Brunei and Canada: building societies where women can shine

2016 podium discussion participants.

Despite having reached gender equality in secondary and tertiary education, women in Brunei Darussalam have yet to realize the same level of economic participation and political empowerment as that of men.

  • High Commissioner Marina Laker speaking during the podium discussion: Entrepreneurs – Women – Technology: Crossing the Glass Border.
    High Commissioner Marina Laker speaking during the podium discussion: Entrepreneurs – Women – Technology: Crossing the Glass Border.

Like elsewhere in Asia, women face significant hurdles to leadership, full and effective participation and decision-making due to legal, social, and cultural barriers. While boasting one of the highest rates of GDP per capita in the world due to its oil and gas wealth, Brunei needs to transition from a factor-driven to an efficiency-driven economy.  The 2016 Global Competitive Index listed problematic factors that the country will have to address in this regard, including female participation in the labour force (ranked at 96 out of 138 countries).

Women in Brunei are not provided equal opportunities in the formation and implementation of government policy and despite their high level of educational attainment, are gravely under-represented on corporate boards, senior management in the public sector and in Brunei’s Legislative Council. All of Brunei’s government ministries are headed by men except for the Attorney General’s Office.

Partnering for Women’s empowerment

The High Commission of Canada in Brunei and the Embassy of Japan partnered to host a podium discussion that focused on opportunities for women entitled ‘Entrepreneurs– Women – Technology: Crossing the Glass Border.’ 

“Entrepreneurship has proved to be a catalyst for economic growth in almost all countries globally. Equally as important is the critical role that women play in the growth of an economy.”
Canadian High Commissioner Marina Laker

More than 100 Bruneians, 95% of whom were women, attended the event. Representatives from the Brunei government (Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport), members of the diplomatic community, post-secondary students and business women also took part in the discussions.

Canada’s Women in Technology (WIT) Initiative, and the Business Women in International Trade program were showcased as examples of the Government of Canada’s commitment to gender equality and empoweringwomen.

A questions and answer session was lively and allowed for interaction between participants. A female CEO of Brunei’s BAG Networks (a joint venture between the Brunei government and Accenture) commented that the country needed more women in decision-making and policy-making roles, a theme that resonated throughout the discussions.

Canada’s leadership

Canada was one of the first countries to sign and ratify the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), which set international standards for eliminating gender discrimination.

Canada is committed to advancing gender equality, the empowerment, promotion and protection of the human rights of women and girls.

Related stories

Brunéi et le Canada : bâtir des sociétés où les femmes peuvent briller

Participants au débat 2016.

Bien que nous ayons atteint l’égalité entre les sexes dans l’enseignement secondaire et supérieur, les femmes au Brunéi Darussalam doivent atteindre le même niveau de participation économique et de responsabilité politique que les hommes.

  • Haute-commissaire Marina Laker s’adresse aux participants au cours du débat : Entrepreneurs – Femmes – Technologie : traverser la frontière de verre.
    Haute-commissaire Marina Laker s’adresse aux participants au cours du débat : Entrepreneurs – Femmes – Technologie : traverser la frontière de verre.

Comme partout ailleurs en Asie, les femmes connaissent des difficultés pour accéder à des postes de direction, pour participer complètement et efficacement et prendre des décisions en raison de barrières juridiques, sociales et culturelles. Alors que le Brunéi se vante d’avoir l’un des taux de PIB les plus élevés par personne au monde en raison des richesses en pétrole et en gaz, le pays doit passer d’une économie fondée sur les facteurs à une économie fondée sur l’efficacité. L’indice de compétitivité mondiale pour 2016 expose les facteurs préoccupants à cet égard dont les pays devront s’occuper, notamment la présence des femmes dans la main-d’œuvre (au 96e rang sur 138 pays).

Au Brunéi, les femmes n’ont pas les mêmes occasions dans l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de politiques du gouvernement, et malgré leur niveau élevé de formation, elles sont énormément sous-représentées dans les conseils d’administration, les cadres supérieurs du secteur public et dans le Conseil législatif du Brunéi. Tous les ministères du gouvernement du Brunéi sont dirigés par des hommes à l’exception du Cabinet du procureur général.

S’associer pour l’autonomisation des femmes

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Brunéi et l’ambassade du Japon se sont associés pour animer un débat centré sur les occasions des femmes intitulé « Entrepreneurs – Femmes – Technologie : traverser la frontière de verre. »

« L’entrepreneuriat s’est révélé être un catalyseur de la croissance économique dans la plupart des pays du monde. Le rôle essentiel que jouent les femmes dans la croissance de l’économie est aussi important. »
Haute-commissaire du Canada Marina Laker

Plus de 100 habitants du Brunéi, dont 95 % de femmes, ont assisté à l’événement. Des représentants du gouvernement du Brunéi (ministère de la Culture, de la Jeunesse et des Sports), des membres du corps diplomatique, des étudiants du postsecondaire et des femmes d’affaires ont également participé aux discussions.

L’initiative Canada’s Women in Technology (WIT) et le programme Femmes d’affaires en commerce international ont servi d’exemple de l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada envers l’égalité entre les sexes et l’autonomisation des femmes.

Une séance de questions-réponses a été animée et a permis aux participants d’interagir. Une directrice générale de Networks BAG du Brunéi (une coentreprise entre le gouvernement du Brunéi et Accenture) a déclaré que le pays avait besoin de davantage de femmes aux postes de prise de décisions et d’élaboration de politiques, un thème présent tout au long des discussions.

Leadership du Canada                                                   

Le Canada a été l’un des premiers pays à signer et à ratifier la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes (CEDAW), qui définit des normes internationales visant à éliminer la discrimination sexuelle.

Le Canada s’engage à faire progresser l’égalité entre les sexes, l’autonomisation, la promotion et la protection des droits des femmes et des filles.

Histoires connexes