Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

chile.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Connecting Communities and Commemorating the 10th Anniversary of the Inter-American Democratic Charter in Chile

All Ministers that attended the OAS Conference
 
All Ministers that attended the OAS Conference

The Inter-American Democratic Charter seeks to strengthen and sustain democratic institutions in the Americas. Adopted on September 11, 2001, at a special session of the General Assembly of the Organization of American States, the Charter passes its tenth anniversary this year.

Children dancing a typical Chilean dance
Children dancing a typical Chilean dance
   
Bilateral meeting with Chile's Under Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Fernando Schmidt
Bilateral meeting with Chile's Under Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Fernando Schmidt
   
Minister Ablonczy and the Santiago wardens
Minister Ablonczy and the Santiago wardens 
   
Group photo
Ambassador of Canada, Sarah Fountain Smith; Ms. Olga Díaz, Director of the afterschool center, receiving the Canada Fund contribution; Minister of State for the Americas and Consular Affairs, Diane Ablonczy 
   
Group photo
Minister Ablonczy with Canadian investors in Chile and the Ambassador of Canada, Sarah Fountain Smith
   

On a recent visit to Chile, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs Diane Ablonczy, commemorated the 10th anniversary of the Inter-American Democratic Charter in Valparaíso, and went on to participate in discussions focussed on Canada-Chile relations the following day.

 “A decade after its signature in Lima, Peru, the Inter-American Democratic Charter continues to stand as one of the hemisphere’s most remarkable collective achievements,” said Minister of State Ablonczy. “Our commitment to the Charter and its principles is as strong today as it was 10 years ago.”

Following the conference, the Minister participated in a one-day program in Santiago that included a meeting with Chile’s Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Fernando Schmidt, and also met with local communities and the private sector.

The Minister visited an afterschool centre in a low income community called La Granja, which was funded by the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives in Chile (CFLI). Through the establishment of a computer club in the centre, this project helps vulnerable children to become functional digital citizens, improving their ability to access employment and academic opportunities. The afterschool centre not only makes learning fun, but also helps foster the growth of engaged and informed young people.

“Canada welcomes the efforts of local communities to further their own development and is glad to support dynamic development projects, particularly those that seek to reduce inequalities, and that reaffirms Canada’s ongoing engagement with Chile in the priority area of education”, said Minister Ablonczy.

Canada is the third-largest investor in Chile, and Canadian companies have distinguished themselves by implementing corporate social responsibility practices that not only grant Canadian companies a certain competitive advantage, but help ensure that the Canadian presence in Chile is a positive one, focussing on education, sustainable development and social responsibility. While in Santiago, Minister Ablonczy participated in a round-table discussion with leading Canadian investors active in Chile, in order to gain insights on challenges and opportunities for Canadian businesses moving forward. She also discussed the Government of Canada’s commercial priorities in the Americas, including expanding Canadian direct investment and diversifying trade relations.

One of the ways Canadians living abroad can stay connected with each other is through the network of consular wardens. During her visit, Minister Ablonczy also took the opportunity to meet with wardens from the Santiago area and express her appreciation for their efforts. These volunteers provide an important service to Canadians living in Chile, assisting in sharing information and guidance from the Embassy with Canadians in their districts. Their efforts are especially valuable in the event of an emergency such as the devastating earthquake and tsunami of February 2010.

The Minister’s visit to Chile was an excellent opportunity to strengthen Canada’s relationship with Chile through her meetings with local authorities, communities and businesspeople, and also to reaffirm Canada’s commitment to the OAS and the Inter-American Democratic Charter (IDAC).

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-11-29

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

chili.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Rassembler des communautés et commémorer le 10e anniversaire de la Charte démocratique interaméricaine au Chili

Tous les ministres qui ont participé à la conférence de l’OÉA
 
Tous les ministres qui ont participé à la conférence de l’OÉA

La Charte démocratique interaméricaine vise à renforcer et à soutenir les institutions démocratiques dans les Amériques. Adoptée le 11 Septembre 2001, lors d'une session extraordinaire de l'Assemblée générale de l'Organisation des États américains, la Charte célèbre cette année son dixième anniversaire.

