Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada


  1. Home

Canada and Brazil move forward on Science, Technology and Innovation cooperation agenda

The Brazilian delegation

Representatives from Brazil’s government, scientific community and funding agencies met with Canadian counterparts in Toronto on Wednesday, May 17th to strengthen cooperation in Science, Technology and Innovation (STI).   The Brazil-Canada Joint Committee on STI discussed ongoing cooperation in areas such as life sciences, nanotechnology, agriculture and the bioeconomy, and presented a variety of funding opportunities, including through the Canadian International Innovation Program which provides funding to support industrial innovation.   This is the 3rd encounter of STI decision makers from both countries since the signing of a bilateral treaty on STI between Canada and Brazil in 2010. 

The Brazilian delegation was led by Luís Felipe Fortuna, Head of International Affairs at Brazil’s Ministry of Science, Technology, Innovations and Communications (MCTIC).  Dr. Ted Hewitt, President of Canada’s Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) and co-chair of the Brazil-Canada Joint Committee hosted the meeting at JLABS at the MaRS Discovery District.

Representative agencies from Brazil:

  • Ministry of Science, Technology, Innovations and Communications (MCTIC)
  • Ministry of External Relations (Itamaraty)
  • Sao Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP)
  • Funding Authority for Studies and Projects (FINEP)
  • Agency for Industrial Research and Innovation (Embrapii)
  • Agency for Support and Evaluation of Graduate Education (CAPES)
  • Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz) 

Representative agencies from Canada:

  • Global Affairs Canada
  • National Research Council Canada (NRC-CNRC)
  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
  • Ontario Ministry of Research, Innovation and Sciences
  • Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE)
  • Mitacs
  • Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR)
  • Canadian Digital Media Network (CDMN)
  • Mannin Research
  • Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics
  • Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology (WIN)


Date Modified: