Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

chile.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

At-risk children learn about their human rights at summer camp


 
Children from the town of Alto Hospicio (North) who were participants in the summer camp on children’s rights.

For many kids summer camp is a place to go to escape. For some kids in Chile, the Laura Vicuña Foundation camps are a place to go to be empowered!

The Laura Vicuña Foundation strengthened its volunteer training materials to provide informative, fun and interactive summer camps focused on teaching children from vulnerable backgrounds about their basic human rights thanks to CAD $16,800 from the Embassy’s Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI.)

The Chilean chapter of this international Foundation dedicates itself to developing programs and social projects that empower underprivileged children living in vulnerable regions, which includes more than 42,000 girls, youth and women on an annual basis.

The funds provided by the CFLI were used to update the summer camps training materials for their volunteers. Twenty youth volunteers, monitors of the four summer schools across Chile, were taught about the basics of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, of which Chile is a signatory, and different methods to teach children about their basic human rights in a fun and interactive manner.

Children participating in the Foundation’s summer camps live in some of the poorest neighborhoods in Chile. This year the summer camps were run in Alto Hospicio (near the city of Iquique in the North), Renca (Region of Santiago), Lautaro, and Lonquimay (both located in the Southern region of Araucania, home of the indigenous group Mapuche in the South).

Harsh living conditions for local families inhabiting these four regions are exacerbated by low incomes, lack of employment and substandard housing. Statistics have demonstrated that individuals, both from the indigenous and non-indigenous communities, live in poverty or abject poverty; Alto Hospicio (16.26%), Renca (19.2%), Lautara (20.9%), and Lonquimay (37.78). As a result, these community’s youth populations often lack opportunities for child-adolescent participation and development.

These full-time camps have allowed children, who would otherwise likely be left without stimulating activity during their summer vacation, to interact with others while learning valuable and life-altering lessons about their basic human rights. Through the use of visual art and theatre, the children expressed what they have learned about their rights and their responsibilities as a citizen and as a child. The expected benefits from these camps are that children and youth start to develop higher expectations for their development.

The Laura Vicuña Foundation is an international Christian organization founded in 1990. It is dedicated to addressing the needs and problems of street children. The Foundation aims to ensure continuity and convergence of educational and development interventions to empower children to become honest, productive and self-reliant citizens.

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-05-09

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

chili.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Des enfants à risque apprennent leurs droits fondamentaux à un camp d’été

CAPTION_HERE
 
Des enfants d’Alto Hospicio (nord du pays) participant à un camp d’été sur les droits des enfants.

Les camps d’été sont pour bien des enfants des endroits où ils peuvent s’évader. Les camps de la Fondation Laura Vicuña, au Chili, les outillent en plus pour la vie!

Mettant à profit une somme de 16 800 CAD du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) reçue de l’ambassade du Canada au Chili, la Fondation a doté ses bénévoles d’aides didactiques leur permettant d’offrir des camps d’été instructifs, amusants et interactifs où l’on enseigne à des enfants venant de milieux défavorisés leurs droits de la personne fondamentaux.

La section chilienne de cette fondation internationale se consacre à l’élaboration de programmes et de projets sociaux destinés à fournir annuellement à des enfants défavorisés vivant dans des régions précaires, dont plus de 42 000 filles, adolescentes et femmes, des outils pour prendre en main leur destin.

Les fonds provenant du FCIL ont servi à rafraîchir les aides didactiques utilisées par les travailleurs bénévoles des camps. Vingt-quatre jeunes moniteurs bénévoles des quatre camps d’été de la Fondation au Chili ont eu droit à une séance de formation sur les principes fondamentaux de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant, dont le Chili est signataire, et sur les différentes façons d’enseigner les droits de la personne fondamentaux à des enfants, d’une manière amusante et interactive.

Les enfants admis aux camps d’été de la Fondation vivent dans les endroits les plus pauvres du Chili. Les camps se sont tenus cette année à Alto Hospicio (près de la ville d’Iquique, dans le nord du pays), à Renca (région de Santiago), à Lautaro et à Lonquimay (deux localités situées dans la région méridionale d’Araucania, habitée par un groupe de Mapuches).

La maigreur des revenus, le manque d’emploi et l’insalubrité des logements rendent encore plus difficiles les conditions de vie des familles établies à ces endroits. Selon les statistiques, la proportion de la population vivant dans la pauvreté ou l’indigence la plus complète s’établirait à 16,26 % à Alto Hospicio, 19,2 % à Renca, 20,9 % à Lautara et 37,78 % à Lonquimay, groupes autochtones et non autochtones confondus. Les enfants et les adolescents qui grandissent dans ces collectivités n’ont pas toujours la chance d’évoluer et de s’épanouir normalement.

Les camps d’été à temps plein de la Fondation permettent à des enfants qui seraient privés autrement de toute activité stimulante pendant les vacances d’été d’interagir avec leurs pairs tout en acquérant des connaissances sur leurs droits de la personne susceptibles de changer leur vie. Par le théâtre et les arts visuels, les enfants sont appelés à exprimer ce qu’ils ont retenu de leurs droits et responsabilités comme citoyen et comme enfant. Les camps se veulent un moyen d’inciter les enfants et les jeunes en général à entretenir des attentes plus élevées à l’égard de leur éducation.

La Fondation Laura Vicuña est une organisation chrétienne internationale fondée en 1990 qui s’intéresse aux besoins et aux problèmes des enfants de la rue. Elle s’emploie à assurer la continuité et la convergence des mesures éducatives et de perfectionnement visant à faire des enfants des citoyens honnêtes, productifs et autonomes.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-05-09