Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

chile.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Strong Canadian participation at Aqua sur 2012


María Eugenia Wagner, President of SalmonChile; Pablo Galilea, Undersecretary of Fisheries and Aquaculture; Claire Dansereau, Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada; Patricia Fuller, Ambassador of Canada; Víctor Hugo Puchi, Chairman of Empresas AquaChile and Cecilia Reyes in the Canadian pavilion of Aqua Sur 2012.
   

The Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada Claire Dansereau led the Canadian delegation at the VII international trade show Aqua Sur 2012, held in Puerto Montt, Chile October 9-13. The delegation was made up of 50 representatives from both the public and private sectors and from seven Canadian provinces. Canadian academics and other experts in the field also participated in the Aqua Sur conference where they showcased their expertise in technical and scientific areas such as fish epidemiology, genomics and biosecurity.

Aqua Sur is the largest and most important meeting place for the aquaculture industry in the Southern Hemisphere. Sister-fair to Aqua Nor, held in Trondheim, Norway, Aqua Sur is held on alternate years in Puerto Montt - the heart of the Chilean aquaculture industry. With exhibitors from over 40 countries representing some 1000 companies, this year’s trade show attracted 19,100 visitors over the course of four days.

The Embassy of Canada worked, in close collaboration through the IBDA partnership (International Business Development Agreement), with the Atlantic provincial governments, as well as with DFO (Fisheries and Oceans Canada) and EDC (Export Development Canada). This team spearheaded a Canadian-branded pavilion, hosted a highly successful networking event, developed a comprehensive programme of meetings and on-site visits and featured Canada’s capabilities to potential buyers and contacts through a promotional directory.

This internationally renowned aquaculture event provided a unique opportunity to showcase Canada’s expertise, to explore opportunities within the Chilean aquaculture market and to establish, renew and strengthen contacts within this industry sector. 

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-24

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

chili.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Participation significative du Canada à Aqua sur 2012


María Eugenia Wagner, Présidente de SalmonChile; Pablo Galilea, Sous-secrétaire des Pêches et de l'Aquaculture; Claire Dansereau, Sous-ministre de Pêches et Océans Canada; Patricia Fuller, Ambassadeure du Canada; Víctor Hugo Puchi, Président d'Empresas AquaChile et Cecilia Reyes au pavillon du Canada d'Aqua Sur 2012.
   


La sous-ministre de Pêches et Océans Canada, Claire Dansereau, a dirigé la délégation canadienne à la VII foire internationale Aqua Sur 2012, qui s’est tenue à Puerto Montt au Chili du 9 au 13 octobre dernier. La délégation était composée de 50 représentants des secteurs public et privé provenant de sept provinces canadiennes.  Des représentants du monde académique et autres experts ont également participé à la conférence Aqua Sur permettant ainsi de faire davantage connaître l’expertise canadienne dans les champs techniques et scientifiques tels que l’épidémiologie et la génomique du poisson, et la biosécurité.

Aqua Sur, est le plus important lieu de rencontre et d’échange pour l’industrie aquacole de l’Hémisphère Sud. Aqua Sur est organisé tous les deux ans à Puerto Montt, au cœur même de l’industrie aquacole chilienne, en alternance avec Aqua Nor qui se tient à Trondheim, Norvège.  La foire commerciale Aqua Sur a reçu cette année des exposants de plus de 40 pays, représentant quelque 1000 entreprises, et a attiré 19 100 visiteurs au cours des quatre jours de l’évènement.

L’Ambassade du Canada a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec les gouvernements des provinces de l‘Atlantique grâce au partenariat EPCE (Entente sur la promotion du commerce extérieur), ainsi qu’avec le MPO (Pêches et Océans Canada) et l’EDC (Exportation et développement Canada). Cette équipe a aménagé un pavillon tout canadien, était l’hôte d’une réception-réseautage très réussie, a élaboré un vaste programme de réunions et de visites sur le terrain, et a mis en valeur l’expertise du Canada aux acheteurs potentiels et autres contacts grâce à la publication d’un répertoire promotionnel.

Cet événement aquacole de renommée internationale a permis au Canada d’accroître sa visibilité et de mieux faire connaître son expertise et savoir-faire dans le domaine, d’explorer les possibilités d’affaires du marché aquacole chilien, et d’établir, renouer et consolider les contacts de ce secteur industriel.

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-24