Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

chile.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Canadian companies in Chile apply high CSR standards

The Chile-Canada Chamber of Commerce launched its second report on the Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) practices of Canadian companies operating in Chile, entitled "Partners in Development.”  The study concluded that the CSR policies and practices of Canadian companies in Chile are consistent with CSR best practices in Canada, which are among the most advanced in the world.

President Schiodtz, Minister Matte
Left to right: Then-President of the Chile-Canada Chamber of Commerce, Paul Schiodtz; Then-Minister of Housing, Magdalena Matte
   
The Participants
Overview of the launching's participants
   
Group photo
Richard Smith, CSR expert who prepared the study; Margot Edwards, Trade Officer; Louis Guay, Canada's CSR Coordinator for the Americas
   
Group photo
Keith Ashfield, Minister of National Revenue, Minister of the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency and Minister for the Atlantic Gateway; Canada's Ambassador to Chile, Sarah Fountain Smith; Roger Cuzner, MP, Cape Breton-Canso; Yvon Godin, MP, Acadie–Bathurst
   

The launch was attended by a number of special guests, including Chile’s then-Minister of Housing, Magdalena Matte; Canada’s Ambassador to Chile, Sarah Fountain Smith; Canada’s CSR Coordinator for the Americas, Louis Guay; the Director of the Chilean NGO Casa de la Paz, Ximena Abogabir; and a delegation of parliamentarians and officials led by the Honourable Keith Ashfield, Minister of National Revenue and the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency and the Atlantic Gateway.

In his introductory remarks, the then-President of the Chamber, Paul Schiodtz, said that this report makes a positive contribution to the discussion and study of CSR in Chile. Then-Minister Matte later echoed these sentiments and applauded the Canadian CSR brand signalling that Canadian companies in Chile "are doing things the right way, and in a very discreet manner.”

The study was prepared by Canadian CSR expert Richard Smith and is divided into three main sections. The first explores some of the most prominent and influential CSR policies, guidelines and conventions that Canadian companies are striving to incorporate and adhere to. The second more closely examines the CSR practices of Canadian companies working in Chile and describes the key factors that drive their commitment to social responsibility. The final section reviews important lessons learned over the past ten years and identifies some of the future challenges Canadian companies operating in Chile may face.

One of the key challenges mentioned in the report was the need to continue improving relations between companies and communities, especially to ensure effective communication throughout the implementation phase of a project. “Social factors are far more likely to threaten a project’s viability than technical issues”, said  José Tomás Letelier VP External Affairs for Kinross.

All of the companies that were interviewed for this study — such as Barrick, EDC, Finning, Methanex, Scotiabank and SNC Lavalin, among others — explained that their Canadian roots influence their organizational culture and corporate practices. In particular, they highlighted their strong emphasis on ethics, transparency and communication; the importance of putting people first and promoting equity and inclusion in the workplace; and commitment to dialogue and consensus building with stakeholders.

As examples of successful CSR projects, Methanex is championing an educational process designed to raise awareness about energy conservation, which is consistent with the values and mission of the company: they have sponsored a social awareness program with 1500 students from the Juan Bautista Contardi Secondary School, with the aim of integrating energy efficiency practices under a national educational project know as the Energy Saving and Efficiency Environmental Plan (PAAEE). Transelec/Brookfield organized a competition which aimed to promote greater energy efficiency, optimizing the consumption of water and improving household waste management. The idea was not only to generate an interest amongst the community and to promote energy efficiency as a viable option, but also to bring concrete solutions to thousands of Chileans that could adopt best practices that would allow them to live a more sustainable life on a daily basis.

The study concludes that this approach reinforces sound management practices in these companies and strengthens their relationships with communities, employees, customers and local authorities.

The Chamber of Commerce published its first CSR study in Chile in 2002. The second version of the report was published in 2010 and provides a valuable tool for highlighting the good corporate citizenship of Canadian companies active in Chile, and their commitment to corporate social responsibility.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-02-10

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

chili.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Les entreprises canadiennes appliquent les plus hauts standards de RSE au Chili

La Chambre de commerce Chili-Canada a lancé son deuxième rapport sur les pratiques des entreprises Canadiennes présentes au Chili quant à la Responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE). L’étude intitulée « Partenaires du Développement » conclut que les politiques et pratiques de RSE des entreprises canadiennes au Chili sont alignées sur les meilleures pratiques canadiennes de RSE, qui sont parmi les plus avancées au monde.

