Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

chile.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Prime Minister Harper visits Chile

Chile’s Presidential  Palace
Chile’s Presidential Palace
   
Ms. Cecilia Morel; President of the Republic of Chile, Sebastián Piñera; Prime Minister Stephen Harper; Ms. Laureen Harper
Ms. Cecilia Morel; President of the Republic of Chile, Sebastián Piñera; Prime Minister Stephen Harper; Ms. Laureen Harper
   
The two leaders issued a Joint Statement
The two leaders issued a Joint Statement
   

On April 16, the Honourable Prime Minister Stephen Harper made his second official visit to Chile.

Prime Minister Harper and President Piñera issued a joint statement detailing the key outcomes of this important visit, including expansion and modernization of the Free Trade Agreement on its 15th anniversary, a Memorandum of Understanding on defence cooperation, and Chilean support for Canada joining the Trans Pacific Partnership negotiations.

The Prime Minister’s return to Chile, five years after he launched the Americas Strategy in Santiago, conveys a clear message that the hemisphere remains a foreign policy priority for Canada and that Chile continues to be a strategic partner in pursuing our objectives in the Americas. At that time, Canada and Chile also signed the Canada Chile Partnership Framework Agreement, which has served as a roadmap for the expansion and deepening of the relationship in priority sectors. Both countries are proud of the tremendous progress made under this framework since 2007.


Canada-Chile Joint Statement
Santiago, Chile - April 16, 2012

Following the cordial invitation from His Excellency the President of the Republic of Chile, don Sebastián Piñera Echenique, the Prime Minister of Canada, the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, made an official visit to Chile on April 16, 2012.

In their meeting, the Leaders recalled that, during Prime Minister Harper’s visit to Chile five years ago, the Canada-Chile Partnership Framework Agreement was signed and Canada’s Strategy for the Americas was launched, reaffirming Canada's commitment to this region. The Leaders were pleased to acknowledge that, on this, the fifteenth anniversary of the Free Trade Agreement (FTA) between Chile and Canada, the bilateral relationship has intensified and diversified. This has been facilitated by a friendship based on common values and principles, and a shared view of diverse global and hemispheric issues, such as the commitment to democracy, human rights, the Rule of Law and open economies, among others.

Both the President and the Prime Minister underscored the value of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (FTA), the first comprehensive FTA signed by Chile with another country, which has generated a major expansion of bilateral trade and investment. Two-way trade has increased almost fourfold since the Free Trade Agreement came into force in 1997.  

To enhance the benefits of trade liberalisation, the Leaders witnessed the signing of an Agreement modernizing the FTA, adding a chapter on financial services and updating the chapters on dispute settlement, customs procedures and government procurement. The Leaders also agreed to explore the possibility of broadening the Agreement, including the feasibility of negotiating a Technical Barriers to Trade Chapter. Additionally, both Parties agreed to finalize remaining steps to open their markets to beef and beef products as soon as possible.

They noted that Canada has become the largest direct investor in Chile in the mining sector and the third-largest investor overall, with a stock of Canadian investment in Chile valued at $13.3 billion at the end of 2010. This demonstrates the confidence of the Canadian private sector in the expansion of Chile, which has resulted in the creation of jobs and new economic growth, as well as the promotion of best practices in, and a strengthened concept of, corporate social responsibility.

The Leaders welcomed that Canadian investment has diversified beyond mining into a number of new sectors including utilities, energy, financial services, chemicals, infrastructure, and engineering services. Both Leaders also welcomed the growing trend of Chilean investment in Canada.

In reaffirming the importance of the Pacific Rim for both countries, the President and Prime Minister committed to strengthening their cooperation in APEC and related fora. Similarly, they encouraged exchanges of views on the challenges and opportunities offered in that region. In this context, Prime Minister Harper expressed his appreciation for the support provided by Chile for Canada’s participation in the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) negotiations.

The Leaders acknowledged the long-standing collaboration between the two countries in science and technology and noted the role of the Joint Implementation Committee for the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on Cooperation in Science, Technology and Innovation in promoting even deeper linkages. The Joint Committee has prioritized diverse initiatives in the areas of public health, aquaculture and biofuels, in addition to other areas of collaboration listed in the MOU.

