The 2016-2017 Canada Fund for Local Initiatives supported thirteen projects in Chile

Alto Andino’s Project improved livestock practices among Aymara communities in the north of Chile. Alto Andino’s Project improved livestock practices among Aymara communities in the north of Chile.
 

The #NoTeDaVergüenza? (Aren’t you ashamed of yourself) campaign sought to prevent sexual violence with a message directed towards men. The #NoTeDaVergüenza? (Aren’t you ashamed of yourself) campaign sought to prevent sexual violence with a message directed towards men.
 

Children from the intercultural school radio in Coñaripe interviewed Ambassador Marcel Lebleu. Children from the intercultural school radio in Coñaripe interviewed Ambassador Marcel Lebleu.
 

Todo Mejora’s learning materials teach about the importance of respecting sexual diversity and preventing school violence based on sexual orientation. Todo Mejora’s learning materials teach about the importance of respecting sexual diversity and preventing school violence based on sexual orientation.
 

TECHO Chile built 19 progressive homes for families whose houses were destroyed by forest fires. TECHO Chile built 19 progressive homes for families whose houses were destroyed by forest fires.
 

During the 2016-2017 fiscal year, the Embassy of Canada in Chile financed thirteen projects through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI). These projects focused on priority issues such as supporting indigenous communities’ participation towards inclusive governance; championing peaceful pluralism and respect for diversity, in particular the promotion of the rights of LGBT, immigrants and refugees; promoting gender equality and empowerment of women and girls; addressing climate change and enhancing environmental sustainability, and stimulating sustainable and green economic growth with initiatives targeting vulnerable groups, indigenous peoples and women in particular.

The Aitué Foundation developed a guide for indigenous communities and enterprises in Southern Chile, in order to facilitate dialogue related to the International Labor Organization’s Indigenous and Tribal Peoples Convention, 1989 (ILO Convention 169). The guide, which presents best practices and provides the tools needed to develop dialogue and negotiation skills, can be downloaded free of charge from the following website: www.pueblosindigenasyempresas.cl.

Asociación Alto Andino's project sought to contribute to the well-being of the Aymara communities in the Arica and Parinacota Region, working with them to improve their livestock practices while taking into account the local environment and promoting practices focused on food security. The initiative focused on improving the health and reproductive aspects of livestock, as well as the sustainable use of natural resources.

The Cultura Consciente Foundation implemented a multicultural school radio for 250 Mapuche students in Coñaripe, a city in southern Chile's Lake District. The main objective of the project was to provide a space in which children can talk about the value of their personal and social identity as Mapuche children and develop their communication skills. Workshops on radio journalism, radio drama, voice and speech and sound and media were also offered. Watch a video of the children interviewing the Ambassador of Canada in Chile.

Corporación Humanas conducted a national survey on women's perceptions of politics. The survey allowed the collection of concrete data provided by 1,200 women from all over the country in order to socialize said data in the current debates on public policies. Consult the results of the survey.

The campaign to prevent sexual violence against girls and women directed specifically towards men organized by the Cultura Salud Foundation condemned the violence and common places that help perpetuate this type of actions in Chile. The initiative had a national impact through the #NoTeDaVerguenza (aren't you ashamed of yourself) social media campaign.

The NGO Raíces made improvements to the only shelter in Santiago for women victims of human trafficking. A 5-day workshop was also organized to train the victims in various subjects and skills, including leadership, support strategies, cultural issues and the understanding of their rights.

Todo Mejora (a chilean NGO affiliated to the It Gets Better Project) developed innovative materials - 5 testimonial videos and a support manual - for the promotion of peaceful pluralism and respect for diversity among girls and boys between 9 and 12 years of age. The Teaching Diversity project enabled the children to learn, together with their teachers and parents, about the importance of respecting sexual diversity and preventing school violence based on sexual orientation. You can download the support manual and watch the videos in the project’s page on the Todo Mejora website.

The Pedagogical Guide for An Intercultural and Antiracist Education With a Gender Perspective, developed by the Interdisciplinary Program for Migration Studies (PRIEM) of the Alberto Hurtado University, allowed the incorporation and strengthening of the intercultural perspective in educational projects headed by the Servicio País Program, strengthening multicultural knowledge in schools through the development of various activities, such as the delivery of support materials to address multiculturalism.

Through the development of courses for municipal officials, the preparation of institutional proposals and the linking of relevant actors in Disaster Risk Reduction, the Adapt Chile project strengthened the culture and prevention capacity at the municipal level in regards to the natural risks and disasters related to climate change. You can find more information and download documents about the project, including a manual for managing climate risks, in the project’s page on the Adapt Chile website.

