Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

brazil.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Security paramount as Brazil prepares for FIFA World Cup and 2016 Olympics.


Canadian instructors of the CBRNE course
   

Members of the Brazilian Federal Police participate in a decontamination activity
   

Three participants roll over a training dummy during a first aid drill
   

Spectators and residents at the 2014 FIFA World Cup Series and 2016 Summer Olympic and Paralympic Games in Brazil will be safer thanks to a joint security effort between Canada and Brazil.

On January 21-31, Government of Canada provided first of two-part training for Brazilian security forces to deal with various potential risks they could face throughout the upcoming events.

In the first part of training, Canadian security agencies trained their Brazilian counterparts how to identify and respond to chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, and explosive materials. The course integrated theoretical and practical aspects with a focus on collecting evidence, evaluating crime scenes, disarming explosives and dealing with other potential dangers.

The second half of this initiative will be held later this year to train Brazilian security agencies and institutions that were not able to participate in the first phase of training.

The sessions were based on Canadian First Responder Training, which was used extensively in 2010 to prepare for Vancouver Winter Games, G8 and G20 Summits, and has been internationally respected since 2003. The 14 Canadian trainers ranged from members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), Public Health Agency Canada and the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission.

The benefits of cooperation between the two countries are already apparent. During the opening ceremony, Karine Asselin from the Canadian Embassy characterized the training as “a result of the commitment of our two countries to cooperate on preparations for the Olympic [Games] and other major events.”

José Jair Wermann, Scientific Technical Director at the Brazilian Federal Police shared Ms. Asselin’s enthusiasm, pointing out that this initiative promotes cooperation and integration of efforts between organizations and offers a positive environment for the increased demand for the exchange of experiences.

Canada and Brazil share a Memorandum of Understanding on Cooperation for the Organization of Olympic and Paralympic Games. Canada expects that this training will pave the way for the development of future joint activities.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-04-26

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

bresil.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Sécurité primordiale au Brésil en marge du prochain Mundial et des J.O. de 2016


Des instructeurs canadiens du cours CBRNE.
   

Des membres de la police fédérale brésilienne participent à une opération de décontamination.
   

Trois participants retournent un mannequin pendant un exercice de premiers soins.
   

Résidents et visiteurs seront plus en sécurité à l’occasion de la Coupe du monde de la FIFA 2014 et des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques de 2016 au Brésil grâce aux efforts conjugués du Canada et du Brésil.

Du 21 au 31 janvier dernier, le gouvernement du Canada a offert aux forces de sécurité brésiliennes la première d’une série de deux séances de formation sur les risques potentiels au cours de ces deux grands rendez-vous internationaux.

Lors de la première séance, des spécialistes canadiens en sécurité ont enseigné à leurs homologues brésiliens à reconnaître et neutraliser des matières chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques, nucléaires et explosives. Cette formation, comprenant des leçons théoriques et pratiques, portait principalement sur la collecte de preuves, l’évaluation d’une scène de crime, la neutralisation des explosifs et l’intervention en cas d’autres dangers potentiels.

La seconde séance, qui sera donnée plus tard cette année, s’adressera aux organismes et agences de sécurité brésiliennes qui n’ont pas pu assister à la première.

Les deux séances s’inspirent du cours canadien de premiers intervenants, auquel ont participé de larges contingents en 2010 en prévision des Jeux d’hiver de Vancouver et des sommets du G8 et du G20, et qui est reconnu internationalement depuis 2003. Les 14 instructeurs canadiens ont été recrutés parmi les membres de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) et les employés de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire.

Les avantages de la coopération entre les deux pays se font déjà sentir. Durant la cérémonie d’ouverture, Karine Asselin, de l’ambassade du Canada, a dit de la formation qu’elle « découle de la volonté commune de nos deux pays à coopérer aux préparatifs des Jeux olympiques et d’autres événements majeurs. »

José Jair Wermann, directeur scientifique et technique au sein de la police fédérale brésilienne, partage l’enthousiasme de Mme Asselin. Il a fait remarquer que cette initiative favorisait la coopération entre les organisations et l’harmonisation de leurs efforts, en plus d’offrir un environnement favorable à l’échange tant recherché d’expériences.

Le Canada et le Brésil ont signé un protocole d’entente de coopération pour l’organisation des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques. Le premier pense que cette formation ouvrira la voie à d’autres activités conjointes à l’avenir.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-04-26