Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

chile.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Creating a new generation of leaders through scholarship and exchange programs

Group photo - Scholarship recipients from Inacap technical institute.
Scholarship recipients from Inacap technical institute. (From left to right):
Augusto Avendaño, Nicolás Duran, Carolina Saiz, Director of International Relations, José Joaquín Valenzuela, Ambassador Fountain Smith, Angie Bascur, and Deputy Minister Rosenberg.
 

This year, over 100 Chileans received grants and scholarships to study or conduct research in Canada.

To celebrate the strong and growing relationship that Canada and Chile share in the field of education, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Morris Rosenberg hosted a ceremony during his visit to Chile.

“These scholarships will help create a new generation of Chilean leaders who will have a Canadian experience. The exchanges will also contribute to the building of more ties between institutions in Canada and Chile.”  - Deputy Minister Rosenberg

For the second consecutive year, the Embassy of Canada in Chile organized this event to celebrate bilateral education links and to promote Canada as a study destination of excellence.

Chilean students and academics who were awarded grants or scholarships to study or conduct research in Canada this year were presented with certificates of recognition by Deputy Minister Rosenberg and Ambassador Sarah Fountain Smith. The students’ home universities or technical institutes were also recognized.

Student Manuel Campos
Testimonial from student Manuel Campos
   
Group photo
Ambassador Fountain Smith, Professor Bernardita Blasco and Deputy Minister Rosenberg
   
Group photo
Amparo Bravo from the Catholic University; Camila Cortez, Executive Secretary of BecasChile; Ambassador Fountain Smith; and Deputy Minister Rosenberg
   

The Deputy Minister remarked on the tremendous impact of these exchanges stating, “Put plainly, through academic programs and exchanges, we learn together, from one another. We share expertise and experience. And we build the knowledge and the networks that foster innovation and promote progress.”

This year, these students received grants and scholarships through such programs as the Canada-Chile Leadership Exchange Program, the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program, and the Canada-Chile Equal Opportunities Scholarship.

The ceremony was attended by more than 60 guests, including representatives from the Chilean government, NGOs, universities and technical institutes. Four former scholarship recipients shared their stories about studying in Canada and the impact that this experience has had on their personal and academic growth.

Scholarship recipient Manuel Campos, who spent a semester at York University, was not only impressed by the multicultural and modern city of Toronto, but also by the warm welcome he received from Canadians. He explained that he was also struck by the level of academic excellence at his Canadian host university.  “The professionalism I saw there was remarkable. Everybody followed a defined purpose in their studies and this is a lesson I will never forget.”

Academics who received Canadian Studies awards this year were also presented with certificates of recognition.  For example, Bernardita Blasco, professor in the Faculty of Law and Economics at Universidad Central, won a Faculty Research Program scholarship to conduct research about Canadian foreign policy as a foundation for Canadian trade policy in Latin America.

Deputy Minister Rosenberg also took this opportunity to thank the 11 Chilean institutions and NGOs that have invited Canadian experts to travel to Chile this year under the Understanding Canada Program.

The experts participated in seminars and conferences in a wide range of areas of mutual interest, such as lung cancer detection, sustainable green building, human rights, education as an integral element of development, and immigration, among others.

This moving and inspirational ceremony allowed those in attendance to witness first hand the tremendous benefits of educational scholarship and exchange programs between Canada and Chile, and to celebrate the diversity and success of our relationship in this area.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-01-30

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

chili.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
Bookmark and Share

Créer une nouvelle génération de leaders grâce à des programmes de bourses d’études et d’échanges

Photo de groupe - Des boursiers de l’institut technique Inacap
Des boursiers de l’institut technique Inacap (De gauche à droite) :
Augusto Avendaño, Nicolás Duran, Carolina Saiz, le directeur des Relations internationales,
José Joaquín Valenzuela, l’ambassadrice Fountain Smith, Angie Bascur et le sous-ministre Rosenberg.
 

Cette année, plus de 100 Chiliens ont reçu des subventions et des bourses pour étudier ou faire de la recherche au Canada.

