Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

cameroon.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canada honours education and charity work in Cameroon


 
Patients following various sermons

In order to mark the 50th anniversary of diplomatic relations with Cameroon, the Canadian High Commission in Cameroon organized an interreligious ceremony to honour the work of Canadian missionaries in the field of education and charity assistance.


The four ceremony officials


Group photo of families
  

High Commissioner Laramée speaking with media
  

Since the late 40’s, Canadian missionaries have help set up some of the most prestigious professional “Lycées” (schools) in Cameroon. In particular, the ceremony celebrated the legacy of Cardinal Paul Leger. Leger is well known in Cameroon for setting up a facility to treat children stricken by poliomyelitis.

Decades after his death, the Cardinal Paul Emile Léger national Centre for the Handicapped Persons receives and treats patients from the whole Central Africa region. Cameroonians still associate the Cardinal to Canada's compassion for the underprivileged in society.

Planning for another 50 years of cooperation

During the event, Canadian High Commissioner Benoit Pierre Laramée advocated a new vision for Canada-Cameroon relations based on mutual economic and commercial growth. This new partnership is based on common values such as the peaceful co-existence of religions.

Religious beliefs play an important role in the lives of most Cameroonians. Cameroon is a multi-religious state with 20 per cent Muslims, 60 per cent Christians and 20 per cent traditional and other religions. Despite the various groups and denominations, religious tolerance and cohabitation seems to be a shared value. Canada feels that it is important to acknowledge and support this peaceful co-existence of religions.

The Ministry of external relations responded by praising Canada’s achievements in Cameroon during the last 50 years, welcoming the new vision mentioned by Mr. Laramée and asserting Cameroon’s faith in values such as the freedom of religion.

At the ceremony, High Commissioner Laramée joined representatives from the Presidency of the Republic, the Ministry of external Relations, the central Administration, political parties, members of parliament and dignitaries from different religious denominations.

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-11

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

cameroun.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Le Canada honore les oeuvres éducatives et caritatives au Cameroun


 
Des patients suivant les différents sermons

Pour souligner le 50e anniversaire de ses relations diplomatiques avec le Cameroun, le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Cameroun a organisé une cérémonie interreligieuse en l'honneur du travail des missionnaires canadiens dans les domaines de l'éducation et de l'aide charitable.


Les quatre officiants de la cérémonie


Photo des familles
  

La cérémonie a suscité l'intérêt de plusieurs médias
  

Depuis la fin des années 1940, des missionnaires canadiens ont participé à la mise sur pied de lycées professionnels parmi les plus prestigieux au Cameroun. En particulier, la cérémonie a célébré l'héritage du Cardinal Paul-Émile Léger. Le Cardinal Léger est bien connu au Cameroun, où il a construit un établissement pour traiter les enfants frappés de poliomyélite.

Des décennies après sa mort, le Centre national de réhabilitation des personnes handicapées Cardinal Paul-Émile Léger reçoit et traite des patients de l'ensemble de la région centrafricaine. Les Camerounais associent encore le Cardinal à la compassion du Canada envers les défavorisés de la société.

La planification de 50 autres années de coopération

Au cours de cet événement, le haut-commissaire canadien Benoît-Pierre Laramée a préconisé pour les relations Canada-Cameroun une nouvelle vision fondée sur la croissance économique et commerciale mutuelle. Ce nouveau partenariat repose sur des valeurs communes, dont la coexistence pacifique des religions.

Les croyances religieuses tiennent une place importante dans la vie de la plupart des Camerounais. Le Cameroun est un État multiconfessionnel comptant 20 % de musulmans, 60 % de chrétiens et 20 % d'adeptes de religions traditionnelles ou autres. Malgré la diversité des groupes et des confessions, la tolérance et la cohabitation des religions apparaissent comme des valeurs communes. Le Canada estime qu'il est important de reconnaître et d'appuyer cette coexistence pacifique des religions.

Le ministère des Relations extérieures a répondu en louant les réalisations du Canada au Cameroun au cours des 50 dernières années, accueillant favorablement la nouvelle vision mise de l'avant par M. Laramée et professant la foi du Cameroun dans les valeurs comme la liberté de religion.

Lors de la cérémonie, le haut-commissaire Laramée s'est joint aux représentants de la présidence de la République, du ministère des Relations extérieures, de l'Administration centrale et des partis politiques, à des membres du Parlement et à des dignitaires des différentes confessions.

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-11