding our communities.” The event featured a remarkable degree of frank and open discussion, with Australian participants sharing local experiences and enquiring about parallel Canadian experiences and programs.

Lutte contre l’extrémisme violent et la radicalisation de la jeunesse – Symposium australo-canadien

Les participants canadiens et australiens lors de la première journée du Symposium australo-canadien sur la radicalisation de la jeunesse.

Le haut-commissaire du Canada en Australie, son Excellence M. Paul Maddison, ouvre le Symposium australo-canadien sur la radicalisation de la jeunesse lors d’un souper officiel à la Customs House de Brisbane, au Queensland.
 

Mohamad Abdalla (à l’extrémité gauche de la photo), professeur à l’Université Griffith, anime la séance de discussion entre experts intitulée « Un aperçu provenant de la communauté » lors du Symposium australo-canadien sur la radicalisation de la jeunesse.
 

M. Phil Gurski, orateur principal du Symposium australo-canadien sur la radicalisation de la jeunesse et président-directeur général de Borealis Threat and Risk Consulting.
 

Les chefs de mission en Belgique, au Canada, au Pakistan et au Royaume-Uni ont pris part à un groupe d’experts animé par M. Richard C. Smith AO PSM (à l’extrémité gauche de la photo) lors du Symposium australo-canadien sur la radicalisation de la jeunesse.
 

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie, en partenariat avec le Griffith Criminology Institute et avec le soutien du service de police du Queensland, a organisé un symposium australo-canadien sur la lutte contre l’extrémisme et la radicalisation de la jeunesse à l’Université Griffith de Brisbane, au Queensland. L’objectif de ce symposium était de trouver des solutions pratiques s’adressant à l’ensemble de la communauté afin d’empêcher la radicalisation violente de la jeunesse et de favoriser une plus grande cohésion sociale. Pour cela, on s’est appuyé sur l’expérience concrète de nombreux participants, notamment celle des leaders des communautés musulmanes australiennes. L’évènement a attiré de nombreux participants et a réuni des spécialistes canadiens et australiens, dont la GRC et la Police fédérale australienne, ainsi que le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement du Queensland, de nombreux praticiens australiens, des fonctionnaires de police, des chercheurs et des leaders de communautés, y compris de la jeunesse.

Le haut-commissaire, Paul Maddison, a montré le chemin à suivre dans son mot d’ouverture en encourageant la mise en place d’un dialogue ouvert à tous. D’après lui, « en étudiant ce problème du point de vue de nos deux pays, nous pourrons bénéficier d’un plus grand bassin de connaissances et d’une expérience pratique dans ce domaine. » Ce sentiment a par la suite été partagé par M. Phil Gurski, orateur principal, ancien analyste stratégique au sein de la communauté canadienne du renseignement et actuel président-directeur général de Borealis Threat and Risk Consulting. M. Gurski a effectué une présentation sur l’extrémisme violent inspiré d’Al-Qaïda et la radicalisation au Canada et dans le monde. Les participants des deux pays ont montré qu’ils étaient résolus à trouver des moyens efficaces pour lutter contre la radicalisation de la jeunesse et se sont accordés sur l’importance d’une intervention et d’une prévention rapides. Les efforts du Canada ainsi que le succès de sa politique et de sa pratique du multiculturalisme ont été loués par les participants australiens et le programme de déradicalisation de la ville de Montréal a reçu beaucoup d’éloges.

Un besoin d’implication de la collectivité

L’honorable Concetta Fierravanti-Wells, sénatrice australienne, a évoqué la nécessité de l’engagement communautaire : « Les récentes attaques terroristes ont confirmé la nécessité pour nous tous de travailler en étroite collaboration, de mieux comprendre ce qui pousse des personnes à commettre des actes de violence gratuits et les stratégies qui fonctionnent lorsqu’il est question de la protection de nos communautés. » L’évènement a donné lieu à une discussion remarquablement franche et ouverte, au cours de laquelle les participants australiens ont partagé leurs expériences et interrogé leurs confrères canadiens sur leurs expériences et leurs programmes parallèles.