Pour célébrer l’étroite relation grandissante entre le Canada et le Chili dans le domaine de l’éducation, le sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères, Morris Rosenberg, a animé une cérémonie pendant sa visite au Chili.

« Ces bourses d’études aideront à créer une nouvelle génération de leaders chiliens qui auront de l’expérience canadienne. Les échanges contribueront également à créer d’autres liens entre les institutions au Canada et au Chili ».  - Sous-ministre Rosenberg

Pour une deuxième année d’affilée, l’Ambassade du Canada au Chili organise cet événement afin de souligner les liens bilatéraux en matière d’éducation et de promouvoir le Canada comme destination d’excellence où faire ses études.

Les étudiants et les universitaires chiliens bénéficiaires de subventions ou de bourses pour étudier ou faire de la recherche au Canada cette année ont reçu des certificats de mérite du sous-ministre Rosenberg et de l’ambassadrice Sarah Fountain Smith. On a également souligné les universités ou les instituts techniques des étudiants dans leur pays.

L’étudiant Manuel Campos
Témoignage de l’étudiant Manuel Campos
   
Photo de groupe
L’ambassadrice Fountain Smith, la professeure Bernardita Blasco et le sous-ministre Rosenberg
   
Photo de groupe
Amparo Bravo de la Catholic University; Camila Cortez, secrétaire exécutive de BecasChile; l’ambassadrice Fountain Smith et le sous-ministre Rosenberg
   

Le sous-ministre a mentionné les effets marqués qu’ont ces échanges : « simplement dit, grâce aux programmes universitaires et aux programmes d’échanges, nous apprenons ensemble, des uns et des autres. Nous partageons des connaissances spécialisées et notre expérience. Et nous créons les connaissances et les réseaux qui favorisent l’innovation et les progrès. »

Cette année, ces étudiants ont obtenu des subventions et des bourses d’études dans le cadre de programmes tels que le programme des Bourses d'échange (leadership) Canada-Chili, le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques et le Programme de bourses d'études Canada-Chili pour l'égalité des chances.

Plus de 60 invités étaient présents à la cérémonie, y compris des représentants du gouvernement du Chili, des ONG, des universités et des instituts techniques.  Quatre anciens boursiers ont partagé des récits de leurs études au Canada et décrit en quoi cette expérience avait contribué à leur croissance personnelle et universitaire.

Le boursier Manuel Campos, qui a passé un trimestre à l’Université York, était non seulement impressionné par la ville multiculturelle et moderne de Toronto, mais également de l’accueil chaleureux que lui ont réservé les Canadiens. Il a indiqué avoir été frappé par le degré d’excellence en matière d’études dans son université d’accueil au Canada.  « Le degré de professionnalisme y était remarquable. Tout le monde suivait un objectif établi dans ses études. C’est une leçon que je n’oublierai jamais ».

On a également remis des certificats de mérite aux universitaires qui ont reçu des bourses d’études canadiennes cette année.  Par exemple,Bernardita Blasco, professeure à la Faculté du droit et d’économie à la Universidad Central, a obtenu une Bourse de recherche en études canadiennes à l’intention des professeurs qui lui permettra d’effectuer de la recherche sur les politiques étrangères canadiennes en tant que fondement aux politiques commerciales canadiennes en Amérique latine.

Le sous-ministre Rosenberg a également profité de l’occasion pour remercier les 11 établissements et ONG chiliens qui ont invité des experts canadiens à se rendre au Chili cette année dans le cadre du programme Comprendre le Canada.

Les experts ont participé à des séminaires et à des conférences portant sur un large éventail de sujets d’intérêt commun, notamment le dépistage du cancer des poumons, les constructions vertes durables, les droits de la personne, l’éducation comme élément essentiel du développement et l’immigration.

Cette cérémonie touchante et inspirante a permis aux personnes en présence de constater directement les énormes avantages des programmes de bourses d’études et d’échanges entre le Canada et le Chili et de célébrer la diversité et la réussite de notre relation dans ce domaine.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-02-01