Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

China.gc.ca

Health

Canada and China have had a long-standing cooperative relationship in the field of health which dates back to the days of Dr. Norman Bethune. Health was identified as one of the pillars for strategic cooperation in the 2009 Canada-China Joint Statement.

In 1995, the health ministers of Canada and China signed a Memorandum of Understanding for health cooperation between the two countries. This has since been reinforced by five Action Plans, signed by health ministers, with the most recent covering the 2014-2016 periods. A Canada-China Joint Committee on Health was struck in 2007, and has been meeting annually since 2008, to establish annual collaborative work plans and to monitor progress.

The 2014-2016 Action Plan focuses on cooperative work in the following areas: infectious disease prevention and control; chronic disease prevention and control; response to health emergencies, including surveillance and early-warning; healthcare innovation, e-health and telehealth; healthy ageing; traditional Chinese medicine; health system strengthening, planning, development and capacity-building; and food safety standards development and risk assessment.

Numerous collaborative projects and activities have been conducted over the years under the Action Plans, including: cooperation during the 2009 influenza A(H1N1) pandemic and 2013-2014 influenza A(H7N9) outbreaks; cooperation in infectious disease surveillance and control and laboratories; seminars/workshops on emerging infectious disease and chronic disease prevention and control; high-level meetings and workshops on drugs and medical products, food, and consumer product safety; health human resource exchanges and training; health policy evaluation; joint health research funding and scholarships; and professional exchanges and workshops in health systems, public health, health promotion, chronic disease prevention and control, laboratories, hospital system and management and e-health. This broad cooperation has involved many different partners in our two countries – federal/central government, provincial and local governments, universities, professional organizations, hospitals, research institutions and private enterprises; and demonstrated the breadth and depth of bilateral health collaboration.

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-04-11

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Chine.gc.ca

Santé

Le Canada et la Chine entretiennent une coopération de longue date dans le domaine de la santé, dont l’origine remonte à l'époque du Dr Norman Bethune.

En 1995, les ministres de la Santé du Canada et de la Chine ont signé un Protocole d’entente relatif à la coopération en santé entre les deux pays. Il a par la suite été renforcé par cinq Plans d'action signés par les ministres de la Santé, les plus récents couvrant la période de 2014 à 2016. Un Comité mixte Canada-Chine sur la santé a été mis en place en 2007, et il tient des rencontres chaque année depuis 2008 pour établir des plans annuels de coopération et suivre les progrès.

Le Plan d'action 2014-2016 met l’accent sur la coopération dans les domaines suivants : prévention et lutte contre les maladies infectieuses et chroniques; réaction aux situations d'urgence sanitaire, y compris la surveillance et l’alerte précoce; innovation en matière de soins de santé, cybersanté et télésanté; vieillissement en santé; médecine traditionnelle chinoise; renforcement, planification, développement et renforcement des capacités; salubrité des aliments, développement de normes et évaluation des risques.

Un grand nombre de projets et d’activités de coopération ont été menés au fil des ans dans le cadre des Plans d'action, dont les suivants : coopération pendant la pandémie de grippe A(H1N1) en 2009 et l’éclosion de grippe A(H7N9) en 2014; coopération dans la surveillance et la lutte contre les maladies infectieuses et dans le travail en laboratoire; séminaires et ateliers sur la prévention et la lutte contre les maladies émergentes infectieuses et chroniques; rencontres et ateliers de haut niveau sur les médicaments et produits médicaux, les aliments, et la sûreté des produits de consommation; échanges et formation des ressources humaines en santé; évaluation de la politique sanitaire; financement conjoint de la recherche en santé et programme de bourses; et échanges et ateliers professionnels sur les systèmes de santé, la santé publique, la promotion de la santé, la prévention et la lutte contre les maladies chroniques, les laboratoires, le système hospitalier et sa gestion, la cybersanté. Cette vaste coopération fait appel à la participation de nombreux partenaires de nos deux pays – gouvernement fédéral/central, gouvernements provinciaux et locaux, universités, organisations professionnelles, hôpitaux, instituts de recherche et entreprises privées ‒ et elle a démontré à la fois l’ampleur et la profondeur de la coopération bilatérale en santé. 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-08-24