Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

chile.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

New Challenges for a Democratic Society: Chilean and Canadian Experiences

Bookmark and Share

At the end of March, Canada and Chile came together to organize a conference on contemporary human rights issues focussing on three main themes: indigenous issues, persons with disabilities and immigration policies. 

Ambassador Sarah Fountain Smith and the three Canadian speakers, Elisabeth Patterson Sébastien Grammond, Edgar-André Montigny
Ambassador Sarah Fountain Smith and the three Canadian speakers, Elisabeth Patterson Sébastien Grammond, Edgar-André Montigny
 
Emilio Cheyre Director CEIUC, Sarah Fountain Smith, Ambassador of Canada in Chile; Ignacio Sanchez, Rector Universidad Católica, Arturo Yrarrázaval, Dean Faculty of Law UC; José Zalaquett, Center of Human Rights Universidad de Chile.
Emilio Cheyre Director CEIUC, Sarah Fountain Smith, Ambassador of Canada in Chile; Ignacio Sanchez, Rector Universidad Católica, Arturo Yrarrázaval, Dean Faculty of Law UC; José Zalaquett, Center of Human Rights Universidad de Chile.
 
Participants at the conference.
Participants at the conference.
 

Canada is recognized for having expertise in these three fields and both countries welcomed the opportunity to share best practices and lessons learned which may help inform future policies in these areas.

The Canadian Ambassador to Chile, Sarah Fountain Smith, opened the conference by providing some background to the development of human rights issues in Canada:

“Both Canada and Chile have made significant progress and have overcome great challenges in the field of human rights and both countries remain committed to further improving their policies and practices in this area. We believe that Canada and Chile have much to learn from each other’s experiences.”

The presentations throughout the day sparked a valuable exchange of dialogue and ideas on topics ranging from the rights of indigenous people in Canada and the collection and transfer of indigenous knowledge to the integration of people with disabilities and the immigration challenges that both nations face moving forward.

Approximately 120 people attended the conference. The audience included representatives from Chile’s main political parties, United Nations representatives, Chilean representatives of the International Organization for Migration, academics and students in the field of human rights, and representatives from various Embassies in Chile.

Representatives from several Chilean government departments also attended, including Education, Foreign Affairs and Justice. The President of the Council for Transparency in Chile, Raúl Ferrada and the new Rector of Universidad Católica de Chile, Ignacio Sánchez, were also present.

This successful seminar was organized by the International Studies Centre at the Catholic University of Chile with funds received from the Government of Canada’s “Understanding Canada Program.”

The university is expected to release a publication outlining the main lessons learned at the conference and future policy recommendations for Chile. Papers written by some of the experts will also be included.

Footer

Date Modified:
2010-07-22

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

chili.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Nouveaux défis pour une société démocratique : les cas du Chili et du Canada

Bookmark and Share

À la fin de mars, des représentants du Canada et du Chili ont organisé une conférence sur les enjeux contemporains associés aux droits de la personne, laquelle a porté sur trois thèmes principaux : les dossiers autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les politiques sur l’immigration.

L’ambassadrice Sarah Fountain Smith et les trois orateurs canadiens, Elisabeth Patterson, Sébastien Grammond et Edgar­André Montigny.
L’ambassadrice Sarah Fountain Smith et les trois orateurs canadiens, Elisabeth Patterson, Sébastien Grammond et Edgar­André Montigny.
 
Le directeur du CEIUC, Emilio Cheyre, l’ambassadrice du Canada au Chili; Sarah Fountain Smith, le recteur de l’Université catholique, Ignacio Sanchez, le doyen de la Faculté de droit de l’Université, Arturo Yrarrázaval, et José Zalaquett du Centre des droits de la personne de l’Université.
Le directeur du CEIUC, Emilio Cheyre, l’ambassadrice du Canada au Chili; Sarah Fountain Smith, le recteur de l’Université catholique, Ignacio Sanchez, le doyen de la Faculté de droit de l’Université, Arturo Yrarrázaval, et José Zalaquett du Centre des droits de la personne de l’Université.
 
Participants de la conférence.
Participants de la conférence.
 

Le Canada est reconnu comme ayant une expertise dans ces trois domaines. De même, les deux pays ont profité de l’occasion pour partager des pratiques exemplaires et des leçons apprises qui pourraient aider à documenter les politiques futures dans ces domaines.

L’ambassadrice du Canada au Chili, Sarah Fountain Smith, a ouvert la conférence en présentant des éléments de contexte relatifs à l’évolution des enjeux liés aux droits de la personne au Canada :

« Le Canada et le Chili ont réalisé des progrès importants et ont surmonté de grands défis dans le domaine des droits de la personne, et les deux pays conservent leur engagement à améliorer davantage leurs politiques et leurs pratiques dans ce domaine. Nous croyons que le Canada et le Chili ont beaucoup à apprendre de leurs expériences mutuelles. »

Les présentations au cours de la journée ont fait surgir un dialogue et un échange d’idées précieux sur des sujets tels les droits des Autochtones au Canada, la collecte et le transfert des connaissances autochtones, l’intégration des personnes handicapées et les défis de l’avenir au chapitre de l’immigration auxquels les deux pays sont confrontés.

Quelque 120 personnes ont assisté à la conférence. Le public comprenait des représentants des principaux partis politiques du Chili, des représentants des Nations Unies, des représentants chiliens de l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations, des universitaires et des étudiants dans le domaine des droits de la personne ainsi que des représentants de diverses ambassades au Chili.

De même, des représentants de plusieurs ministères gouvernementaux chiliens ont participé, notamment les ministères de l’Éducation, des Affaires étrangères et de la Justice. Le président du Conseil chilien pour la transparence, Raúl Ferrada, et le nouveau recteur de l’Université catholique du Chili, Ignacio Sánchez, étaient également présents.

Cette conférence, qui a été une réussite, a été organisée par le Centre d’études internationales de l’Université catholique du Chili (CEIUC) grâce aux fonds du programme Comprendre le Canada du gouvernement du Canada.

L’Université devrait diffuser une publication soulignant les principales leçons apprises lors de la conférence et les recommandations en matière de politiques futures pour le Chili. Les documents préparés par certains des spécialistes seront aussi inclus.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2010-07-22