Canada – Bangladesh Relations

Diplomatic Relations and Official Representation

Canada established diplomatic relations with Bangladesh in 1972.

In Bangladesh, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada to Bangladesh in Dhaka.

In Canada, Bangladesh is represented by the High Commission for Bangladesh in Ottawa.

Bilateral Relations

Built upon shared values of democracy and pluralism, Canada’s relations with Bangladesh are focused on development cooperation, trade and investment, and people-to-people links.

Parliamentary Secretary Deepak Obhrai visited Bangladesh in July 2009, while the then-Minister of International Cooperation Bev Oda visited the country in January 2011. Bangladeshi Foreign Minister Dipu Moni visited Ottawa in February 2011.

Bilateral and Multilateral Cooperation

People-to-people links between Canada and Bangladesh are expanding. The Bangladeshi-Canadian community is estimated at over 100,000 and continues to make significant contributions to Canadian prosperity and to the multi-cultural fabric of Canada.

Canada and Bangladesh share a number of multilateral interests including trade liberalization through the WTO and support for international peacekeeping. Canada and Bangladesh also enjoy close ties as members of the UN and the Commonwealth.

Trade and Investment

Canada's commercial relationship with Bangladesh has grown dramatically over the last ten years. The value of bilateral merchandise trade has more than tripled going from $478 million in 2003 to nearly $1.7 billion in 2012. During this period, Canadian merchandise exports to Bangladesh have more than quadrupled and Bangladesh has become the second largest source of Canadian merchandise imports from South Asia, after India.

Canadian merchandise exports to Bangladesh were $525 million in 2012, down slightly from $552 million in 2011. Merchandise imports from Bangladesh were $1.1 billion in 2012, equal to 2011. Canada's main exports to Bangladesh include cereals, vegetables, iron and steel, oilseeds, fertilizers, machinery and electronic equipment. Agri-food was the leading export sector from Canada to South Asia in 2012, making Bangladesh the second largest Canadian agri-food buyer in South Asia after India.

The Canada-Bangladesh relationship is particularly important for the province of Saskatchewan. Saskatchewan's exports (mainly wheat, fertilizers and pulses) to Bangladesh have grown more than five-fold over the past 10 years, from $49 million in 2003 to $279 million in 2012.

Canada's main merchandise imports from Bangladesh include knit apparel, woven apparel, miscellaneous textile articles, headgear, fish and seafood, and footwear. Canada is a bright spot for Bangladeshi apparel, with garments and textile products making-up the bulk of Canada's merchandise imports from Bangladesh. Bangladesh has enjoyed duty-free market access since 2003. Potential trading opportunities to explore include expanding Canadian imports of ready-made garments, porcelain, jute and quality jute good, ceramic tableware and kitchenware.

Garments and textile products accounted for approximate 96% of Canada's merchandise imports from Bangladesh in 2012.

June 2013


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Relations entre le Canada et le Bangladesh

Relations diplomatiques et représentation officielle

Le Canada entretient des relations diplomatiques avec le Bangladesh depuis 1972.

Au Bangladesh, le Canada est représenté par le Haut-Commissariat du Canada au Bangladesh à Dhaka.

Au Canada, le Bangladesh est représenté par le Haut-Commissariat du Bangladesh au Canada à Ottawa.

Relations bilatérales

Édifiées sur des valeurs communes de démocratie et de pluralisme, les relations entre les deux pays sont axées sur la coopération au développement, le commerce et l'investissement, la sécurité régionale et les liens interpersonnels.

Le Secrétaire parlementaire Deepak Obhrai a visité le Bangladesh en juillet 2009, tandis que Bev Oda, la Ministre de la coopération internationale de l'époque, y a également effectué une visite officielle en janvier 2011. La Ministre des Affaires étrangères du Bangladesh, Dipu Moni, a visité Ottawa en février 2011.

Coopération bilatérale et multilatérale

Les liens interpersonnels entre le Canada et le Bangladesh se resserrent progressivement. On estime la communauté bangladaise du Canada à plus de 100 000 personnes. Celle-ci contribue grandement à la prospérité et au multiculturalisme du Canada.

Le Canada et le Bangladesh partagent également un grand nombre d'intérêts multilatéraux, dont notamment la libéralisation commerciale par l'entremise de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce et la participation à des missions de maintien de la paix. Les deux pays entretiennent également des relations fructueuses au sein des Nations Unies et du Commonwealth.

Commerce et investissement

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Bangladesh ont connu une importante croissance au cours des dix dernières années. La valeur des échanges commerciaux bilatéraux de marchandises a plus que triplé entre 2003 et 2012, passant de 478 millions de dollars à 1,7 milliard. Au cours de cette période, la valeur des exportations canadiennes au Bangladesh a quintuplé. Le Bangladesh est donc devenu le deuxième plus grand exportateur de biens de l'Asie du Sud vers le Canada, après l'Inde.

Les exportations canadiennes au Bangladesh se sont élevées à 525 millions de dollars en 2012 et à 552 millions en 2011, tandis que la valeur des importations a totalisé 1.1 milliard au cours de ces mêmes années. Les principales exportations canadiennes vers le Bangladesh sont les céréales, les légumes, divers grains et semences, du fer et de l'acier, de la pâte de bois et de la machinerie. Le secteur agro-alimentaire représentait la plus grande part des exportations canadiennes en Asie du Sud en 2012. Le Bangladesh est le deuxième plus grand importateur de produits agri-alimentaires canadiens en Asie du Sud après l'Inde.  

Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et le Bangladesh sont particulièrement importantes pour la Saskatchewan. Les exportations de cette province (le blé, les engrais et les légumes secs) au Bangladesh ont plus que quintuplé au cours de la dernière décennie, passant d'une valeur de 49 millions de dollars en 2003 à 279 millions en 2012.

Les principales importations en provenance du Bangladesh sont les vêtements tissés et tricotés, divers articles textiles, des accessoires de coiffures et des couvre-chefs, du poisson et des fruits de mer, du plastique et des chaussures. Les produits du textile en provenance du Bangladesh sont particulièrement répandus au Canada. Depuis 2003, le Bangladesh possède un accès en franchise de droits de douanes au Canada. Le Canada pourrait maximiser ses échanges commerciaux avec le Bangladesh en augmentant l'importation de produits textiles, de porcelaine, de jute, de céramique et de produits ménagers.

Les vêtements et le textile constituaient 96% des importations canadiennes en provenance du Bangladesh en 2012.

Juin 2013


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.