The Leaders agreed on the importance of innovation and entrepreneurship as drivers of increased productivity and competitiveness and encouraged partnerships between national programs designed to stimulate entrepreneurship and innovation. They also pledged to continue promoting cooperation between universities/colleges/institutes and the creation of exchange agreements and joint research programs.

The President and the Prime Minister underscored the value of student exchanges through programs that encourage mutual understanding and create people-to-people linkages that will endure into the future. They encouraged the participation of Canadians in English teaching programs in Chile, such as the "English Opens Doors" program, including the participation of second-generation Chilean Canadians.

The Leaders highlighted the success of the Memorandum of Understanding on youth mobility, which, since its signing in 2008, has allowed a steady flow of young Chileans and Canadians to travel and work in each other’s country and develop a better understanding of each other’s culture.

To promote the support and development of indigenous communities, Prime Minister Harper was pleased to announce Canada’s contribution of $3.8 million over five years to the Wekimum Rural Training Centre, which will provide young people in Chiloé, Chile, with valuable training opportunities. On climate change, Prime Minister Harper announced Canada’s commitment of $450,000 to the restoration of the pristine wilderness of Chile’s Torres del Paine National Park, which was ravaged by wildfires in December 2011.

The Leaders noted with satisfaction the increasing development of ties in new priority areas. In the field of defence, the Leaders witnessed the signing by accompanying ministers of a Memorandum of Understanding on Defence Cooperation between the Ministry of Defence of the Republic of Chile and the Department of National Defence of Canada. The Leaders noted their shared concerns about the importance to the Hemisphere of stability and security in Central America, the fight against transnational organized crime, terrorism, as well as the global problem of drugs and other criminality.

They highlighted their shared belief that security is an essential element for the development of any country. In this context, they noted with appreciation the ongoing collaboration between Chilean and Canadian officials to share best practices and experiences in such areas as crime prevention, police management, rehabilitation and reintegration of offenders.

The President and Prime Minister expressed their appreciation of ongoing dialogue between both governments, as expressed in regular consultations at the political and planning level, as well as common views and support in multilateral fora. In regional terms, the Leaders stressed the role they assign to the OAS as the principal hemispheric forum, and the importance of strengthening the Inter-American Democratic Charter. They agreed that Chile’s invitation this year to participate in the deliberations of the G-20 presented an excellent opportunity to strengthen the dialogue on global matters.

The Leaders shared the view that the mature and comprehensive relationship that has been developed between Chile and Canada has allowed both states to benefit from increased engagement in all areas of bilateral cooperation, and recognized the positive role played by the significant Chilean community living in Canada in this regard. Therefore, the Leaders expressed their determination to continue to work towards modernized approaches that facilitate the flow of citizens between both countries.

Prime Minister Stephen Harper thanked President Sebastián Piñera for the warm reception and kind hospitality received during his stay in Chile, and reiterated the invitation for President Piñera to visit Canada at a mutually convenient time.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-07-04

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

chili.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le Premier ministre Harper visite le Chili

Le Palais présidentiel du Chili
Le Palais présidentiel du Chili
   
Madame Cecilia Morel; le Président de la République du Chili, Sebastián Piñera; le Premier Ministre Stephen Harper; Madame Laureen Harper
Madame Cecilia Morel; le Président de la République du Chili, Sebastián Piñera; le Premier Ministre Stephen Harper; Madame Laureen Harper
   
Les deux leaders ont émis une déclaration conjointe
Les deux leaders ont émis une déclaration conjointe
   

Le 16 avril dernier,  l'honorable Premier ministre Stephen Harper a réalisé sa deuxième visite officielle au Chili.

Une déclaration conjointe détaillant les principaux résultats de cette importante visite a été émise par le Premier ministre Harper et le Président Piñera. Celle-ci fait état de l'expansion et de la modernisation de l'Accord de libre-échange dans le cadre de son 15e anniversaire, d’un protocole d'entente sur la coopération en matière de défense et de l’appui du Chili pour la participation du Canada aux négociations de partenariat trans-pacifique.

Cinq ans après avoir lancé à Santiago l’engagement du Canada dans les Amériques, le retour du Premier ministre au Chili transmet le message sans équivoque que l'hémisphère demeure une priorité dans le cadre de la politique étrangère du Canada et que le Chili continue à être un partenaire stratégique dans la poursuite de nos objectifs hémisphériques.  Nous rappelons qu’à cette époque, le Cadre de partenariat entre le Canada et le Chili a été signé, et celui-ci a servi de feuille de route pour l'expansion et l'approfondissement de notre relation dans des secteurs prioritaires. Les deux pays sont fiers des progrès considérables réalisés dans le cadre de cet accord depuis 2007.


