Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

barbados.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Promoting Commonwealth Values in Barbados

Bookmark and Share


Student receiving the new exercise book from Prime Minister, the Hon. Freundel Stuart.
   

Student receiving the new exercise book from His Excellency, Richard Hanley, High Commissioner of Canada.
   

From left: Rasheda Browne, Imani Brathwaite and Kaleah Clarke, peruse the excerpts found in the exercise books.
   

As they celebrate their nation’s 47th year of Independence, students in Barbados are also learning about human rights, the rule of law and protection from discrimination through new school workbooks.

The workbooks, produced by the Royal Commonwealth Society and funded by the High Commission of Canada, pair mathematical tables and other traditional learning materials with information on the recently-adopted Commonwealth Charter.

The Honourable Freundel Stuart, Prime Minister of Barbados, and Canadian High Commissioner Hanley were on hand to distribute the workbooks to the students of Christ Church Foundation School, and to speak about the relevance of the Commonwealth Charter to young people.

“You are the people of the future, but you can only guard that future if you go into it with the right kind of values. You can only continue to write Barbados’ name on History’s page if you are a strict guardian of this country’s heritage and you are determined to be firm craftsmen of this country’s fate.” - The Honourable Freundel Stuart, Prime Minister of Barbados

Prime Minister Stuart also discussed relationship between the Commonwealth Charter and Barbados’ constitution, drawing particular attention to freedom of association, freedom of religion, freedom from forced labour and the rule of law – values that Canada shares and is proud to promote. 

Though once consisting solely of former British colonies, the Commonwealth of Nations today includes many other countries that see value in associating with the Commonwealth and the values to which it subscribes.

The students of Christ Church Foundation School were the first to receive the workbooks, but with Canada’s support they will be distributed to all secondary schools in Barbados.

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-01-29

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

barbade.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Promotion des valeurs du Commonwealth à la Barbade

Partagez et faite un signet


Élève recevant un exemplaire du nouveau cahier d’exercices des mains du premier ministre, l’honorable Freundel Stuart.
   

Élève recevant un exemplaire du nouveau cahier d’exercices des mains de Son Excellence le haut-commissaire du Canada, M. Richard Hanley.
   

De gauche à droite : Rasheda Browne, Imani Brathwaite et Kaleah Clarke lisent des extraits du cahier d’exercices.
   

Le jour des célébrations du 47e anniversaire de l’Indépendance de leur nation, des élèves de la Barbade se voient remettre un nouveau cahier d’exercices scolaires où il est notamment question des droits de la personne, de la primauté du droit et de la protection contre la discrimination. 

Produits par la Société royale du Commonwealth et financés par le haut-commissariat du Canada, les cahiers ajoutent aux tables de mathématiques et autres matières enseignées de l’information sur la Charte du Commonwealth adoptée récemment.

Profitant de leur passage à la Christ Church Foundation School pour distribuer des cahiers aux élèves de l’endroit, l’honorable Freundel Stuart, premier ministre de la Barbade, et le haut-commissaire canadien Richard Hanley ont parlé de la pertinence de la Charte pour les jeunes.

« C’est vous qui êtes garants de l’avenir, a fait observer M. Stewart, et pour cela vous devez promouvoir de saines valeurs. Pour que la Barbade conserve sa place dans l’Histoire, il faut vous poser en ardents défenseurs de son patrimoine et en solides artisans de son destin. »

Le premier ministre Stuart a aussi fait mention des liens qui existent entre la Charte du Commonwealth et la constitution de la Barbade, en accordant une attention particulière à la liberté d’association et de religion, à l’affranchissement du travail forcé et à la primauté du droit, toutes des valeurs que partage et défend fièrement le Canada. 

Regroupant à une époque uniquement les anciennes colonies britanniques, le Commonwealth des Nations comprend de nos jours beaucoup d’autres pays qui trouvent avantageux de faire partie de cette organisation et qui adhèrent aux mêmes valeurs.  

Les élèves de la Christ Church Foundation School ont été les premiers à recevoir les cahiers d’exercices qui, grâce à l’aide du Canada, seront distribués dans toutes les écoles secondaires de la Barbade.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-01-29