The Chilean’s navy oil tanker arrived in Canada to support pacific fleet


The ship Almirante Montt in Valparaíso before it set sail for Canada.


Canada’s Defence Attaché in Chile, Captain Martin Teft, visiting the ship before its departure.

As part of a Mutual Logistics Support Agreement (MLSA) held this year between the Royal Canadian Navy (RCN for its acronym in English) and the Chilean Navy, in early July came to the Naval Base Esquimalt in British Columbia the oil tanker Almirante Montt, belonging to the Chilean Navy. The RCN saw a unique opportunity for this unit to be part of its fleet for 40 days, supporting its force generation requirements.

The purpose of ship is to establish other activity units at sea. The "Montt" has 42 thousand tonnes, fully-loaded, of transportation and is the largest ship that has been used so far, surpassing the battleship "Almirante Latorre", operated by the Chilean Navy from 1920 to 1958.

The benefits of this transaction for the RCN are very important, as the ship contributes to the objective of supporting the "Canadian Pacific Fleet", which operates since 1910 in the naval base of Esquimalt. About 4,000 military and 2,000 civilians work in this area that ensures security for the Canadian North Pacific seas and defends the rightful use of the seas and protects trade. The Pacific fleet is important to protect Canada as a maritime nation par excellence, bordering three oceans. This fleet has two submarines and 13 ships, supporting the Canadian national and international security operations.

Through the oil tanker Almirante Montt, Canada will continue to work with the Chilean navy and strengthen ties with Chilean officials who always provide a high level of professionalism and efficiency in their operations. These features are highly valued by the RCN, who sees the many common traits with the Chilean Navy regarding its operational capabilities. Chile also benefits from this exchange: the oil tanker will gain time at sea, and will also navigate through non-traditional waters in North America. The crew can exchange experiences and reach destinations previously unexplored by Chilean officers.

The bonds of friendship between the two armed forces are strengthened by such initiatives, as said Canadian Defense Attaché in Chile, Captain Martin Teft. "We hope that these relationships will pursue, as we have a lot in common, in terms of naval capabilities and operational methods at sea. Also, our seas share great geographical similarities".

Pétrolier de la marine chilienne arrive au canada pour soutenir la flotte du pacifique


Le navire Almirante Montt à Valparaíso avant son départ vers le Canada.


L’Attaché de Défense du Canada au Chili, Capitaine Martin Teft, visitant le navire avant son départ.

Dans le cadre d'un Accord de Soutien Logistique Mutuel (MLSA) cette année conclue entre la Marine Royale Canadienne (MRC pour son sigle en français) et la Marine Chilienne, en début de Juillet le pétrolier Almirante Montt, appartenant à la marine chilienne, est arrivé à la base navale d'Esquimalt en Colombie-Britannique. La MRC vit comme une opportunité unique que cette unité fasse partie de la flotte canadienne pendant 40 jours, afin de soutenir les exigences de génération de force.

Le navire de ravitaillement a l’objectif de rétablir des activités et autres unités en mer. Le "Montt" pèse 42 mille tonnes en tonneaux de transportation en pleine charge et est le plus grand navire qui a été utilisé jusqu’à date, surpassant même le cuirassé "Almirante Latorre", opérant dans  la marine chilienne entre 1920 et 1958.

Les bénéfices de cet échange pour la MRC sont très importants, le navire se conformant à l'objectif de soutenir la « Flotte Canadienne du Pacifique», qui fonctionne depuis 1910 dans la base navale d'Esquimalt. Environ 4000 militaires et 2000 civils travaillant dans ce lieu  assurant la sécurité du Pacifique Nord Canadien, défend le droit de l'utilisation des mers, et protège le commerce. La flotte du Pacifique est clé dans la protection du Canada en tant que nation maritime par excellence, qui borde trois océans. Cette flotte a deux sous-marins et 13 navires, soutenant des opérations de sécurité nationale et internationale du Canada.

À travers le pétrolier Almirante Montt, le Canada continuera de travailler avec la marine Chilienne et de renforcer les liens avec les autorités chiliennes qui offrent toujours un niveau élevé de professionnalisme et d’efficacité dans leurs activités. Ces traits sont très appréciés par la MRC, qui voit dans la marine chilienne une capacité opérationnelle très similaire à la Canadienne. Le Chili en tire des bénéfices également: le pétrolier va passer beaucoup de temps en mer et se déplacera dans des eaux non-traditionnelles d’Amérique du Nord. L'équipage peut ainsi échanger des expériences et découvrir des endroits auparavant non-explorés par les officiers chiliens.

Les liens d'amitié entre les deux armées se voient renforcées par de telles initiatives, selon l'attaché de défense du Canada au Chili, le capitaine Martin Teft. "Nous espérons que ces relations vont persister, puisque nous avons beaucoup en commun, en terme de capacités navales et en terme des méthodes d’opérer en mer. Il y a également une belle coïncidence en ce qui concerne la similitude géographique de nos mers ".