Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

chile.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

English materials donated to Chilean school helped to reduce post-traumatic stress

It has been seven months since the devastating earthquake and subsequent tsunami ravaged central Chile and for many, the return to normalcy remains daunting. There is still much more work to be done to help those living in earthquake-affected areas fully recover from the damaging effects of this natural disaster. While this extensive process involves large-scale infrastructural reconstruction, it also depends heavily on smaller and seemingly more routine efforts, such as those undertaken by high school students from the town of Chanco, located approximately 60 kilometres from the earthquake’s epicentre.

Students perusing and reading the magazines
Students perusing and reading the magazines
   
Students proudly showing the English magazines
Students proudly showing the English magazines
   

The students and their English teacher prepared thank you signs
The students and their English teacher prepared thank you signs
   

In order to help students overcome some of the traumatic effects of the earthquake, Jorge Correa Rodriguez, an English Teacher at Federico Albert Faupp High School in Chanco, is using English classes as a means of easing post-earthquake stress. Many of his students come from low socio-economic backgrounds and cannot afford to buy English books, especially since many of their families lost so much during the earthquake. Professor Correa therefore solicited the support of the Embassy of Canada in Chile in his efforts to obtain English-language matferials.

“I am asking you for an educational kind of help. In this high school, we only have my old English books or the ones that the Chilean ministry has given us,” he said.

In response, the Canadian Embassy collected recent Canadian and international periodicals from among those available through its existing subscriptions to send to Professor Correa and his students. The students were ecstatic to receive their new materials and Mr. Correa was very grateful, stressing that the magazines were incredibly useful and would assist the students in their English lessons. Moreover, the window into Canada and the world could help to take their minds off of the stress they have been confronted with in the aftermath of the powerful earthquake.  

Student Luis Arellano found an article published in a Maclean's magazine about the earthquake in Haiti very interesting. "The magazine has articles on issues of interest to us. In particular, I really like one on the earthquake in Haiti, which has impressive pictures of the disaster that they have also lived through." Student Libia Campos enjoyed an article in a Canadian Geographic magazine about the prairies and the animals, and said that "the quality and colours of the photos are great." Both students recognized, however, that they will have "to study a lot more English" in order to be able to fully understand the content of the magazine articles. 

The Canadian Embassy now plans to continue recycling its periodicals for onward distribution to schools across the country: a simple gesture that will no doubt help to expose Chilean students to Canadian culture, while continuing to help meet their own educational aspirations.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2010-11-05

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

chili.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Du matériel en anglais donné à une école chilienne a aidé à réduire le stress consécutif à un traumatisme

Sept mois se sont écoulés déjà depuis le tremblement de terre dévastateur et le tsunami subséquent qui ont ravagé le centre du Chili. Pour de nombreuses personnes, le retour à la vie normale est toujours un défi de taille. Il reste beaucoup plus à faire pour aider les personnes habitant des régions touchées par le tremblement de terre à se remettre complètement du traumatisme de cette catastrophe naturelle. Bien que ce processus intense implique la reconstruction à grande échelle de l’infrastructure, il est également tributaire d’efforts de moins grande envergure qui peuvent sembler, a priori, plus routiniers, notamment ceux qu’ont consentis des étudiants de secondaire de la ville de Chanco, située à environ 60 kilomètres de l’épicentre du séisme.

Des étudiants parcourant et lisant les revues
Des étudiants parcourant et lisant les revues
   
Des étudiants montrant avec fierté les revues anglaises
Des étudiants montrant avec fierté les revues anglaises
   

Les étudiants et leur professeur d’anglais ont préparé des enseignes de remerciement
Les étudiants et leur professeur d’anglais ont préparé des enseignes de remerciement
   

Pour aider les étudiants à surmonter quelques-uns des effets traumatiques du séisme, Jorge Correa Rodriguez, professeur d’anglais à l’école secondaire Federico Albert Faupp à Chanco, se sert de cours d’anglais pour aider à réduire le stress consécutif au séisme. Nombre de ses étudiants sont issus de milieux socio-économiques défavorisés et ne peuvent pas se permettre d’acheter des livres en anglais, surtout parce qu’une grande partie des familles ont tant perdu de leurs biens pendant le séisme. Le professeur Correa a donc demandé l’aide de l’ambassade du Canada au Chili afin d’obtenir du matériel en anglais.

« Je vous demande une aide éducative en quelque sorte. Dans cette école secondaire, nous ne disposons que de mes vieux livres d’école ou de ceux que le ministère chilien nous a fournis », a-t-il indiqué.

Pour donner suite à cette demande, l’ambassade du Canada a recueilli des périodiques canadiens et internationaux de parution récente parmi ses abonnements et les a acheminés au professeur Correa et à ses étudiants. Les étudiants étaient plus que ravis de recevoir le nouveau matériel, et M. Correa était très reconnaissant. Il a souligné que les revues étaient incroyablement utiles et aideraient les étudiants à faire leurs leçons d’anglais. De plus, les aperçus sur le Canada et le monde pourraient les aider à oublier un peu le stress qu’ils ont ressenti dans la période qui a suivi le puissant séisme.

Un des étudiants, Luis Arellano, a trouvé fort intéressant un article publié dans un numéro de la revue Maclean's au sujet du séisme en Haïti. « La revue compte des articles sur des questions d’intérêt pour nous. J’ai particulièrement aimé un des articles sur le tremblement de terre en Haïti. On y retrouve des images impressionnantes de la catastrophe qu’ils ont subie eux aussi ». Dans un numéro de la revue Canadian Geographic, l’étudiante Libia Campos a bien aimé un article au sujet des prairies et des animaux. Selon elle, « la qualité et les couleurs des images étaient fantastiques ». Les deux élèves ont toutefois admis qu’ils devront étudier de bien plus près l’anglais « pour saisir complètement le contenu des articles de la revue ».

L’ambassade du Canada prévoit maintenant de continuer de recycler ses périodiques pour en assurer la distribution aux écoles du pays : un simple geste qui aidera sans doute à exposer les étudiants chiliens à la culture canadienne, tout en continuant d’aider à répondre à leurs propres aspirations en matière d’enseignement.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2010-11-04