The Basura Foundation project served to improve environmental sustainability and promote cultural change to reduce pollutants that harm the environment. The How to live Zero Waste? free online course fostered sustainable social habits and healthy lifestyles that promote the conservation of the environment and biodiversity. The online course, for which more than 7600 people have already registered, is still available.

The Center for Advanced Studies in Arid Zones (CEAZA) restored an interpretive trail and planted 200 native trees in the El Culebrón wetland in the city of Coquimbo, encouraging community participation in this project that sought to combat global warming and degradation of biodiversity in urban areas, as well as promoting local economic development and indigenous culture.

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives can also allocate funds to support local organizations in the delivery of humanitarian assistance following natural disasters and emergencies. In that context, the fund supported the following initiatives during fiscal year 2016-2017:

TECHO Chile built 19 progressive homes in the towns of Paredones and Hualañé, zones devastated by forest fires, in order to help families whose houses were destroyed by the fire. This aid provided a safe and dignified refuge for families of between 4 and 8 people and layed the foundations for a sustainable reconstruction of their homes.

The Desafío Levantemos Chile emergency project consisted of buying backpack pumps to help CONAF brigades fight forest fires more efficiently and safely.

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales a appuyé treize projets au Chili en 2016-17

Le projet Alto Andino a amélioré les pratiques agricoles des communautés Aymara dans le nord du Chili. Le projet Alto Andino a amélioré les pratiques agricoles des communautés Aymara dans le nord du Chili.
 

La campagne #NoTeDaVergüenza? (Tu N’as Pas Honte?) visait à prévenir la violence sexuelle avec un message adressé aux hommes. La campagne #NoTeDaVergüenza? (Tu N’as Pas Honte?) visait à prévenir la violence sexuelle avec un message adressé aux hommes.
 

Les enfants de la radio scolaire interculturelle à Coñaripe ont interviewé l'Ambassadeur Marcel Lebleu. Les enfants de la radio scolaire interculturelle à Coñaripe ont interviewé l'Ambassadeur Marcel Lebleu.
 

Le matériel d'apprentissage de Todo Mejora enseigne sur l’importance de respecter la diversité sexuelle et de prévenir la violence scolaire fondée sur la base de l’orientation sexuelle. Le matériel d'apprentissage de Todo Mejora enseigne sur l’importance de respecter la diversité sexuelle et de prévenir la violence scolaire fondée sur la base de l’orientation sexuelle.
 

TECHO Chile a construit 19 maisons progressives pour les familles dont leurs maisons ont été détruites par les incendies de forêt. TECHO Chile a construit 19 maisons progressives pour les familles dont leurs maisons ont été détruites par les incendies de forêt.
 

Au cours de l’année financière 2016-2017, l’ambassade du Canada au Chili a financé treize projets grâce au Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL). Ces projets ont porté sur des questions prioritaires comme le soutien à la participation des communautés autochtones pour une gouvernance inclusive; la défense du pluralisme pacifique ainsi que du respect de la diversité, en particulier la promotion des droits LGBT, des immigrants et des réfugiés; la promotion de l’égalité des sexes et de l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles; et les changements climatiques et le développement durable, en mettant l’emphase sur la croissance économique écologique et durable via des initiatives visant les populations vulnérables, en particulier les autochtones et les femmes.

La Fondation Aitue a développé un guide de bonnes pratiques pour les entreprises et les communautés indigènes de la zone sud du Chili afin de faciliter le dialogue relié à la Convention 169 sur les peuples indigènes et tribus de l’Organisation internationale du travail. Le guide, qui présente les meilleures pratiques et fourni les outils nécessaires pour développer les compétences de dialogue et de négociation, peut être téléchargé gratuitement sur le site www.pueblosindigenasyempresas.cl.

Alto Andino: Ce projet a contribué au bien-être des communautés Aymara dans la région nord d’Arica et Parinacota, par l’entremise d’un travail effectué avec les membres de cette communauté afin d’améliorer leurs pratiques agricoles, en reconnaissant l’environnement local, et de promouvoir les pratiques axées sur la sécurité alimentaire. Ce projet est basé sur l’amélioration des aspects de santé et reproduction du bétail et sur l’utilisation durable des ressources naturelles.

