The Way Forward: Plan Bangladesh Works to Stop Child Marriage


Ms. Argentina Pinto Matavel Piccin, UNFPA Representative to Bangladesh, Honorable State Minister for the Ministry of Women and Children Affairs, Ms. Meher Afroze Chumki MP, H.E Heather Cruden, High Commissioner of Canada and Mr. Mark Pierce, Regional Director for Asia Region, Plan International.


Heather Cruden, High Commissioner of Canada delivers her speech.


Five youth advocates awarded for their extraordinary courage and commitment to stopping child marriages in their communities.

Every year, millions of girls are forced into early child marriage – some even as young as 9 years old. Today, Bangladesh has one of the world’s highest rates of child marriage by the age of 18.

Child, early, and forced marriage is strongly linked to development and human rights. The effects on a girl’s life, education, health, and long-term prospects are devastating.

This is why Canada supports the work of Plan Bangladesh International and has made it a priority to promote the human rights of women and children around the world.

At a recent seminar entitled “Stop Child Marriage in Bangladesh: The Way Forward,” High Commissioner of Canada, Heather Cruden, invited everyone to join hands and speak with one voice against all forms of child violence, exploitation and abuse, including child, early, and forced marriages.

“I want to emphasize how supporting girls and their human rights is critical in building robust communities. For example, when a girl is educated, she has better economic prospects, is more likely to have healthier children, and more likely to send her own children to school.”
-Heather Cruden, High Commissioner of Canada

The event also highlighted the extraordinary courage and commitment of five youth advocates.

The UN’s Youth Courage Award for Education was awarded to Keshob Roy for his leadership role in preventing child marriage in his community. Four other youth advocates were also awarded crests for their role and efforts in preventing child marriage in their respective communities.

The Risks of Child Marriage

While 158 countries have set the legal age of marriage at 18 years, in many countries including Bangladesh, these laws are rarely enforced as the practice of marrying young children is maintained by tradition and social norms.

Child, early, and forced marriage violates millions of children’s rights, disrupts their education, blocks their opportunity to gain vocational and life skills and increases their risk of sexual violence, as well as their chances of contracting HIV.

It exposes girls to the risks of child-bearing at an early age, which can limit their ability to participate in economic and social spheres as well as increasing maternal death and disability, and increasing the risks of child and maternal under nutrition.

According to UNICEF, complications from pregnancy and childbirth are the leading causes of death for girls aged 15 -19 years in developing countries.

The Way Forward: Programs Ensure Youth Can Access Help and Support

As part of a larger focus on education and health, Canada has supported programs that reach out to at-risk youths in Bangladesh.
The Life Skills and Education for Adolescent Development program, which concluded in 2011, founded thousands of youth clubs and sought to raise awareness with parents on a variety of issues, including the risks of early marriage. Likewise, Plan Bangladesh’s Adolescents Reproductive Health Project helped spread information on the issue by providing life skills training for 217,100 youth, 60% of whom were girls.

Such initiatives ensure access to knowledge and educational services that equip youth with better decision making skills, which can help to prevent early forced marriage.

Today, Canada continues to support Plan Bangladesh as they raise awareness and discuss the disadvantages of early marriage and the risks associated with early or underage pregnancies.

“How can anyone defend the practice of having a nine year old girl forced into marriage?” – John Baird, Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Government of Canada is proud to support Bangladesh in its remarkable achievements over more than four decades since its liberation. Canada has provided over $4 billion as development aid to Bangladesh in the last 40 years.

La Voie de l’avenir : le Plan Bangladesh lutte contre le mariage des enfants


Mme Argentina Pinto Matavel Piccin, représentante du FNUAP au Bangladesh, l’honorable Meher Afroze Chumki, ministre d’État à la Condition féminine et à l’Enfance, Son Excellence Heather Cruden, haute-commissaire du Canada et M. Mark Pierce, directeur du Plan International pour la région de l’Asie.


Heather Cruden, haute-commissaire du Canada, livre son discours.


Cinq intervenants en faveur des jeunes se voient décerner un prix pour le courage et le dévouement extraordinaires dont ils ont fait preuve en se dressant contre le mariage d’enfants dans leurs collectivités respectives.

