Supporting Chilean society to sensitize men to violence against women

Canada’s Ambassador to Chile, Marcel Lebleu, together with Maria Francisca Valenzuela, president of OCAC, and Francisco Aguayo from Cultura Salud, at the campaign launch.

 Ambassador Lebleu listening to the personal account of a harassment victim at the campaign launch.

The combatting of sexual violence is something which ideally should include every element of society, including men, so that they too can be agents of change.

The Embassy of Canada to Chile raised awareness about violence against women by supporting the highly successful campaign #NoTeDaVergüenza? (Aren’t you ashamed?). The campaign was very well received on social media and posters found on subway stations in Santiago, and distributed across the country, also had a strong impact.

Inspired by the White Ribbon Campaign organized in Canada in 1991, the project aims to make Chilean society, men in particular, more conscious of the many daily acts of aggression committed against women. For example, in 99% of cases of street harassment of women, the party responsible is a male.

At the campaign launch, Canada’s ambassador to Chile, Marcel Lebleu, explained the origin of the White Ribbon Campaign, which was started in Canada by men who had been marked by the massacre at Montreal’s École Polytechnique in 1989. That campaign has become the most important international initiative organized by men to put an end to violence against women, and it now exists in over 50 countries, including Chile.

Speaking out to end violence against women

One of the #NoTeDaVergüenza? campaign’s partners, Maria Francisca Valenzuela, president of the Observatory against street harassment (OCAC), explains that the campaign targets “all persons, and men in particular, who legitimize these practices [sexual abuse] by keeping silent, by sharing images without questioning them, and by not talking about the situation with their peers.”

Canada is proud to support this campaign - headed by the Fondation Cultura Salud and OCAC, through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) – which strengthens gender equality in Chile, defends the rights of women and girls, and ensures the sustained and equitable development of Chilean society.

More information

Soutenir la société chilienne dans ses efforts de sensibilisation des hommes au problème de violence faite à l’égard des femmes

L’ambassadeur du Canada au Chili, Marcel Lebleu, accompagné de Maria Francisca Valenzuela, présidente de l’OCAC et Francisco Aguayo, de Cultura Salud, lors du lancement de la campagne.

 L’ambassadeur Lebleu en train d’écouter le témoignage d’une victime d’harcèlement lors du lancement de la campagne.

La violence sexuelle est un combat que doit idéalement inclure tous les pans de la société, y compris les hommes, afin qu’ils puissent être aussi un agent de changement.

L’Ambassade du Canada au Chili a appuyé une campagne très réussie, #NoTeDaVergüenza? (N’as-tu pas honte?), visant à accroître la sensibilisation au problème de violence faite à l’égard des femmes. Cette campagne fut bien reçue sur les médias sociaux et a également connu un impact important hors ligne grâce aux affiches placées dans les stations de métro dans la ville de Santiago et distribuées à travers le pays.

Inspiré par la campagne de ruban blanc organisée au Canada en 1991, ce projet vise à conscientiser la société chilienne, plus particulièrement les hommes, aux nombreuses agressions commises envers les femmes. Par exemple, dans 99% des cas de harcèlement contre les femmes dans la rue, le responsable est un homme.

Lors du lancement de la campagne, l’ambassadeur du Canada au Chili, Marcel Lebleu, a expliqué l’origine de la campagne du ruban blanc, initiée au Canada par des hommes marqués par la tuerie de la Polytechnique de Montréal en 1989. Cette campagne est devenue la plus importante initiative internationale organisée par des hommes pour mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes et elle existe à présent dans plus de 50 pays dont le Chili.

Se prononcer contre la violence faite aux femmes

L’une des co-partenaires de la campagne #NoTeDaVergüenza?, Maria Francisca Valenzuela, présidente de l’Observatoire contre le harcèlement sexuel de rue (OCAC), explique que la campagne vise « toutes les personnes et les hommes en particulier  qui légitiment ces pratiques [violences sexuelles] en gardant le silence, en partageant des images sans les questionner et en ne parlant pas de la situation avec leurs pairs. »

Le Canada est fier d’appuyer cette campagne - menée par la Fondation Cultura Salud et OCAC grâce au soutien du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) - visant à renforcer l’importance de l’égalité des genres au Chili, à défendre et respecter les droits des femmes et des filles, ainsi qu’à assurer un développement équitable et soutenu de la société chilienne.

Renseignements connexes