Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

barbados.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Nutmeg is crucial to Grenada’s economy and Canada is helping to improve it


 
A bag of dried nutmeg, ready for processing
Photo credit: Joshua Yetman

Grenada’s nutmeg industry is facing a number of challenges and the Government of Canada is providing support to help overcome them.


Dried nutmeg is sent down the chute where it will be cracked open
Photo credit: Joshua Yetman



Canadian High Commissioner Richard Hanley learns about the nutmeg process
Photo credit: Joshua Yetman



High Commissioner Richard Hanley with one of the many rows of drying nutmeg
Photo credit: Joshua Yetman



Mace being sorted by hand
Photo credit: Joshua Yetman


  

Nutmeg is crucial to Grenada’s economy. For proof, one only need look to the Grenadian flag which includes a nutmeg clove.

In 2004, Grenada felt the wrath of Hurricane Ivan that rendered incredible damage to nutmeg trees. Thankfully, the new nutmeg trees are maturing, and once again, producing fruit. However, there is much work to be done to improve the production of nutmeg — a process that has seen virtually no technological change over time.

The Government of Canada and St. George University are helping the nutmeg industry through a two-phase approach. The first phase, which lessened land degradation in nutmeg plantations, introduced solar dehydrator technology, assessed worker health in the Gouyave processing plant, and delivered occupational health and safety training.

Through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, the High Commission of Canada is contributing $20,000 CDN (approximately $54,000 EC) towards Phase Two.

This second phase will assess the costs and benefits. It will emphasize workers’ health by introducing a solar dehydrator to the processing of nutmeg.

Nutmeg is stirred several times a day over the traditional 8 week drying time, exposing workers to dust and a number of resulting health issues. If successful, the new solar dehydrator will decrease workers’ exposure to dust. Since the dehydrator works more quickly than traditional methods, producers should be able to discontinue the use of chemicals to protect the nutmeg cloves from mould.

Canadian High Commissioner Richard Hanley is excited about the prospects for Grenada’s future: “I am pleased to be able to contribute to worker safety in this industry, as I know how important nutmeg is to your Spice Island’s economy. This project will help to keep workers safe while they deal with harvests that – I believe we all hope – will grow steadily in size.”

One of the Government of Canada’s priorities in the Eastern Caribbean is contributing to the development of economic prosperity. It is hoped that the improvement of nutmeg production and the protection of worker health and safety will be one of many initiatives that will contribute to prosperity in the region.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-03-15

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

barbade.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada aide à la production de muscade, essentielle à l’économie grenadienne


 
Sac de noix de muscade séchées, prêts pour la transformation
Photo : Joshua Yetman

L’industrie de la muscade de Grenade est en proie à des difficultés et le gouvernement du Canada offre son soutien.


Les noix de muscade séchées empruntent la glissière jusqu’à l’endroit où on les fera éclater
Photo : Joshua Yetman



Le haut-commissaire canadien Richard Hanley s’instruit sur le traitement des noix de muscade
Photo : Joshua Yetman



Le haut-commissaire Richard Hanley à côté d’un des nombreux rangs de noix de muscade au séchage
Photo : Joshua Yetman



Le macis est trié à la main
Photo : Joshua Yetman


  

La muscade occupe une place importante dans l’économie de la Grenade, à tel point que le drapeau grenadien est orné d’une noix de muscade.

En 2004, l’île de la Grenade a été balayée par l’ouragan Ivan, causant des dommages considérables aux muscadiers. Heureusement, les nouveaux muscadiers qui ont été plantés poussent bien et produisent des fruits. Mais il y a encore beaucoup à faire pour améliorer la production de muscade, qui n’a profité d’à peu près aucune avancée technologique au cours des années.

Le gouvernement du Canada et l’Université St. George ont mis en place une stratégie en deux volets pour aider l’industrie de la muscade. Le premier volet, ayant pour but d’atténuer la dégradation des sols dans les plantations de muscadiers, consistait à utiliser un déshydrateur solaire, à évaluer la santé des travailleurs à l’usine de transformation de Gouyave et à offrir une formation en santé et sécurité au travail.

Le haut-commissariat du Canada contribue au second volet par un don de 20 000 CAD (environ 54 000 $ CO), provenant du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales.

Ce second volet consistera à examiner les bienfaits sur la santé des travailleurs de l’utilisation d’un déshydrateur solaire dans le traitement des noix de muscade.

Celles-ci sont remuées plusieurs fois par jour au cours des huit semaines de séchage conventionnel, et la poussière qui s’en dégage s’attaque à la santé des travailleurs qui y sont exposés. S’il fonctionne comme prévu, le nouveau déshydrateur réduira le temps d’exposition des travailleurs à la poussière. Et comme cet appareil est plus rapide que les méthodes conventionnelles, les producteurs pourront cesser d’utiliser des produits chimiques pour protéger les noix de muscade contre la moisissure.

Le haut-commissaire canadien Richard Hanley est emballé par les perspectives d’avenir. « Je me réjouis de pouvoir contribuer à la sécurité des travailleurs de cette industrie, a-t-il indiqué, car je connais l’importance de la muscade dans l’économie de votre île aux épices. Ce projet aidera à protéger les travailleurs appelés à traiter des récoltes que nous souhaitons tous plus abondantes les unes que les autres. »

L’une des priorités du gouvernement du Canada dans les Caraïbes orientales est de contribuer à l’accroissement de la prospérité économique de la région. On espère que l’augmentation de la production de muscade et la protection de la santé et sécurité des travailleurs seront au nombre des nombreuses initiatives utiles sous ce rapport.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-03-15