Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Belgium.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Events

150th anniversary of Canada

2017 marks a significant moment in the History of Canada. 150 years ago, Quebec, Ontario, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia united to create the Canadian Confederation, called the Dominion of Canada. On account of the British North America Act that became law on July 1st 1867, these British colonies would be recognized as an independent nation. In the years that followed, the other provinces and territories joined the Dominion, making today’s Canada "a mari usque ad mare" ("from sea to sea").

The 150th anniversary of Confederation gives us the opportunity to celebrate together our shared values and our country’s place in the world. The major themes of the 150th anniversary of Confederation are diversity and inclusion, reconciliation with Indigenous peoples, environment and youth.

The Battle of Passchendaele (Belgium), whose 100th anniversary we will commemorate on November 10, 2017, is an important part of our Canadian history. There is even a strong case for saying that, while Canada became a nation at Vimy in April 1917, it sealed its statehood at Passchendaele six months later.

The First World War changed Canada forever. The country emerged battered and scarred, but with a new sense of identity and nationhood. The nearly 16,000 casualties at Passchendaele, suffered over several weeks of intense fighting in dreadful circumstances, entrenched the Canadian corps’ reputation as an elite and highly respected fighting force, second to none among the Commonwealth armies.

Although Canada entered the war in 1914 as a self-governing dominion, its accomplishments on battlefields such as Ypres, Vimy and Passchendaele contributed - both at home and abroad – to respect for and recognition of Canada for its commitment and leadership. This new reputation earned Canada the right to affix its own signature on the Treaty of Versailles and to become a founding member of the League of Nations, the precurson or the UN. National status had been achieved.

Canadians and Europeans share the same fundamental values at a time when our societies face the same challenges: this is more than ever the moment for reflection, for openness and for dialogue.

Memorable events will be held throughout the year in Canada and throughout the world. Come join us in our celebration of Canada!

More info

The official Canada150 Website

The Canada 150th On Social Media: 
Twitter: @canada150th
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/canada150th 
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/canada150/ 
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/cdnheritage

The History of the birth of the Canadian confederation

Key Canada150 events in Belgium and Luxembourg

Some of the Canada150 events in Belgium and Luxembourg (more to be announced throughout the year!) :

  • 100th anniversary of the Battle of Passchendaele in Zonnebeke, Flanders on November 10, 2017
  • Canada Day

Feel free to follow us on Twitter for the latest news on the Canada150-related events in Belgium and Luxembourg.

Footer

Date Modified:
2017-03-31

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Belgique.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Evénements

150e anniversaire du Canada

Logo Canada150

L’année 2017 marque un moment important dans l’histoire du Canada.  Il y a 150 ans  le Québec, l’Ontario, le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse s’unissaient pour former la Confédération canadienne, baptisée le Dominion du Canada. Grâce à l’ Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique qui entrera en vigueur le 1er juillet 1867, ces colonies britanniques seront dès lors reconnues comme une nation indépendante. Les autres provinces et territoires seront intégrés au fil des années établissant ainsi  le Canada d’aujourd’hui a mari usque ad mare («d'un océan à l'autre »).

Le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération donne aux Canadiens l’occasion de s’investir dans la vie de leur collectivité, de célébrer ensemble leurs valeurs communes, leurs réalisations, la richesse de leur environnement et la place qu’occupe le Canada dans le monde.  Les grands thèmes des célébrations du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération sont la diversité et l’inclusion, la réconciliation avec les Autochtones, l’environnement et la jeunesse.

La Bataille de Passchendaele (Belgique), dont nous commémorerons le centenaire le 10 novembre 2017, est un moment important dans l’histoire du Canada. Un historien britannique a écrit : "Le Canada devint une nation à Vimy et ce statut de nation a été scellé à Passchendaele".

La Première Guerre mondiale transforma le Canada à tout jamais. Le pays en sortit meurtri et profondément marqué, mais y gagna un sens nouveau de l’identité et de l’esprit national.

Bien que le Canada était un dominion autonome au moment d’entrer en guerre en 1914, ses exploits au cours des batailles telles comme Ypres, Vimy et Passchendaele lui avaient valu, tant au pays qu’aux yeux du reste du monde, le respect et la reconnaissance de son leadership. Cette nouvelle réputation lui valut le droit d’apposer sa propre signature au Traité de Versailles et de devenir l'un des membres fondateurs de la Société des Nations, précurseur de l’ONU. Notre pays avait atteint le statut de nation.

Canadiens et Européens partagent les mêmes valeurs fondamentales à une époque où nos sociétés font face aux mêmes défis : ceci est, plus que jamais, le moment de la réflexion, de l’ouverture et du dialogue.

Des événements marquants seront au rendez-vous tout au long de l’année, au Canada, mais aussi à travers le monde, pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire du Canada.

Plus d’infos

Le site officiel du 150e

Sur les réseaux sociaux : 
Twitter : @canada150e
Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/Canada150e/
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/canada150/
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/cdnheritage

Histoire de la naissance de la confédération canadienne

Les événements clés en Belgique et au Luxembourg

Quelques-uns des événements clés de Canada150 en Belgique et au Luxembourg (plusieurs autres seront annoncées au courant de l’année !) :

  • La Fête du Canada : en juin 2017
  • 100e anniversaire de la Bataille de Passchendaele : le 10 novembre 2017

Suivez-nous sur Twitter pour être tenu informé des événements en Belgique et au Luxembourg.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2017-05-30