Déclaration conjointe Canada-Chili

Santiago, Chili – le 16 avril, 2012

À la suite de la cordiale invitation de Son Excellence le président de la République du Chili, Don Sebastián Piñera Echenique, le premier ministre du Canada, le très honorable Stephen Harper, a effectué une visite officielle au Chili le 16 avril 2012.

Lors de leur rencontre, les deux dirigeants ont rappelé que, dans le cadre de la visite du premier ministre Harper au Chili cinq ans plus tôt, le Cadre de partenariat  entre le Canada et le Chili avait été signé et que la Stratégie du Canada pour les Amériques avait été lancée, réaffirmant l’engagement du Canada dans cette région. Les dirigeants ont eu le plaisir de saluer l’intensification et la diversification des relations bilatérales à cet égard, dans le cadre du quinzième anniversaire de la conclusion de l’Accord de libre-échange (ALE) entre le Canada et le Chili. Ces liens étroits ont été possibles grâce à une amitié reposant sur des valeurs et des principes qu’ils partagent ainsi qu’une vision commune des divers enjeux mondiaux et de l’hémisphère, entre autres l’engagement à l’égard de la démocratie, des droits de la personne, de la primauté du droit et des économies ouvertes.

Le président et le premier ministre ont tous deux souligné l’importance de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili (ALECC), qui représente le premier ALE complet signé par le Chili avec un autre pays. Il a permis l’accroissement significatif du commerce et de l’investissement bilatéraux. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALE en 1997, les échanges commerciaux ont presque quadruplés.

En vue d’accroître les avantages qu’apporte la libéralisation du commerce, les dirigeants ont assisté à la signature d’un accord visant la modernisation de l’ALE. Un chapitre sur les services financiers y a été ajouté et les chapitres sur le règlement des différends, les procédures douanières et les marchés publics ont été mis à jour. Les dirigeants ont convenu d’explorer la possibilité d’élargir l’Accord, y compris la faisabilité de négocier un chapitre portant sur les obstacles techniques au commerce. De plus, ils ont convenus de finaliser les dernières étapes afin d’ouvrir leurs marchés respectifs au bœuf et produits du bœuf dans les meilleurs délais.

Les dirigeants ont noté que le Canada est maintenant le plus important investisseur direct au Chili dans le secteur minier et le troisième investisseur mondial dans ce pays. Le stock de l’investissement canadien au Chili était évalué à 13,3 milliards de dollars à la fin de 2010. Le secteur privé canadien a de toute évidence confiance dans le développement du Chili, ce qui a entraîné la création d’emplois et une nouvelle croissance économique, ainsi que la promotion des pratiques exemplaires en matière de responsabilité sociale des entreprises et le renforcement de ce concept.

Les dirigeants ont accueilli favorablement le fait que l’investissement canadien s’est diversifié au-delà du secteur minier, notamment dans de nombreux nouveaux secteurs comme les services publics, l’énergie, les services financiers, les produits chimiques, l’infrastructure et les services d’ingénierie. Les dirigeants sont également favorables à la tendance à la hausse des investissements chiliens au Canada.

En réaffirmant l’importance des pays riverains du Pacifique pour les deux pays, le Président et le Premier ministre ont résolu de renforcer leur coopération au sein de l’APEC et dans d’autres instances de ce type. De façon similaire, ils ont encouragé les échanges de points de vue concernant les défis et les opportunités offertes dans cette région. Dans ce contexte, le Premier ministre Harper a manifesté son appréciation de l’appui offert par le Chili en ce qui concerne la participation du Canada aux négociations du Partenariat transpacifique (PTP).

Les dirigeants ont salué la collaboration de longue date qu’entretiennent les deux pays dans le domaine des sciences et de la technologie et ont noté le rôle joué par le Comité conjoint de mise en œuvre du protocole d’entente (PE) sur la coopération en sciences, technologie et innovation pour promouvoir des relations encore plus étroites. Le Comité conjoint a établi comme étant prioritaires diverses initiatives dans les secteurs de la santé publique, de l’aquaculture et des biocarburants, en plus des autres domaines de collaboration énumérés dans le PE.

