Canada and Australia shine the spotlight on Indigenous health and wellness

Faceless Dolls workshop at Winnunga Nimmityjah AHS.

Many Indigenous communities are facing health and wellness issues particularly those located in rural, remote and isolated areas. Cardiovascular disease, diabetes, heart health, cancer and mental health were identified as common health issues prevalent across Indigenous communities in both Canada and Australia.

These communities often lack proper access to vital services and support, and the service offerings that do exist are not always culturally-appropriate or properly aligned with community needs.

In an effort to raise awareness on issues affecting Indigenous communities and to identify practical ways for both countries to collaborate on common solutions, the High Commission of Canada in Australia was proud to host a Canada-Australia series of three events: a roundtable of academic discussions, a public film screening, and the ‘Faceless Dolls’ workshop,.

The conversation continued online via #AusCanIndigenousWellness throughout the events.

Working together for Indigenous health and wellness

The Roundtable, the first of the three events, was held in partnership with The Lowitja Institute, Australia’s National Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Research, and was supported by the Australian National University, the Australian Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health Service, and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada.

Prof Mick Dodson AM, Director of the National Centre for Indigenous Studies at ANU, presents at the conference

The Roundtable covered a wide range of topics including scene setting and international frameworks, government policy in Canada and Australia, the impacts of colonization and racism in systems, and the value of acknowledging and implementing Indigenous knowledge and values. Indigenous-led approaches and governance of health and wellness were also discussed, as were service delivery approaches for remote Indigenous communities.

Participants saw the value in these discussions and shared their comments online. Here is a quick wrap up of Summer May Finlay who covered the event on behalf of the High Commission for Canada in Australia: My quick wrap up of the #AusCanIndigenousWellness Roundtable

The High Commissioner also shared his views and described the overall goal of the Roundtable as a way to identify issues or areas in Indigenous health and wellness where collaborative work between Canada and Australia would be particularly beneficial:

“The roundtable provided a forum to share experiences, consolidate our understandings and identify gaps in Indigenous health delivery in both Canada and Australia that our two countries could work together on to resolve”

His Excellency Mr. Paul Maddison

‘Fire Song’ public film screening & lead actor visit

The second event shone a spotlight on a Canadian featured film Fire Song, which tells the story of an Anishinaabe teenager in Northern Ontario who is struggling to support his family in the aftermath of his sister's suicide. The film, which debuted at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), confronts some of the most pressing issues facing First Nations communities, including youth suicide, alcoholism and drug use.

Lead actor Andrew Martin, a Mohawk from the Six Nations of the Grand River Territory in Canada, travelled to Canberra to introduce the public screening and to participate in a facilitated panel discussion following the film, along with five Indigenous health professionals from Canada and Australia.

Dr Jeff Reading, Professor of Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University and First Nations Health Authority Chair in Heart Health and Wellness at St. Paul’s Hospital, and Mandy Yap, Research Fellow at the Crawford School of Public Policy, with one of the completed faceless dolls.

‘Faceless Dolls’ in memory of missing and murdered Aboriginal women and girls

The final event was held in memory of more than 1,200 missing and murdered Aboriginal women and girls in Canada. The workshop was hosted by Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health Service and several members of its women’s group joined with Roundtable participants to make brightly coloured dolls that will become part of a larger display back in Canada.

High Commissioner Paul Maddison said the workshop was inspired by the Native Women’s Association of Canada  and helped raise awareness of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls.

 “The workshop visually and physically created a representation of the missing and murdered Aboriginal women and girls and we hope that our involvement will help create a ripple effect around the world in honour of the memories of these women and girls.”

High Commissioner Maddison

Canada’s commitment

Canada is committed to advancing reconciliation and a renewed nation-to-nation relationship with Indigenous peoples, based on recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnership.

2017 marks Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation and the reconciliation with Indigenous peoples is a key theme for the year.

Le Canada et l’Australie mettent la lumière sur la santé et le bien-être des Autochtones

Atelier Poupées sans visage au service de santé autochtone Winnunga Nimmityjah

De nombreuses communautés autochtones connaissent des problèmes de santé et de bien-être, en particulier celles situées en zones rurales, ainsi que dans des régions éloignées et isolées. Les maladies cardiovasculaires, le diabète, la santé cardiaque, le cancer et la santé mentale représentent des problèmes de santé courants très répandus dans les communautés autochtones au Canada et en Australie.

Ces communautés n’ont souvent pas accès aux services et au soutien vitaux et les services offerts ne sont pas toujours adaptés à la culture ou ne correspondent pas toujours aux besoins des communautés.

