Canada-OECS Relations

Canada and the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)

Created in 1981, the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is a Caribbean sub-regional organization comprised of seven full members (Antigua & Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent & the Grenadines) with the British Overseas Territories of Anguilla and British Virgin Islands as associate members. The Council of Heads of Government, the OECS Authority, is supported by the OECS Secretariat based in Castries (St. Lucia), headed by a Director General, currently Dr. Len Ishmaël.

Integration among the OECS members is more advanced than elsewhere in the Caribbean. They share a common currency overseen by the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank, as well as a single Supreme Court, and have unified some public services (e.g., common diplomatic representation, common pharmaceutical procurement, and single air transportation and telecommunications authorities).

Canada manages its bilateral relations with OECS countries and the OECS Secretariat through the Canadian High Commission in Bridgetown (Barbados) which is individually accredited to each member.

Canada’s Bilateral Relations with full and associate members of the OECS:

* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .