Canada supports the promotion of women’s land rights in Cameroon’s north region


Family photo after the ceremony.


High-commissioner René Cremonese addresses the audience, with the sub-prefect and the mayor of Ngong on his left.


With his signature, the lamido of Tchéboa commits to promoting the cause of the women in his region.


A participant describes the difficulties she faced while trying to obtain an ownership title.

In the North Region of Cameroon, as in other regions of the country, religion and traditional practices are intertwined, creating a difficult environment for women’s economic and social development. According to statistics from a NGO active in the North Region, the Femmes porteuses d’espoir (FEPES), though 80% of women in the North Region are involved in agricultural activities, less than 20% of these women own the lands they cultivate.  

These women can lose their rights to these lands because of divorce, the death of their spouse or even in simple marital disputes. Most rural women are unaware of the legal provisions that protect them, because even local public services in charge of the protection of women don’t have the appropriate legal tools to advise women on their property rights.

Rights promotion project

The Canadian High Commission in Cameroon, through its Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, recently supported FEPES’s women’s rights promotion project in Ngong, near Garoua, the capital city of the North Region.

This project, entitled: “Rural women and land rights” was specifically designed to help the nearly 400 rural women in the district of Tchéboa access land ownership.

The local traditional monarch’s commitment

During this event, a memorandum of understanding (MOU) was signed in the presence of the Canadian High Commissioner, Mr. René Cremonese by FEPES, representatives of the women of the Tchéboa district, the local traditional tribal leader and public administration officials,.

The local traditional monarch, the lamido of Tchéboa, signed the MOU at his own request, even though originally, only the public authority representatives (the sub-prefect and the mayor) and the women were going to sign the document.

This MOU, although only symbolic in nature and not legally binding, represents the commitment of all of the parties to unite their efforts to promote women’s rights, especially land rights, within the context of a society that is known to be somewhat resistant to social changes that are perceived by some as destabilizing to the established order.

The lamido’s commitment was summarized by his statement during the event: “I am willing to listen to you, women. It is important that you be landowners as well.” As if to make his meaning clearer to his deputy heads, he repeated these words in the local language, which were enthusiastically received by the women who were present: “I call upon men to respect and be considerate of women, because they are our mothers. Stop harming women who are in a land dispute with their husbands. Instead, give parcels of land to women who ask for them.

Initiatives such as the one launched by FEPES, are part of Canada’s commitment to gender equality and to promoting women’s rights across the globe. These goals can only be achieved if women are included as equal partners, decision-makers and beneficiaries of sustainable development in their society.

Canada’s High Commission in Cameroon will continue to promote these values and support women’s rights.

In a year or two, the concrete results of this project should be evaluated with FEPES, particularly those concerning the lamido’s participation in the advancement of these specific rights. This level of public commitment from the local traditional monarch has the potential to advance the position of women and as a result improve the economic well-being of the society as a whole.

Le canada appuie la promotion des droits fonciers de la femme dans la région du nord au Cameroun

Photo de famille à l’issue de la cérémonie.


Le haut-commissaire René Cremonese s'adressant à l'audience, avec à sa gauche, le sous-préfet et le maire de Ngong.


Par sa signature, le lamido de Tchéboa s'est engagé à favoriser la cause des femmes de son lamidat.

Une participante témoigne de ses difficultés à devenir détentrice d'un titre de propriété.

Le Nord est l’une des régions du Cameroun où la religion et les pratiques traditionnelles s’imbriquent, créant un contexte difficile pour le développement économique et social de la femme. Selon des statistiques mentionnées par une ONG de la région du Nord, l’organisation Femmes porteuses d’espoir (FEPES), bien que 80 % des femmes du Nord participent aux activités agricoles; moins de 20 % de celles-ci sont propriétaires des terres qu’elles cultivent.

Ces femmes peuvent être dépossédées de leurs terres à la suite d’un divorce, de décès de l’époux ou même de simples différends conjugaux. La quasi-totalité des femmes rurales ignore les dispositions de la loi qui les protègent, car même les services publics locaux responsables de la protection de la femme ne disposent pas d’outils juridiques appropriés pour conseiller les femmes en matière de droit de propriété.

Projet de promotion des droits

Le haut-commissariat du Canada au Cameroun, par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives rurales, a récemment appuyé le projet de promotion des droits de la femme de FEPES à Ngong, près de Garoua, la capitale régionale du Nord. Ce projet, intitulé « Femmes rurales et propriété foncière », a été spécialement conçu pour faciliter l’accès à la propriété foncière à près de 400 femmes rurales de l’arrondissement de Tchéboa.

Engagement du monarque traditionnel local

Au cours de cet événement, un protocole d’entente (PE) a été signé en présence du Haut-commissaire du Canada, M. René Cremonese, par FEPES et les représentants des femmes de l’arrondissement de Tchéboa d’une part, et par le chef traditionnel tribal local et les fonctionnaires de l’administration publique d’autre part.

 Le monarque traditionnel local, le lamido de Tchéboa, a apposé sa signature au bas du protocole d’entente à sa propre initiative, même si à l’origine, seuls les représentants de l’autorité publique locale (sous-préfet et maire) et les femmes devaient signer.

Ce PE, bien que symbolique et sans réelle portée juridique, matérialisait l’engagement des parties présentes à unir leurs efforts dans la promotion des droits de la femme et plus spécifiquement des droits fonciers, dans le contexte d’une société réputée assez réfractaire aux évolutions sociales  perçues par certains comme perturbant l’ordre établi.

L’engagement du lamido a été résumé par la déclaration qu’il a faite à cette occasion : « Je suis disposé à vous écouter, les femmes. Il faut que vous aussi soyez propriétaires des terres. » Et comme pour mieux se faire comprendre de ses sous-chefs, il a répété en langue locale ces mots reçus avec enthousiasme par les femmes présentes : « J’exhorte les hommes à respecter et à ménager les femmes, car elles sont nos mères. Ne lésez plus les femmes dans un litige foncier opposant une femme à son mari. Accordez des parcelles de terre aux femmes qui en demandent ».

Les initiatives comme celle de FEPES font partie de l’engagement du Canada en faveur de l’égalité entre les sexes et de la promotion des droits de la femme dans le monde. Ces objectifs ne peuvent être atteints que si les femmes sont incluses en tant que partenaires égaux, décideurs et bénéficiaires dans le développement durable de leur société.

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Cameroun continuera de promouvoir ces valeurs et de soutenir les droits des femmes.

Il sera toujours temps, dans un an ou deux, d’effectuer avec FEPES une évaluation des résultats concrets du projet, notamment en ce qui concerne la participation du lamido à l’avancée de ces droits spécifiques. Un tel engagement public du monarque traditionnel local, a le potentiel de faire progresser la position des femmes et d’améliorer, par conséquent, le bien-être économique de l’ensemble de la société.