Indigenous collaboration from one end of the Americas to the other: Canadian expertise highlighted in Chile

Ruka, the Mapuche ceremonial centre
 

From left to right: Theresa O’Connors (Metis), Martine Paquin, Cristian Sandoval (Wekimun project), Ana Maria Olivera (Wekimun project), Mónica Araneda (Taiñ Adkimn Association), Luis Felipe Valenzuela (Taiñ Adkimn Association), Ambassador Marcel Lebleu, Pedro Valenzuela (Taiñ Adkimn Association), Maria Hueichaqueo (Taiñ Adkimn Association), Darlene Kanobi (Ojibway), Pedro Valenzuela (Taiñ Adkimn Association), Luan Hill (Iroquois), Tim Thomson (Mohawk), Hélène Mayrand (Embassy of Canada to Chile)
 

Recognizing ancestral culture, promoting indigenous education in an urban setting, and training indigenous youth while respecting their identity. These were the matters discussed by Canadian Ojibway, Metis and Iroquois experts and Chilean indigenous communities as part of the International Indigenous Symposium organized by Chile’s Taiñ Adkimn Mapuche Indigenous Association, which took place on October 26, 2016. The embassy supported this conference for the fifth consecutive year through the Post Initiative Fund (PIM) to foster links between the indigenous peoples of Canada and Chile and promote the sharing of best practices on the promotion of ancestral cultures and respect for the rights of indigenous peoples.

As Ambassador Marcel Lebleu mentioned during the inauguration, "there is nothing better than to have four real ambassadors among us to talk about the Canadian experience," referring to Canadian indigenous participants Tim Thomson (Mohawk), Darlene Kanobi(Ojibway), Theresa O’Connors (Metis), and Luan Hill (Iroquois). A Chilean indigenous representative thanked the delegation for participating, as "culture should not be reduced to museums or history of the past," but kept alive and active through the sharing of experiences.  The visit by Canadian experts also allowed helped to forge synergies with two Chilean partners collaborating on the Wekimun Rural Training Centre, a Canadian project in southern Chile devoted to the promotion of indigenous education. 

This annual meeting of indigenous peoples of the Americas also enabled Chilean indigenous youth to become involved in the enrichment of their education and ancestral know-how. One of the dozens of students attending the Symposium, Amalia Parra Palacios, of Mapuche ancestry, stated: "Education on different cultures is a priceless tool that helps us to respect diversity and achieve true multiculturalism."

Canada-Chile collaboration between indigenous communities and academic experts

Wekimun Rural Training Centre, a Canadian initiative financially supported by Partnerships for Development Innovation (PDI) (2012-2018), is a joint project of the University of Prince Edward Island (UPEI) and the Council of Williche Chiefs of Chiloé (WCC). It has helped to set up a unique training centre affording the Williche indigenous population the opportunity to continue their education and develop their skills in a program that respects and integrates the indigenous culture and identity. Williches are part of an indigenous group in Chile belonging to the Mapuche culture (the largest indigenous group in Chile) living on the Chiloe Archipelago in the southern part of the country.

The Taiñ Adkimn Mapuche Indigenous Association, based in a suburb of Santiago, promotes indigenous education in an urban setting and has been collaborating with indigenous communities and Canadian experts for more than a decade. To highlight the importance of respect for pluralism, the embassy financed the reconstruction of their Ruka, the Mapuche ceremonial centre destroyed by arson, through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) last year. This community centre, located on one of the University of Chile campuses, is at the heart of the traditional life of this community and promotes intercultural exchanges, student training, and traditional Mapuche ceremonies.

