Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

australia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

A celebration of Canadian music in Tasmania

Theatre Newfoundland and Labrador Youth Theatre, pictured with Consul General MacDonald
 
Theatre Newfoundland and Labrador Youth Theatre, pictured with Consul General MacDonald

Tasmania’s celebrated festival, Ten Days on the Island, once again highlighted island life with a lively menu of Canadian artists and performers mainly from Canada’s east coast. The Consulate General of Canada in Sydney has long collaborated with this unique event that reaches communities across Australia’s island state and remains a primary vehicle for Canadian engagement with Tasmania. 

To kick things off, fiddling sensation Ashley MacIsaac, together with Vancouver Island’s guitar prodigy Quinn Banchand, had crowds dancing in the street on opening night in Hobart, the state capital of Tasmania.

Ashley MacIsaac makes music with Quinn Banchand
Ashley MacIsaac makes music with Quinn Banchand
   

In Tasmania’s “second city” of Launceston, the Newfoundland contingent to Ten Days made a lasting impact.  In a follow-up to her successful 2005 participation (with the highly acclaimed Tempting Provenance), Newfoundland Director Jillian Keiley steered the Tasmanian Theatre Company in a world premiere performance of a historical piece entitled Poxed, which traces the story of smallpox vaccination in the early 19th century through one woman’s courage.  This Canadian-Australian collaboration has garnered critical acclaim and continues to tour.

Further north, in the rural logging community of Scottsdale, a delegation from Theatre Newfoundland and Labrador Youth Theatre were sharing their stories of island life with Launceston’s Second Storey Youth Theatre in The Youth Theatre Island Exchange Project.  This initiative, supported in part by DFAIT’s Understanding Canada, empowered the artists and voices of the future with a truly unique international education exchange.  The Tasmanian youth plan to travel to Newfoundland for the follow-up Canadian leg of the project.    

Newfoundland Director Jillian Keiley, pictured far right with the Consul General and Tasmanian playwright Stella Kent
Newfoundland Director Jillian Keiley, pictured far right with the Consul General and Tasmanian playwright Stella Kent
   

Ten Days on the Island also provided an opportunity to showcase Canadian visual arts innovation. Montreal’s Daniel Barrow presented a manual animation project, while the Shorelines exhibition in Burnie presented the work of Newfoundland and Irish artists. Canadian dance and writing connections were also included in Ten Days’ program, via the participation of writers from Prince Edward Island and Dance Marathon, which originated at Toronto’s Harbourfront Centre.

Also in Tasmania, the extraordinary Museum of  Old and New Art has adapted Canadian technology from Montreal-based IT company Purelink into its’ interactive gallery guide. This world first is enabling visitors to the gallery to explore the collection in new ways, with sophisticated follow-up and tracking capabilities to enrich the experience for the visitor and also provide valuable visitor information feedback to the museum.

Ten Days on the Island was a marvelous success.

Over in Canada, wider Australian opportunities for Canadian musicians were underlined through Australian participation at the East Coast Music Week in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island.  Seven Australian industry representatives and two Australian musicians attended and demonstrated their commitment to grow a strong touring corridor between Canada and Australia. 

When it comes to making music, Canada and Australia continue to sing in perfect harmony.

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-08-24

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

australie.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Une célébration de la musique canadienne en Tasmanie

Une délégation de Theatre Newfoundland et de Labrador Youth Theatre, photographiée avec le Consul général MacDonald
 
Une délégation de Theatre Newfoundland et de Labrador Youth Theatre, photographiée avec le Consul général MacDonald

Ten Days on the Island, le célèbre festival de Tasmanie, a une fois encore souligné la vie insulaire avec, dans un programme endiablé, des artistes canadiens venus essentiellement de la côte Est du Canada. Le Consulat général du Canada à Sydney collabore depuis longtemps avec cet événement unique qui touche les collectivités de l’État insulaire australien et demeure un support majeur de l’implication canadienne en Tasmanie.

Pour commencer, le sensationnel violoniste Ashley MacIsaac, en compagnie du prodigieux guitariste Quinn Bachant, de l’Ìle de Vancouver, ont fait danser les foules dans les rues, du premier soir à Hobart, la capitale de l’Etat de Tasmanie.

Violoniste Ashley MacIsaac avec guitariste Quinn Bachant
Violoniste Ashley MacIsaac avec guitariste Quinn Bachant
   

Dans la « deuxième ville » de Tasmanie, Launceston, la délégation terre-neuvienne à Ten Days a laissé un souvenir durable. Faisant suite au succès en 2005 (par son spectacle très apprécié Tempting Provenance), la metteure en scène terre-neuvienne Jillian Keiley a présenté, avec la Tasmanian Theatre Company, la première mondiale d’une pièce historique, Poxed, qui évoque l’histoire de la vaccination contre la variole menée au début du XIXe siècle grâce au courage d’une femme. Cette collaboration canado-australienne a été saluée par les critiques et poursuit sa tournée.

Plus au nord, dans la collectivité forestière rurale de Scottsdale, une délégation de Theatre Newfoundland et de Labrador Youth Theatre a partagé ses histoires de la vie sur une île avec le Second Storey Youth Theatre de Launceston dans le Youth Theatre Island Exchange Project. Ce projet, qui a notamment bénéficié du soutien du programme Comprendre le Canada du MAECI, a offert aux artistes et aux voix du futur un échange éducatif international réellement unique. Des jeunes de Tasmanie projettent un voyage à Terre-Neuve pour la suite canadienne de ce projet.

La metteure en scène terre-neuvienne Jillian Keiley, à droite, avec le Consul général et l’auteure dramaturge tasmanienne Stella Kent
La metteure en scène terre-neuvienne Jillian Keiley, à droite, avec le Consul général et l’auteure dramaturge tasmanienne Stella Kent
   

Ten Days on the Island a également fourni l’occasion de faire connaître l’innovation dans les arts visuels canadiens. Le Montréalais Daniel Barrow a présenté une « animation manuelle », et à Burnie, l’exposition Shorelines a permis aux habitants de découvrir les œuvres d’artistes terre-neuviens et irlandais. Les liens avec les mondes canadiens de la danse et de l'écriture étaient également représentés dans le programme Ten Days, avec la participation d'écrivains de l'Ìle-du-Prince-Édouard et Dance Marathon, qui a vu le jour au Harbourfront Centre de Toronto.

C’est également en Tasmanie que l’extraordinaire Museum of  Old and New Art a adapté dans son guide interactif la technologie canadienne mise au point par la société informatique montréalaise Purelink. Cette première mondiale permet aux visiteurs de la galerie de découvrir la collection d’une nouvelle manière, avec des fonctions sophistiquées de suivi et de traçage enrichissent l’expérience du visiteur tout en fournissant de précieuses informations sur les visiteurs au musée.

Ten Days on the Island a été un merveilleux succès.

Au Canada, la participation australienne à East Coast Music Week, qui s’est déroulée à Charlottetown, a souligné les occasions plus vastes qui s’offrent aux musiciens canadiens en Australie. Sept représentants de l’industrie australienne et deux musiciens australiens étaient présents et ont affirmé leur engagement envers l’instauration d’un solide couloir de spectacles itinérants entre le Canada et l’Australie.

Quand il s’agit de faire la musique, le Canada et l’Australie continuent à chanter en parfaite harmonie.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-08-24