Dans le but de permettre une sensibilisation aux questions touchant les communautés autochtones et de déterminer des moyens pratiques pour que les deux pays travaillent sur des solutions communes, le haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie a été fier d’accueillir une série de trois événements canado-australiens : une table ronde de débats académiques, la projection publique d’un film et l’atelier « Poupées sans visage ».

La conversation s’est poursuivie en ligne grâce au mot-clic #AusCanIndigenousWellness tout au long des événements.

Collaborer pour la santé et le bien-être des Autochtones

La table ronde, le premier des trois événements, a été organisée en partenariat avec The Lowitja Institute, l’institut national australien de recherche sur la santé pour les Aborigènes et les habitants des îles du détroit de Torres, et a reçu le soutien de l’université nationale d’Australie, du ministère du premier ministre australien et de son Cabinet, du service de santé aborigène Winnunga Nimmityjah et d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada.

Le professeur Mick Dodson AM, directeur du National Centre for Indigenous Studies à l’université nationale d’Australie, assure la présentation lors de la conférence.

Au cours de cet événement, un grand nombre de sujets ont été traités, notamment la scène et le cadre international, la politique du gouvernement au Canada et en Australie, les effets de la colonisation et du racisme au sein des systèmes et l’importance de reconnaître et de diffuser la connaissance et les valeurs autochtones. Des approches mises en œuvre par les Autochtones et la gouvernance de la santé et du bien-être ont également été abordées, comme les approches en matière de prestation de services pour les communautés autochtones éloignées.

Les participants ont reconnu la valeur de ces discussions et ont publié leurs commentaires en ligne. Voici un résumé rapide de Summer May Finlay qui a couvert l’événement au nom du haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie : My quick wrap up of the #AusCanIndigenousWellness Roundtable (Anglais Seulement)

Le haut-commissariat a également partagé sa vision et a décrit l’objectif général de la table ronde comme étant un moyen de cerner les questions ou les domaines en matière de santé et de bien-être pour les Autochtones où une collaboration entre le Canada et l’Australie serait particulièrement utile :

« La table ronde a offert un forum pour faire part des expériences, renforcer notre compréhension et identifier les lacunes présentes dans la prestation de services de santé pour les Autochtones au Canada et en Australie, afin que nos deux pays puissent collaborer en vue de combler ces lacunes. »

Son Excellence M. Paul Maddison

Projection publique du film « Fire Song » et rencontre de l’acteur principal.

Le deuxième événement a mis la lumière sur un film canadien, Fire Song, qui raconte l’histoire d’un adolescent Anishinaabe dans le nord de l’Ontario luttant pour aider sa famille à surmonter le suicide de sa sœur. Le film, qui a été projeté pour la première fois au Festival international du film de Toronto (TIFF), traite des questions les plus urgentes auxquelles sont confrontées les communautés des Premières Nations, notamment le suicide, l’alcoolisme et la consommation de drogues chez les jeunes.
L’acteur principal, Andrew Martin, un Mohawk des Six Nations Grand River Territory au Canada, s’est rendu à Canberra pour présenter la projection publique et participer à un groupe de discussion animé à la suite du film, accompagné de cinq professionnels de la santé autochtones du Canada et de l’Australie.

Le Dr Jeff Reading, professeur en sciences de la santé à l’université Simon Fraser et président de First Nations Health Authority en santé du cœur et bien-être à l’hôpital St. Paul, et Mandy Yap, chercheuse universitaire à la Crawford School of Public Policy, avec l’une des poupées sans visage confectionnées.

« Poupées sans visage » en souvenir des femme et des filles autochtones disparues et assassinées

Le dernier événement s’est déroulé en souvenir des plus de 1 200 femmes et filles autochtones disparues et assassinées au Canada. L’atelier a été animé par le service de santé aborigène Winnunga Nimmityjah et plusieurs membres de ce groupe de femmes ont rejoint les participants de la table ronde pour confectionner des poupées colorées qui seront exposées de retour au Canada.

Le haut-commissaire, Paul Maddison, a dit que l’atelier s’était inspiré de l’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada et avait permis d’attirer l’attention sur l’Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.

 « L’atelier a été une représentation virtuelle et physique des femmes et des filles autochtones disparues et assassinées. Nous espérons que notre engagement permettra de produire un effet d’entraînement dans le monde à la mémoire de ces femmes et de ces filles. »

Le haut-commissaire M. Maddison

Engagement du Canada

Le Canada s’engage à faire progresser la réconciliation et à renouveler les relations entre les nations et les peuples autochtones, en se fondant sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat.

L’année 2017 marque le 150e anniversaire de la confédération du Canada et la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones est un des thèmes principaux de l’année.