Chaque année, des millions de jeunes filles sont forcées de prendre époux à un âge très précoce, parfois même à 9 ans seulement. Le Bangladesh affiche actuellement un des taux les plus élevés au monde d’enfants mariés avant l’âge de 18 ans.

Le mariage forcé d’enfants à un âge précoce est un phénomène relié étroitement à la question du développement ainsi qu’à celle des droits de la personne, et il a des effets dévastateurs sur la vie, l’éducation, la santé et les perspectives à long terme des jeunes filles.

Voilà pourquoi le Canada appuie le travail accompli par le Plan Bangladesh International et qu’il s’est donné comme priorité de promouvoir les droits des femmes et des enfants partout dans le monde.

À un récent colloque intitulé « Non au mariage d’enfants au Bangladesh : la Voie de l’avenir », la haute-commissaire du Canada, Mme Heather Cruden, a invité les participants à se donner la main et à dénoncer d’une même voix toutes les formes de violence, d’exploitation et d’abus contre les enfants, y compris les mariages précoces et forcés.

« J’insiste sur l’importance de soutenir les jeunes filles et de défendre leurs droits en tant qu’êtres humains, si on veut bâtir des sociétés solides, a-t-elle déclaré. Une fille instruite jouit de meilleures perspectives sur le plan économique, est plus susceptible d’avoir des enfants en santé et encline à les envoyer à l’école. »

Le courage et le dévouement extraordinaires de cinq intervenants en faveur des enfants ont aussi été soulignés durant le colloque.

Keshob Roy s’est vu décerner le Prix du courage de la jeunesse pour l’éducation, une distinction remise par l’ONU, pour le rôle de premier plan qu’il a joué dans sa communauté pour prévenir le mariage d’enfants. Quatre autres défenseurs de la jeunesse ont aussi été décorés pour leur rôle et leurs efforts de prévention du mariage d’enfants dans leurs collectivités respectives.

Les risques du mariage d’enfants

Si 158 pays ont fixé à 18 ans l’âge légal du mariage, de nombreux autres pays, dont le Bangladesh, ont des lois beaucoup moins strictes à cet égard puisque le mariage de jeunes enfants y est jugé conforme à la tradition et socialement admis.

Le mariage forcé et précoce des enfants viole les droits de millions d’enfants, abrège leurs études, les empêche d’acquérir des compétences professionnelles et fondamentales, et augmente les risques de violence sexuelle ainsi que les possibilités de contracter le VIH.

Il expose les jeunes filles à des grossesses précoces, qui peuvent limiter leur participation sur le plan économique et social, et accroître les risques de décès en couches, d’affections chez la mère et de sous-alimentation de la mère et de l’enfant.   

Selon l’UNICEF, les complications survenues à l’accouchement ou pendant la grossesse constituent la principale cause de décès chez les jeunes filles de 15 à 19 ans dans les pays en développement.

La Voie de l’avenir : des programmes garantissant aux jeunes l’aide et le soutien dont ils ont besoin

Préoccupé de manière générale par la santé et l’éducation, le Canada a décidé de prêter son concours aux programmes venant en aide aux jeunes à risques au Bangladesh.
Le Programme d’instruction et de notions de vie pratique pour le développement des adolescents, aboli en 2011, a contribué à la création de milliers de clubs pour les jeunes et à la sensibilisation des parents à différents sujets, dont les risques associés aux mariages précoces. De même, le projet de santé génésique des adolescents du Plan Bangladesh a aidé à la diffusion d’informations sur le sujet au moyen d’un cours de préparation à la vie offert à 217 100 jeunes, dont 60 % étaient des filles.

Des telles initiatives donnent accès à des connaissances et des services éducatifs qui aideront les jeunes à prendre des décisions éclairées et possiblement à prévenir les mariages forcés en bas âge.

Le Canada continue d’appuyer les initiatives du Plan Bangladesh pour exposer les désavantages du mariage précoce et les risques que présentent les grossesses précoces ou chez les enfants d’âge mineur.

« Comment peut-on défendre le mariage forcé d’une fillette de neuf ans? »
 – John Baird, ministre canadien des Affaires étrangères

Le gouvernement du Canada est fier des progrès remarquables accomplis par le Bangladesh sur une période d’une quarantaine d’années depuis sa libération et d’y avoir investi au-delà de 4 milliards de dollars en aide au développement au cours de ces années.