Le lancement a réuni plusieurs invités spéciaux, dont Magdalena Matte, alors Ministre chilienne du logement; Sarah Fountain Smith, Ambassadeure du Canada au Chili; Louis Guay, Coordinateur canadien en RSE pour les Amériques; Ximena Abogadir, directrice de l’ONG chilienne Casa de la Paz, ainsi qu’une délégation de parlementaires et d’officiaux menée par l’Honorable Keith Ashfield, Ministre du Revenu national et de l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada Atlantique.

Président Schiodtz, Ministre Magdalena
Alors Président de la Chambre de Commerce Chili-Canada, Paul Schiodtz; Alors Ministre du logement, Matte Magdalena
   
Les participants
Vue d'ensemble des participants du lancement
   
Photo de groupe
Richard Smith, expert en matière de RSE qui a préparé l'étude; Margot Edwards, Agente commerciale à l'Ambassade; Louis Guay, Coordonnateur canadien en matière de RSE pour les Amériques
   
Photo de groupe
Keith Ashfield, Ministre du Revenu national et de l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique ; Ambassadeure du Canada au Chili, Sarah Fountain Smith; Cuzner Roger, député du Cap-Breton-Canso; Yvon Godin, député de l'Acadie –Bathurst
   

Lors de son discours d’ouverture, Paul Schiodtz, alors Président de la Chambre, a indiqué que ce rapport apportait une contribution positive aux études et débats portant sur la RSE au Chili. Magdalena Matte, alors Ministre chilienne du logement, a réitéré cette conclusion et a félicité la « marque » de RSE canadienne, soulignant du même coup que les entreprises canadiennes au Chili « font les choses de la bonne façon et ce, d’une manière très discrète ».

L’étude a été préparée par l’expert en RSE Richard Smith et comprend trois thématiques principales. La première porte sur les politiques, les lignes directrices et les conventions les plus influentes de la RSE auxquelles les entreprises canadiennes s’efforcent d’adhérer. La seconde section se penche plus particulièrement sur les pratiques des entreprises canadiennes œuvrant au Chili et décrit les facteurs clés qui expliquent leur engagement quant à la responsabilité sociale. La dernière partie de l’étude fait une revue des leçons les plus significatives apprises depuis les dix dernières années et cible quelques-uns des défis qui attendent les entreprises canadiennes implantées au Chili.

Un des défis centraux mentionné dans le rapport est la poursuite de l’amélioration des relations entre les entreprises et les communautés, particulièrement pour assurer une communication efficace et concrète durant la phase d’implantation d’un projet. « Les questions sociales sont beaucoup plus susceptibles de menacer la viabilité d’un projet que les aspects techniques », dit José Tomás Letelier, Vice-président aux Affaires externes de Kinross.

Toutes les entreprises interviewées pour l’étude — incluant entre autres Barrick, EDC, Finning, Methanex, Scotiabank et SNC Lavalin — ont mentionné que leurs racines canadiennes influencent leur culture organisationnelle et leurs pratiques corporatives. Elles ont particulièrement souligné leur attachement à l’éthique, la transparence et la communication, l’importance de mettre l’individu de l’avant, l’intérêt de promouvoir l’équité et l’inclusion au sein du milieu de travail, ainsi que la mise en valeur du dialogue et du consensus avec les diverses parties et intervenants.

À titre d’exemple de projets en RSE, Methanex est la championne d’un processus éducatif visant l’économie d’énergie, thème qui s’insère parfaitement dans les valeurs et la mission de l’entreprise. De fait, elle a commandité un programme de conscientisation de 1500 étudiants de l’école secondaire Juan Bautista Contardi, dans l’objectif de favoriser l’intégration de pratiques efficaces d’économie d’énergie sous l’égide du projet national d’éducation connu sous le nom du Plan pour l’économie d’énergie et l’efficacité environnementale (PAAEE).

De son côté, Transelec/Brookfield a organisé un concours visant à promouvoir une meilleure utilisation de l’énergie, une consommation responsable de l’eau et l’amélioration de la gestion de déchets domestiques. L’idée était non seulement de susciter un intérêt au sein de la communauté et de promouvoir l’économie d’énergie, mais aussi d’apporter des solutions concrètes aux milliers de Chiliens qui pourraient adopter de meilleures pratiques énergétiques leur permettant de mener une vie plus durable au quotidien.

L’étude conclut que cette approche renforce les bonnes pratiques de gestion au sein de ces entreprises et consolide du même coup les relations avec les communautés, les employés, les consommateurs et les autorités locales.

La Chambre de commerce a publié sa première étude RSE au Chili en 2002. La deuxième version du rapport a été publiée en 2010 et constitue un document clé pour souligner la responsabilité sociale et citoyenne des entreprises canadiennes présentes au Chili.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-02-10