Canada supports the seminar “Discrimination: Obstacle to Chile’s Development”


Oscar Kleinkopf, Vice-President of the Chile-Israel Council, and Dr. Charles Asher Small.


David Feuerstein, Holocaust survivor, shaking hands with the First Secretary of the Embassy of Israel, in the presence or representatives from the Ministry of External Relations of Chile, the Embassy of Canada, and the Chile-Israel Council.


Dr. Charles Asher Small giving his keynote speech.


The Ambassador of Canada, Patricia Fuller, during the closing ceremony.

On October 28, 2013, the Embassy of Canada contributed, with its Post Initiative Fund, to the realization of the seminar “Discrimination: Obstacle to Chile’s Development” organized by the Chile-Israel Council with the support of the Chilean Senate.

Canadian expert Charles Asher Small, Director of the Institute for the Study of Global Antisemitism and Policy (ISGAP) in New York and of the Koret Distinguished Scholar at Hoover Institution, Stanford University, made the inaugural speech on Canadian multiculturalism and on Canada's commitment to human rights.

He showed how Canada has evolved from a colonial society to a country recognizing cultural plurality within it State apparatus and legal framework. He demonstrated the crucial importance of multiculturalism for the formation of democratic, peaceful and stable societies. He also discussed the laws against discrimination and for freedom of expression in Canada and the United States.

The Ambassador of Canada, Patricia Fuller, made the closing speech of the event aimed to provide a space for reflection on discrimination in Chile and, more specifically, on the Anti-Hate Speech Bill currently under discussion in Congress which would strengthen the Law against discrimination enacted in 2012.

The seminar provided a platform for debate on the rights in relation to religion and sexual orientation, and incitement to hatred through the media. The event counted with the participation of several well-known personalities in Chile, including: David Feuerstein, Holocaust survivor, Pablo Simonetti of the Iguales Foundation for the rights of homosexuals, Nicolas Copano, TV host, and Hernan Chadwick, Director of the National Television Council.

This was the first event on the topic to be organized at the Senate. Due to the growing importance of the issue in Chile, the Senate chose to make of it an annual event.

The Embassy of Canada in Chile supported this initiative as part of its commitment to share best practices on human rights and pluralism with Chile.

This support underscores the importance that Canada sees in freedom of religion, rights of homosexuals, and freedom of expression. The Embassy of Canada in Italy has been invited to support the establishment of ISGAP at the University La Sapienza in Rome.

Dr. Small also gave a lecture at the Hebrew Institute of Santiago and continued his South American tour in Buenos Aires where he notably participated in an event organized in the context of this year Canada’s Chair of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance.

Le Canada appuie la conférence "Discrimination: un frein au développement du Chili"


Oscar Kleinkopf, Vice-Président du Conseil Chili-Israël, et Dr. Charles Asher Small.


David Feuerstein, survivant de l’Holocauste, serrant la main du Premier secrétaire de l’Ambassade d’Israël, en présence de représentants du Ministère des Relations extérieures du Chili, de l’Ambassade du Canada et du Conseil Chili-Israël.


Dr. Charles Asher Small offrant sa conférence inaugurale.


L’Ambassadeure du Canada, Patricia Fuller, lors du discours de clôture.

Le 28 octobre, l’Ambassade du Canada au Chili a contribué avec le Fond d’Initiative de Mission à la réalisation de la conférence "Discrimination: un frein au développement du Chili" organisée par le Conseil Chili-Israël avec le soutien du Sénat chilien.

L'expert canadien Charles Asher Small, directeur de l'Institute for the Study of Global Antisemitism and Policy (ISGAP) à New York et Koret Distinguished Scholar de la Hoover Institution de l'Université Stanford, a fait la conférence inaugurale sur le multiculturalisme canadien et l'engagement international du Canada en matière de droits de la personne.

Il a montré comment le Canada a évolué d'une société coloniale à un pays reconnaissant la pluralité culturelle au sein de son appareil d'État et de son cadre juridique, et a démontré l'importance cruciale du multiculturalisme dans la formation de sociétés démocratiques, pacifiques et stables. Il a également discuté des lois contre la discrimination et pour la liberté d'expression au Canada et aux États-Unis.

L’Ambassadeure du Canada, Patricia Fuller, a fait le discours de clôture de l’évènement qui visait à offrir un espace de réflexion sur la discrimination au Chili et plus particulièrement sur le projet de loi contre l'incitation à la haine, actuellement en discussion au Congrès et qui permettrait de renforcer la loi contre la discrimination entrée en vigueur au Chili en 2012.

La conférence a offert un espace de débat sur les droits en matière de religion et d'orientation sexuelle, et sur l'incitation à la haine à travers les médias. L'événement a compté avec la participation de plusieurs personnalités reconnues au Chili, notamment: David Feuerstein, survivant de l'Holocauste, Pablo Simonetti de la Fondation Iguales destinée aux droits des homosexuels, Nicolas Copano, animateur de télé, et Hernan Chadwick, directeur du Conseil national de la télévision.

C’était le premier évènement sur ce sujet à être organisé au Sénat qui, vu l’importance grandissant de ce thème au Chili, a choisi d’en faire un évènement annuel.

L’Ambassade du Canada au Chili a appuyé cette initiative dans le cadre de son engagement à partager avec le Chili les meilleures pratiques en matière de droits de la personne et de pluralisme.

Cet appui reflète en particulier l'importance qu'accorde le Canada à la liberté de la religion, aux droits des homosexuels et à la liberté d'expression. L'Ambassade du Canada en Italie a été invitée à appuyer l'implantation de l'ISGAP à l'Université La Sapienza à Rome.

Dr. Small a également offert une conférence à l'Institut hébraïque de Santiago et a poursuivi sa tournée sud-américaine à Buenos Aires où il a participé notamment à un événement organisé dans le cadre de la présidence canadienne cette année de l'Association internationale pour la commémoration de l'Holocauste.