Les dirigeants ont convenu de l’importance de l’innovation et de l’entrepreneuriat comme moteurs pour accroître la productivité et la compétitivité ainsi que pour encourager l’établissement de partenariats entre les programmes nationaux, lesquels ont été mis en place pour stimuler l’entrepreneuriat et l’innovation. Ils se sont également engagés à poursuivre la promotion de la collaboration entre universités / collèges / instituts ainsi que la conclusion d’ententes d’échanges et la création de programmes de recherche conjoints.

Le Président et le Premier ministre ont souligné l’importance d’échanges d’étudiants par l’entremise de programmes qui favorisent une compréhension commune et créent des liens personnels qui se solidifieront avec les années. Les dirigeants encouragent la participation des Canadiens à des programmes d’enseignement de l’anglais au Chili, comme le programme « English Opens Doors », ainsi que la participation de Canadiens d’origine chilienne de deuxième génération.

Les dirigeants ont mis en évidence le succès du protocole d’entente sur la mobilité des jeunes, lequel, depuis sa signature en 2008, a permis un mouvement constant de jeunes Chiliens et Canadiens de voyager et travailler dans l’un et l’autre pays et d’obtenir une meilleure compréhension de la culture de l’autre pays.

En vue de promouvoir l’appui des communautés autochtones et leur développement, le Premier ministre Harper a eu le plaisir d’annoncer une contribution de 3,8 millions de dollars sur une période de cinq ans de la part du Canada au Centre de formation rurale Wekimum, lequel offrira aux jeunes de Chiloé, au Chili, de précieuses possibilités de formation. En ce qui a trait aux changements climatiques, le Premier ministre Harper a annoncé l’engagement du Canada à la hauteur de 450 000 $ pour la restauration de la nature sauvage du parc national Torres del Paine, au Chili, lequel a été ravagé par les flammes en décembre 2011.

Les dirigeants ont noté avec satisfaction un accroissement des liens établis dans de nouveaux secteurs prioritaires. Dans le domaine de la défense, ils ont assisté à la signature, par des ministres qui les accompagnent, d’un protocole d’entente sur la coopération en matière de défense entre le ministère de la Défense de la République du Chili et le ministère de la Défense nationale du Canada. Les dirigeants ont partagé leurs préoccupations concernant l’importance pour l’hémisphère de la stabilité et de la sécurité en Amérique centrale, de la lutte contre le crime organisé et le terrorisme transnational ainsi que du problème  global de la  drogue et des autres types de criminalité.

Ils ont souligné leur opinion commune concernant le fait que la sécurité est un élément essentiel du développement d’un pays. Dans ce contexte, ils ont salué la collaboration continue qui existe entre les représentants chiliens et canadiens dans la mise en commun des pratiques exemplaires et des expériences dans des secteurs comme la prévention du crime, l’administration policière ainsi que la réhabilitation et la réintégration des délinquants.

Le Président et le Premier ministre ont manifesté leur satisfaction du dialogue en cours entre les deux gouvernements, tel qu’exprimé dans le cadre de consultations régulières au niveau politique et de la planification, ainsi que d’une vision et d’un appui communs au sein des instances multilatérales. Sur le plan régional, les dirigeants ont insisté sur le rôle attribué à l’OEA comme principale tribune de l’hémisphère et sur l’importance d’approfondir la Charte démocratique interaméricaine. Ils ont convenu que l’invitation de cette année du Chili pour participer aux délibérations du G-20 était une excellente idée pour renforcer le dialogue sur les enjeux mondiaux.

Les dirigeants ont convenu que la maturité et l’étendue des relations entre le Chili et le Canada leur ont permis de tirer parti d’une participation accrue dans tous les secteurs de coopération bilatérale, et ils ont reconnu le rôle positif joué à cet égard par la grande communauté chilienne qui vit au Canada. Par conséquent, les dirigeants ont exprimé leur détermination à continuer d’œuvrer à la modernisation des méthodes qui facilitent la mobilité des citoyens entre les deux pays.

Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper a remercié le président Sebastián Piñera pour l’accueil chaleureux et la grande hospitalité qu’il a reçus lors de son séjour au Chili, et a réitéré son invitation au président Piñera à visiter le Canada à un moment qui conviendra aux deux parties.

  

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-07-04