Fundación Cultura Consciente: Le projet réalisé par la Fondation Cultura Consciente a permis le lancement d’une radio multiculturelle pour un groupe de 200 enfants Mapuche de Coñaripe, une ville de la région des Lacs (sud du Chili). L’objectif principal du projet a été de développer un espace où les enfants peuvent discuter de la valeur de leur identité personnelle et sociale en tant que Mapuche et de développer leurs compétences communicationnelles. Regardez une vidéo des enfants interviewant l'Ambassadeur du Canada au Chili.

Corporación Humanas: Ce projet réalisé par Corporación Humanas a pour objectif d’élever la voix des femmes en menant une enquête nationale sur la perception des femmes chiliennes sur la politique et leurs conditions de vie. Cette enquête a permis la collecte de données spécifiques de 1200 femmes à travers le pays afin de favoriser leur participation dans les débats politiques actuels. Consultez les résultats de l'enquête.

Fundación Cultura Salud EME: Le projet vise à prévenir la violence sexuelle contre les filles et les femmes au Chili grâce à une campagne (#TuN’asPasHonte?) ciblant les hommes et condamnant la violence ainsi que certaines croyances culturelles qui perpétuent ces actions. Le projet a eu un impact au niveau national, grâce au développement d’une campagne en ligne.

ONG Raíces: Ce projet a permis de revitaliser l’unique refuge destiné aux victimes de traite humaine à Santiago, en fournissant de nouveaux appareils électrodomestiques. Également, un atelier de cinq jours a été organisé portant sur divers sujets et transfert de compétences, y compris le leadership, les stratégies de soutien, les questions culturelles et la compréhension de leurs droits.

Todo Mejora: Ce projet visant à promouvoir le pluralisme pacifique et le respect de la diversité auprès de filles et garçons de 9 à 12 ans a été réalisé à travers le développement de matériaux innovateurs – cinq vidéos de témoignage et un manuel de soutien – pour permettre aux enfants d’apprendre, avec leurs parents et enseignants, l’importance de respecter la diversité sexuelle et de prévenir la violence scolaire fondée sur l’orientation sexuelle, favorisant la formation d’espaces sûrs dans les écoles.

Programa Interdisciplinario de Estudios Migratorios (PRIEM): Ce projet a permis de renforcer et d’incorporer la perspective d’interculturalisme dans les projets éducatifs menés par le Programme Service Pays, en renforçant la compréhension interculturelle dans les écoles à travers le développement de diverses activités, telles que le développement de matériel didactique pour aborder le multiculturalisme.

Adapt Chile: Le projet a permis de développer des activités visant à renforcer les capacités institutionnelles de trois municipalités au Chili (La Pintana, Maullin et Dalcahue) en matière de gestion de risques dans le contexte de catastrophes naturelles liées au changement climatique. Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations et télécharger des documents sur le projet dans la page du projet sur le site Web Adapt Chile.

Fundacion Basura: Ce projet a permis d’améliorer la durabilité environnementale et de promouvoir des changements culturels visant à réduire les polluants et à assurer une meilleure gestion des déchets. Ceci a été réalisé grâce à la diffusion d’un cours en ligne gratuit favorisant des habitudes sociales saines et durables et des modes de vie favorisant la conservation de l’environnement et de la biodiversité. Le cours en ligne, pour lequel plus de 7600 personnes se sont déjà inscrits, est toujours disponible.

Centro de estudios avanzados en zonas áridas (CEAZA): Ce projet a consisté à restaurer un sentier naturel à El Culebron (Coquimbo), afin de promouvoir l’action communautaire pour lutter contre le réchauffement climatique et la dégradation de la biodiversité dans les zones urbaines, en plus de promouvoir le développement économique local et la culture indigène propre à cette région.

Le Fonds canadien pour les initiatives locales peut également allouer des fonds pour aider les organisations locales à fournir une aide humanitaire suite aux catastrophes naturelles et aux situations d'urgence. Dans ce contexte, le fonds a soutenu les initiatives suivantes au cours de l’année financière 2016-2017:

Fundación un Techo para Chile: Ce projet a permis la construction de 19 maisons dans les communautés de Paredones et Hualañé, zones dévastées par des incendies de forêts, afin d’aider les familles dont les foyers ont été détruits et s’étant retrouvées sans-abri. Cette aide a permis d’offrir un abri sûr et digne pour des familles de 4 à 8 personnes, jetant les bases d’une reconstruction durable de leurs maisons.

Desafío Levantemos Chile: Ce projet d’urgence a consisté en l’achat de “pompes portables”, un équipement de qualité conçu pour aider les brigades de la CONAF à lutter contre les incendies de forêts plus efficacement et de façon sécuritaire.