Canada - Benin Relations

Diplomatic Relations

Canada and Benin established diplomatic relations in 1962, shortly after the country gained its independence in 1960. Bilateral relations between Canada and Benin are harmonious. Even if the relations between Canada and Benin are limited, the two countries frequently collaborate within the United Nations and La Francophonie and through our trade relations.

Canada in Benin           

In Benin, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

Benin in Canada

Benin is represented in Canada by the Embassy of Benin in Ottawa.

Common Memberships

Trade and Investments

Trade Relations

Canada and Benin maintain stable and longstanding trade relations. Some of the most promising sectors for growth are infrastructure, education and corporate social responsibility The bilateral trade between the two countries totaled $ 34.9 million in 2015, nearly $ 34.9 million in exports and just over $ 18 000 dollars in imports, an increase of approximately 14.2% compared to 2014. The top five exports to Benin are motor vehicles and spare parts, meat, textiles, electrical and electronic equipment and machinery.

Trade Agreement

Benin’s Students in Canada

In 2015, 607 Beninese students had a valid permit to study in Canada. Education is an important aspect of Canada-Benin relations. There are many partnerships between Beninese and Canadian universities.

Development and Humanitarian Assistance

In 2014-2015, Canada invested $ 23.9 million in development assistance to Benin. In 2014, Benin has been designated as a country of focus for international development. The objective of Canada's program in international development in Benin is to help sustainable economic growth by supporting the development of a market favorable to business and the development of micro, small and medium enterprises.

The main partners are Canadian organizations (including Desjardins International Development, Oxfam Quebec, CRC Sogema, and CARE Canada) and multilateral and international organizations to which we provide institutional support and funding for specific projects (including the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, UNICEF, and the World Bank)

Canada supported Government of Benin growth strategy for poverty reduction in 2011-2015. The main focus of this strategy were sustainable accelerated economic growth and transformation of the economy, improving infrastructure, strengthening of human capital, the promotion of good governance and the balanced and sustainable development of the country.

See Project Browser for additional information on programming in Bénin.

Canadian Contribution to Peace and Security

Canada is working with Benin to fight illegal migration. This collaboration includes the provision of technical assistance and equipment to Benin security services to improve maritime and border security. Canada is also working to strengthen regional cooperation to counter illegal migration between Benin, Togo and Ghana through activities designed to secure the borders and improve information sharing and coordination mechanisms.

Other Relevant Information

May 2016


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Relations Canada - Bénin

Relations diplomatiques

Le Canada et le Bénin ont établi des relations diplomatiques en 1962, peu après que le Bénin eut acquis son indépendance en 1960. Le Canada et le Bénin entretiennent des relations bilatérales harmonieuses. Bien que les relations entre les deux pays soient limitées, ils collaborent au sein de forums multilatéraux tels que la Francophonie et les Nations Unies et par l’entremise du développement des relations commerciales.

Canada au Bénin

Au Bénin, le Canada est représenté par l'Ambassade du Canada à Ouagadougou au Burkina Faso.

Bénin au Canada

Le Bénin est représenté au Canada par l’Ambassade du Bénin à Ottawa.

Organisations communes

Commerce et investissements

Échanges commerciaux

Le Canada et le Bénin entretiennent des relations commerciales stables et de longues dates. Quelques-uns des secteurs les plus prometteurs pour la croissance sont l’infrastructure, l’éducation et la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Le commerce bilatéral de marchandise entre les deux pays a totalisé 34,9 millions de dollars en 2015, dont près de 34.9 millions de dollars en exportation et un peu plus de 18 000 dollars en importation, soit une augmentation d'environ 14.2% par rapport à 2014. Les cinq principales exportations vers le Bénin sont des véhicules et des pièces de rechanges automobiles, de la viande, du textile, des équipements électriques et électroniques et de la machinerie.

Accords commerciaux

Étudiants du Bénin au Canada

En 2015, 607 étudiants béninois détenaient un permis valide pour étudier au Canada. L’éducation est un secteur important des relations Canada-Bénin. Il existe plusieurs partenariats entre les universités béninoises et canadiennes.

Développement et assistance humanitaire

En 2014-2015, le Canada a investi 23.9 millions de dollars en aide publique au développement au Bénin. En 2014, le Bénin a été désigné comme un pays ciblé en matière de développement international. L'objectif du programme du Canada en matière de développement international au Bénin est d'aider à stimuler sa croissance économique durable en appuyant le développement d'un marché favorable aux affaires et le développement des micros, petites et moyennes entreprises.

Les principaux partenaires sont des organisations canadiennes (dont Développement international Desjardins, Oxfam Québec, CRC Sogema, et Care Canada) et des organisations multilatérales et internationales auxquelles le Canada fourni de l’appui institutionnel et des fonds pour des projets spécifiques (dont le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le SIDA, la tuberculose et le paludisme, UNICEF, et la Banque mondiale)

Le Canada a appuyé la Stratégie de croissance pour la réduction de la pauvreté 2011–2015 du gouvernement du Bénin. Les principaux axes d'intervention de cette stratégie étaient l'accélération durable de la croissance économique et de la transformation de l'économie, l’amélioration des infrastructures, le renforcement du capital humain, la promotion de la qualité de la gouvernance et le développement équilibré et durable du territoire national.

Voir la Banque de projets pour plus de détails sur la programmation au Bénin.

Paix et sécurité

Le Canada travaille avec le Bénin pour lutter contre la migration clandestine. Cette collaboration inclut la fourniture d’assistance technique et de matériel aux services de sécurité béninois pour améliorer la sécurité maritime et frontalière. Le Canada collabore également au renforcement de la collaboration régionale visant à contrer la migration clandestine entre le Bénin, le Togo et le Ghana grâce à des activités visant à sécuriser les frontières communes et à améliorer le partage d'information et les mécanismes de coordination.

Autres informations pertinentes

Avis aux voyageurs

Mai 2016


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à ce fichier, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page d'aide.