Supporting women's startups and entrepreneurship in Vietnam

Supporters and partners of WISE.

  • At the WISE launch: women mentors, funders and ecosystem builders.

The startup and entrepreneurship culture is growing globally.  In Southeast Asia, Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City in particular, is emerging as a hotspot.

It is estimated that 25% of CEOs in Vietnam are women, pointing to fertile grounds for discussions and initiatives around women’s empowerment and business opportunities.  Young women need to be key voices in those discussions.

Youth, including young women, are helping to drive this phenomenon as they look to take control of their economic destiny.  Rapid technological change and a shift by governments to establish new sources of innovation and job creation to offset slow growth in traditional markets are also contributing factors.

Women are ‘WISE’ - A network for women

The Consulate General of Canada to Vietnam, in Ho Chi Minh City, partnered with Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada (APFC) to participate in the launch of the 'Women's Initiative for Startups and Entrepreneurship' (WISE).

WISE is the first‎-ever network for women entrepreneurs and startup ecosystem builders in Ho Chi Minh City. WISES's will address gender-specific challenges faced by women entrepreneurs through mentoring and fund-raising.  The goal is for the network to expand throughout Vietnam.

The Consulate General has been networking with key partners to help underline Canada's s commitment to support women entrepreneurship. The Consulate General also supported two workshops "Women-led Micro, small and medium sized enterprises (MSMEs) and e-commerce” and "Innovation for Startups."

"Vietnamese are inherently entrepreneurial, women at least so as much as much as men. Canada is proud to be providing support for Vietnam's startup movement, which holds the promise of allowing so many young women and men to take charge of their own destiny."

Head of mission, Richard Bale

Canada continues to support projects around the world that stimulate and promote gender equality.

Related information

Soutenir la création d’entreprise et l’entrepreneuriat des femmes au Vietnam

Soutiens et partenaires de WISE.

  • Au lancement de WISE : femmes mentors, bailleurs de fonds et bâtisseuses d’écosystèmes.

La culture de la création d’entreprise et de l’entrepreneuriat progresse au niveau mondial. En Asie du Sud-Est, le Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh en particulier, est devenu un point névralgique.  

D’après les estimations, 25 % des PDG au Vietnam sont des femmes, ce qui fait de ce pays un terreau fertile pour les discussions et les initiatives liées à l’autonomisation des femmes et aux perspectives commerciales. Les jeunes femmes doivent être des voix importantes dans ces discussions.

Les jeunes, notamment les jeunes femmes, contribuent à accentuer ce phénomène en cherchant à prendre le contrôle de leur destin économique. L’évolution rapide des techniques et le tournant pris par les gouvernements pour établir de nouvelles sources d’innovation et de création d’emplois afin de compenser la lente croissance sur les marchés traditionnels sont également des facteurs contributifs.

WISE, un réseau pour les femmes

Le Consulat général du Canada au Vietnam, à Ho Chi Minh, s’est associé à la Fondation Asie Pacifique du Canada pour lancer la Women’s Initiative for Startups and Entrepreneurship (WISE).

Le réseau WISE est le tout premier réseau pour les femmes entrepreneures et bâtisseuses d’un écosystème pour entreprises en démarrage à Ho Chi Minh. Il s’attelle à résoudre les problèmes sexospécifiques auxquels les femmes font face grâce au mentorat et à des collectes de fonds. L’objectif est d’étendre le réseau à travers le Vietnam.

Le Consulat général a collaboré avec un certain nombre de partenaires clés pour aider à souligner l’engagement du Canada en faveur de l’entrepreneuriat des femmes. Le Consulat général a également soutenu deux ateliers consacrés aux micro-entreprises et petites et moyennes entreprises dirigées par des femmes et le commerce électronique (Women-led Micro, small and medium sized enterprises (MSMEs) and e-commerce) et à l’innovation pour entreprises en démarrage (Innovation for Startups).

« Les Vietnamiens ont une culture entrepreneuriale forte, les femmes au moins autant que les hommes. Le Canada est fier de soutenir le mouvement de création d’entreprise au Vietnam grâce auquel tant de jeunes femmes et de jeunes hommes prennent leur destin en mains. »

Richard Bale, chef de mission

Le Canada continue de soutenir des projets à travers le monde qui stimulent et encouragent l’égalité des sexes.

Information connexe