Enfants exécutant une danse typique chilienne
Enfants exécutant une danse typique chilienne
   
Rencontre bilatérale avec le Sous-Secrétaire aux Affaires Extérieures du Chili, Fernando Schmidt
Rencontre bilatérale avec le Sous-Secrétaire aux Affaires Extérieures du Chili, Fernando Schmidt
   
Ministre d’État et les coordonnateurs d'urgences consulaires de Santiago
Ministre d’État et les coordonnateurs d'urgences consulaires de Santiago
   
Photo de groupe
L’Ambassadeure du Canada, Sarah Fountain Smith; Mme. Olga Díaz, Directrice du centre parascolaire, récipiendaire de la contribution du Fonds canadien pour les initiatives locales; la ministre d’État pour les Amériques et Affaires consulaires, Diane Ablonczy 
   
Photo de groupe
La ministre d’État Ablonczy avec des investisseurs canadiens au Chili et l'Ambassadeure du Canada, Sarah Fountain Smith
   

Au cours de sa récente visite au Chili, la Ministre d’État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques et Affaires consulaires), Diane Ablonczy, a commémoré le 10e anniversaire de la Charte démocratique interaméricaine à Valparaíso, et a participé le jour suivant à un programme bilatéral d’une journée axé sur les relations Canada-Chili.

« Une décennie après sa signature à Lima, au Pérou, la Charte démocratique interaméricaine continue de se démarquer comme étant l’une des plus grandes réalisations collectives de l’hémisphère » a déclaré la Ministre d’État Ablonczy. « Notre engagement envers la Charte et ses principes est aussi fort aujourd’hui qu’il y a 10 ans.»

Suite à la conférence, la Ministre a participé à un programme d’une journée à Santiago prévoyant notamment une rencontre avec le Sous-Ministre des Affaires étrangères du Chili, Fernando Schmidt, et avec des communautés locales et le secteur privé.

La Ministre d'État a également visité un centre d’activités parascolaires à La Granja, une communauté à faible revenu, qui a reçu le financement du Fonds canadien pour les initiatives locales au Chili (FCIL). Grâce à la création d’un laboratoire informatique, le centre désire permettre à des enfants vulnérables de devenir des citoyens du numérique fonctionnels, augmentant ainsi leur chance d’accéder à des possibilités d'emploi et à des opportunités académiques. Ce centre rend non seulement l'apprentissage amusant, mais contribue également à favoriser la croissance de jeunes engagés et informés.

« Le Canada salue les efforts des communautés locales pour leur propre développement et est heureux d’appuyer des projets de développement dynamiques, particulièrement ceux visant à réduire les inégalités et qui réaffirment l’engagement continu du Canada à l’égard du Chili dans le domaine prioritaire de l’éducation », a déclaré la Ministre Ablonczy.

Le Canada est le troisième investisseur en importance au Chili, et les entreprises canadiennes se sont distinguées par la mise en œuvre de pratiques en matière de responsabilité sociale des entreprises qui, non seulement accordent aux entreprises canadiennes un véritable avantage compétitif, mais font en sorte que la présence du Canada au Chili soit positive, en favorisant ​​l'éducation, le développement durable et la responsabilité sociale. À Santiago, la Ministre Ablonczy a participé à une table ronde avec les principaux investisseurs canadiens actifs au Chili, afin de se familiariser avec les défis et opportunités auxquels les entreprises canadiennes en croissance devront faire face. Elle a également discuté les priorités commerciales du Gouvernement du Canada dans les Amériques, notamment l’expansion de l'investissement direct canadien à l’étranger et la diversification de ses relations commerciales.

L’une des façons pour les Canadiens qui résident à l’étranger de rester en contact les uns avec les autres est à travers le réseau des coordonnateurs consulaires. Durant sa visite, la Ministre Ablonczy a également profité de l’opportunité pour rencontrer les coordonnateurs consulaires de la région de Santiago et a exprimé sa gratitude pour leurs efforts. Ces bénévoles fournissent un service important aux Canadiens vivant au Chili, en aidant à partager les informations et les conseils de l'Ambassade aux Canadiens dans leur district. Leurs efforts sont particulièrement utiles dans les situations d'urgence comme lors du séisme et tsunami dévastateurs de février 2010.

La visite de la Ministre au Chili a été une excellente occasion d’approfondir les relations du Canada et du Chili à travers ses rencontres avec des autorités locales, des communautés et des gens d'affaires, et aussi, de réaffirmer l'engagement du Canada envers la OEA et la Charte démocratique interaméricaine (CDIA).

>> Pour en savoir plus sur les activités du Canada à l’étranger ou raconter les vôtres, Coup d’œil sur le monde vous attend!

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-11-29