The 2015 Canada Fund for Local Initiatives supported 6 projects in Chile

Ambassador Marcel Lebleu at the launch of the communication campaign of the Frente de la diversidad sexual for their project ‘Quilicura without closets’.
 

The migrant women participating in the NGO Raíces project pose for the camera after a workshop.
 

The Embassy was present at the launch of the communication campaign for the prevention of violence against women organised by Carpe Diem and Alerta Mujeres.
 

Ambassador Marcel Lebleu speaks at the inauguration of the Ruka of the Association Taiñ Adkimn
 

Native community members participate in an activity of the Observatorio Ciudadano.
 

During the 2015-2016 fiscal year, the Embassy of Canada to Chile funded six projects through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI). They all targeted priority issues such as respect for sexual diversity, women's rights and indigenous issues.  Video of an overview of the funded projects.

The University Diego Portales recorded the first four lessons of its new massive open online course (MOOC) on sexual diversity and gender equality. The course will allow activists and students to learn more about international and national laws related to this subject and the Chilean experience.

The Front for Sexual Diversity organized several workshops in schools and for local municipality officers in Quilicura (located in the metropolitan region of Santiago) to raise awareness about the rights of the LGBT community and its reality. Check out the two videos (in Spanish) produced as part of their communication campaign: “Situación de los DDHH de las personas LGBTI en el mundo y en Chile” and “Ley de Identidad de Género en Chile

The NGO Raíces conducted workshops over two weekends with the aim of training more than 50 immigrant women living in different municipalities of the Santiago area. Several topics were discussed, including the protection of their rights, human trafficking, Chilean immigration policies, and access to public services. Take a look at the brochure they produced.

In the municipality of Calera de Tango, located in the southern part of the metropolitan area of Santiago, the NGO Carpe Diem and the Alerta Mujeres Network organized eight workshops, each of them bringing together several women and equipping them to deal effectively with situations of violence against women, whether as witnesses or victims. These workshops were followed by a communication campaign and the creation of promotional material.

The CFLI program also enabled the Association Taiñ Adkimn to reconstruct the Mapuche Ruka located in the University of Chile campus in La Pintana which had been burned down in December 2015. Several intercultural exchange events (link to video), training of students and Mapuche traditional ceremonies will be held in the ceremonial center.

Finally, the Embassy also supported a project of the organization Observatorio Ciudadano which consisted of meetings with native communities from the south and north of Chile as well as from Easter Island. This initiative aimed to inform and prepare them to voice their concerns and ideas about the new project law on biodiversity and protected areas. The initiative also included the mapping of existing protected areas and indigenous communities living there.

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales 2015 a soutenu 6 projets au Chili

L’ambassadeur Marcel Lebleu lors du lancement de la campagne de communication du Frente de la diversidad sexual du projet ‘Quilicura sin closets’.
 

Des femmes migrantes participant à l’école d’été de l’ONG Raíces posent à la fin d’un atelier.
 

L’Ambassade était présente au lancement de la campagne de communication contre la violence faite aux femmes de Carpe Diem et d’Alerta Mujeres.
 

L’ambassadeur Marcel Lebleu prend la parole lors de l’inauguration de la ruka de l’Association Taiñ Adkimn
 

Des membres de communautés autochtones participent à une activité de l’Observatorio Ciudadano.
 

Au cours de l’année financière 2015-2016, l’ambassade du Canada au Chili a financé six projets grâce au Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL). Ils ont ciblé des enjeux prioritaires pour l’ambassade, soit le respect de la diversité sexuelle, les droits des femmes et les questions autochtones. Aperçu des projets financés en 2015-2016 (vidéo).

Grâce à l’appui du Canada, l’Université Diego Portales a pu enregistrer quatre premières leçons de son nouveau  cours en ligne  (MOOC, massive open online course) sur la diversité sexuelle et l’égalité de genre. Ce cours permettra aux activistes et étudiants intéressés d’en apprendre davantage sur le droit international et national à ce sujet et sur l’expérience chilienne.

Le Front de la diversité sexuelle a organisé plusieurs ateliers dans des écoles de la municipalité de Quilicura et auprès des fonctionnaires de la ville (située dans la région métropolitaine de Santiago) dans le but de sensibiliser la population aux droits et à la réalité LGBT. Voyez leurs deux vidéos en espagnol produites dans le cadre de leur campagne de communication : “Situación de los DDHH de las personas LGBTI en el mundo y en Chile” y “Ley de Identidad de Género en Chile

L’ONG Raíces a mené pour sa part des ateliers pendant deux fins de semaines afin de former plus de 50 femmes immigrantes vivant dans différentes municipalités de la région de Santiago. Plusieurs thèmes ont été abordés, dont la protection de leurs droits, le trafic de personnes, les politiques d’immigration du Chili et l’accès aux services publics. Regardez le feuillet produit.

Dans la municipalité de Calera de Tango, dans la partie sud de la région métropolitaine de Santiago, l’ONG Carpe Diem et le Réseau Alerta Mujeres ont organisé huit ateliers rassemblant chacun plusieurs femmes afin de les outiller à faire face efficacement aux situations de violence contre la femme dont elles pourraient être témoins ou victimes. Ces ateliers ont été suivis par une campagne de communication et la création de matériel promotionnel sur le sujet.

Le programme du FCIL a également permis à l’Association autochtone Taiñ Adkimn de reconstruire la ruka mapuche située sur le campus de l’Université du Chili à La Pintana qui avait été incendiée au mois de décembre 2015. Plusieurs événements (vidéo) d’échange interculturel, de formation d’étudiants et des cérémonies traditionnelles mapuche y ont lieu. 

Finalement, l’ambassade a également soutenu un projet de l’organisation Observatorio Ciudadano qui consistait en des rencontres avec des communautés autochtones au sud et au nord du pays ainsi qu’à l’Île de Pâques dans le but de les informer et de les préparer à faire entendre leur voix quant au nouveau projet de loi sur la biodiversité et les aires protégées. L’initiative a aussi inclut aussi la cartographie des aires protégées actuelles et des communautés autochtones qui y habitent.