Collaboration autochtone d’un bout à l’autre des Amériques: l’expertise canadienne mise en valeur au Chili

Ruka, le centre cérémonial mapuche
 

De gauche à droite: Theresa O’Connors (metis), Martine Paquin, Cristian Sandoval (Projet Wekimun), Ana Maria Olivera (Projet Wekimun), Mónica Araneda (Association Taiñ Adkimn), Luis Felipe Valenzuela (Association Taiñ Adkimn), Ambassadeur Marcel Lebleu, Pedro Valenzuela (Association Taiñ Adkimn), Maria Hueichaqueo (Association Taiñ Adkimn), Darlene Kanobi (ojibway), Pedro Valenzuela (Association Taiñ Adkimn), Luan Hill (iroquois), Tim Thomson (mohawk), Hélène Mayrand (Ambassade du Canada au Chili)
 

Reconnaître la culture ancestrale, promouvoir l’éducation autochtone en milieu urbain et former les jeunes autochtones en respectant leur identité, voilà les questions sur lesquelles des experts canadiens obijwe, metis et iroquois ont échangé avec les communautés autochtones chiliennes dans le cadre du

Symposium autochtone international, organisé par l’Association chilienne mapuche Taiñ Adkimn, qui a eu lieu le 26 octobre dernier. L’ambassade a appuyé pour une cinquième année consécutive cette conférence, à travers le Fond d’initiatives de mission (FIM), afin de promouvoir les liens entre autochtones du Canada et du Chili et de favoriser le partage de meilleures pratiques quant à la promotion des cultures ancestrales et le respect des droits des peuples autochtones.

Comme l’a mentionné l’ambassadeur Marcel Lebleu lors de l’inauguration, « rien n’est mieux que d’avoir parmi nous quatre véritables ambassadeurs pour parler de l’expérience canadienne » en se référant aux participants autochtones canadiens : Tim Thomson (mohawk), Darlene Kanobi (obijway),  Theresa  O’Connors (metis), et Luan Hill (iroquois). Une représentante autochtone chilienne a remercié la participation de la délégation canadienne car la «culture ne se réduit pas aux musées ni à l’histoire du passé », mais c’est plutôt par le partage d’expériences qu’elle reste vivante et active. La visite des experts canadiens a aussi permis de développer des synergies avec deux partenaires chiliens, qui collaborent sur un projet canadien dans le Sud du Chili voué à la promotion de l’éducation autochtone, l’école Wekimun. 

Cette rencontre annuelle entre peuples autochtones des Amériques a aussi permis aux jeunes autochtones chiliens de s’impliquer dans la valorisation de leur éducation et du savoir-faire ancestral. Parmi les dizaines d’étudiants autochtones présents au Symposium, l’une d’entre eux, Amalia Parra Palacios, de descendance mapuche, a déclaré: « L'éducation sur les différentes cultures a une valeur inestimable et est un outil qui nous aide à respecter la diversité, pour atteindre un véritable multiculturalisme ».

Collaboration canado-chilienne entre communautés autochtones et experts académiques

Le centre de formation Wekimun, initiative canadienne soutenue financièrement par le programme de partenariats pour l'innovation dans le développement (2012-2018), est un projet conjoint entre l'Université de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (UPEI) et le Conseil des chefs williche (WCC). Il a permis la mise en place d’un centre de formation unique au pays qui offre à la population autochtone williche l’opportunité de poursuivre leur éducation et de développer leurs compétences dans un programme qui respecte et intègre la culture et l’identité autochtone. Les Williches forment un groupe autochtone du Chili appartenant à la culture mapuche (plus important groupe aborigène du Chili) et vivant dans le sud du pays, dans l’archipel de Chiloé.

L’Association mapuche Taiñ Adkimn, basée en banlieue de Santiago, promeut l’éducation autochtone en milieu urbain et collabore avec des communautés autochtones et des experts canadiens depuis plus d’une décennie. Afin de faire valoir l’importance du respect du pluralisme, l’ambassade a financé l’année dernière, grâce au Fond canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL), la reconstruction de leur Ruka, le centre cérémonial mapuche qui avait été détruit aux suites d’un incendie criminel. Ce centre communautaire, situé sur un des campus de l’Université du Chili, est au cœur de la vie traditionnelle de cette communauté et favorise les échanges interculturels, la formation d’étudiants et les cérémonies traditionnelles mapuches.