Girl Rising - Promoting Girls’ Education in Bangladesh


Ms. Elena Ahmed; Heather Cruden, High Commissioner; and Ms. Nishat Majumder


Ms. Nishat Majumder speaks about her experience and her role as PIB's youth ambassador

In Bangladesh, Canada is addressing the challenge of violence against women – with a specific focus on child, early, and forced marriages – in an integrated way, through its programs in health and education.

Bangladesh is one of Canada’s countries of focus for international development.

To mark the International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women, , the High Commission of Canada to Bangladesh hosted a celebration and film screening to highlight the accomplishments of Bangladeshi women and Canada's global commitment to promote freedom, democracy, the rule of law, the human rights of women and children, and gender equality.

Ms. Nishat Majumder, the first Bangladeshi woman to have climbed Mount Everest and one of PIB's youth ambassadors for their "Because I am a Girl" campaign, spoke about her experience and her role as ambassador.

Presented in partnership with Plan International Bangladesh (PIB) the event also featured a screening of Girl Rising, a feature film highlighting the power of education to change a woman’s prospects in the world.

“Girl Rising is a powerful reminder that courageous girls, including Nishat Majumder and Arzina (a youth from Nilphamari promoting girls’ education in her community) here in Bangladesh, are leading the change around the world. As Keshob Roy (the winner of UN Youth Courage Award for Education) demonstrates, men and boys also play a critical role in ending violence against women.” - Canadian High Commissioner to Bangladesh Heather Cruden

The film tells the stories of nine girls from different parts of the world that face arranged marriages, child slavery and other injustices. Through education, they are able to create change for themselves and for others. Each girl's story was written by a renowned writer from her native country. 

“The film highlights that girls are powerful and strong and that they deserve to have equal rights. Rights they are often denied because of their gender.” - Elena Ahmed, interim country director of PIB

Girl RisingPromouvoir l’éducation des filles au Bangladesh


Mme Elena Ahmed, la haute-commissaire Heather Cruden et Mlle Nishat Majumder


Nishat Majumder parle de son expérience et de son rôle de jeune ambassadrice pour PIB

Le Canada s’attaque de front au problème de la violence faite aux femmes au Bangladesh, principalement aux mariages précoces et forcés, grâce à ses programmes de santé et d’éducation. 

Le Bangladesh est un des pays ciblés par le Canada en matière de développement international.

Afin de souligner la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes, le haut-commissariat du Canada au Bangladesh a organisé une fête et une projection cinématographique mettant en relief les réalisations accomplies par des Bangladaises et l’ardeur déployée par le Canada partout dans le monde pour promouvoir la liberté, la démocratie, la primauté du droit, les droits des femmes et des enfants et l’égalité des sexes.

Nishat Majumder, première Bangladaise à escalader l’Everest et une des premières jeunes ambassadrices de Plan International Bangladesh (PIB) pour la campagne de sensibilisation « Parce que je suis une fille », a parlé de son expérience et de son rôle d’ambassadrice.

Offerte de concert avec PIB, la fête comprenait la projection du long métrage intitulé Girl Rising , qui montre que l’éducation peut transformer l’avenir des femmes dans le monde.

« Le film Girl Rising nous rappelle de façon convaincante que des filles courageuses, comme Nishat Majumder et Arzina (une résidente de Nilphamari qui prône l’éducation des filles dans sa localité) ici au Bangladesh, peuvent, par leur exemple, amener des changements dans le monde entier. Comme le montre Keshob Roy (lauréat du Prix du courage de la jeunesse pour l’éducation remis par l’ONU), les hommes et les garçons ont eux aussi un rôle crucial à jouer pour mettre fin à la violence contre les femmes. » Heather Cruden, haute-commissaire du Canada au Bangladesh

Le film raconte l’histoire de neuf jeunes filles de différentes parties du monde où les enfants sont victimes de mariages arrangés, d’esclavage et d’autres injustices. L’histoire de chacune est racontée par un auteur connu de leur pays natal. 

« Le film met en évidence le caractère résolu et fort des filles, lesquelles devraient avoir droit à l’égalité, droit qui leur est souvent refusé en raison de leur sexe. »– Elena Ahmed, directrice intérimaire nationale de PIB