Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

brazil.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Festival sparks collaboration in mobile technology innovation

Canadian new media specialist Sara Diamond, President of the Ontario College of Art and Design, was the keynote speaker at Mobilefest in Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, and a key facilitator for Canada-Brazil collaboration in mobile technology.  

Sara Diamond, speaking at Mobilefest.
Sara Diamond, speaking at Mobilefest.
   

Mobilefest - International Festival of Mobile Art and Creativity is an annual festival dedicated to the advancement of the usage and awareness of Mobile Technology for social inclusion in such areas as education, health, environmental sustainability, public security, production and distribution of multi-platform content and social networking.  

Ms. Diamond presented Canadian expertise in the area of mobile design and technology research and the applications that have been created through multidisciplinary research teams. These teams include new media artists, engineers, designers, cognitive psychologists, amongst other areas. 

One of the outcomes of Ms. Diamond’s participation at Mobilefest was the possibility of collaboration amongst Canadian and Brazilian institutions in the area of mobile technology and applications. During her visit, Ms. Diamond also gave lectures to students and researchers at three universities across Brazil including the Catholic University (PUC) in Rio de Janeiro, the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS) and Anhembi-Morumbi University in São Paulo. (Web site in Portuguese only)

At the University of Rio Grande do Sul, discussions focused on data visualization, science and aesthetics. In all of the other locations, the lectures were based on the theme: "Digital Domains: The Potential of Multi-platform". 

The International Business Development Program at the Consulate General in São Paulo also organised a special lecture to business contacts to build opportunities for collaboration between Canada and Brazil. Stakeholders included multi-platform content producers, telecommunications and technology companies in the mobile sector, quality broadcasters and internet portals. 

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-04-20

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

bresil.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Partager

Innovation en technologie : un festival stimule la collaboration

La spécialiste canadienne des nouveaux médias et présidente de l’Ontario College of Art and Design, Sara Diamond, a été la conférencière principale du festival Mobilefest de Rio de Janeiro et São Paulo. Lors de son séjour, elle a fait une promotion énergique de la collaboration entre le Canada et le Brésil dans le domaine de la technologie mobile.

Sara Diamond durant une de ses conférences à la Mobilefest.
Sara Diamond durant une de ses conférences à la Mobilefest.
   

Le Mobilefest est un festival international annuel d’art et de créativité mobiles voué à l’avancement de l’usage et de la connaissance de la technologie mobile pour l’inclusion sociale dans des domaines tels que l’éducation, la santé, la durabilité environnementale, la sécurité publique, la production et la distribution de contenu multiplateforme, et le réseautage social.

Mme Diamond a présenté l’expertise canadienne dans le domaine de la recherche en design et en technologie mobiles. Elle a abordé aussi les applications qu’ont su en tirer des équipes de recherche multidisciplinaires formées d’artistes des nouveaux médias, d’ingénieurs, de concepteurs, de psychologues cognitifs et autres. 

Un des fruits de la participation de Mme Diamond au festival Mobilefest est la possibilité d’une collaboration entre institutions canadiennes et brésiliennes dans le domaine de la technologie mobile et de ses applications. Par ailleurs, durant sa visite, Mme Diamond a donné des conférences devant des étudiants et des chercheurs dans trois universités brésiliennes, soit l’Université catholique de Rio de Janeiro, l’Université fédérale de Rio Grande do Sul et l’Université Anhembi-Morumbi de São Paulo.

À l’Université de Rio Grande do Sul, les discussions ont porté sur la visualisation des données, la science et l’esthétique. Toutes les autres conférences ont eu pour thème « Les domaines numériques : le potentiel du multiplateforme ».

D’autre part, les représentants du Programme de développement du commerce international, au consulat général à São Paulo, ont organisé une conférence spéciale à l’intention de personnes-ressources du monde des affaires pour susciter des occasions de collaboration entre le Canada et le Brésil. Parmi les intéressés se trouvaient des représentants de maisons de production de contenu multiplateforme, d’entreprises de télécommunication et de technologie dans le secteur mobile, de diffuseurs de qualité et de portails Internet.

Autres ressources : en anglais, l’Ontario College of Art and Design, l’Université catholique de Rio de Janeiro et l’Université fédérale de Rio Grande do Sul; et en portugais, l’Université Anhembi-Morumbi de São Paulo.

 

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-04-20