Raising awareness about child marriage in Bangladesh

High Commissioner giving away award to the team of Governance Innovation Unit - Prime Minister’s Office

 “I did not know about my rights earlier so my parents forced me to marry. I must take the initiative so that my younger sister is not forced to get married early.” - Samira

“I overcame the curse of early marriage.” - Parvin

Every year, 15 million girls around the world are forced to marry before their 18th birthday. Each of these girls has a story to tell.

Child marriage in Bangladesh has reduced from 74% to 52% in the last ten years. A number that reflects progress, but there’s still much that can be done.

The High Commission recently hosted an award ceremony to celebrate the work of leaders in the community working to end child marriage and gender-based violence. The Girls’ Voices exhibit was on display at the ceremony, showcasing the importance of girls speaking up and sharing their own stories. Samira and Parvin are from the Northern and Southern region of Bangladesh respectively. They have shared their stories.

Samira

I live in a village in the Nilphamari district. I am victim of early marriage. When I was 14, I was forced into a marriage as I was considered a burden on the family. My family suggested this marriage as the groom didn’t ask for dowry. My husband was double my age (35). During the marriage I had the horrible experience of marital rape. Not being able to tolerate it anymore, I went back to my parents’ home and am living with them again. I am so scared of my husband and married life.

I learnt about sexual and reproductive health and rights from the IMAGE project of Terre des Hommes Netherlands. Due to my bitter experience, I decided to be a ‘Change Maker’. I am determined to continue my education, practice safe sex and not to get pregnant before 20. I am also determined to protect my younger sister (12) from early marriage.

Parvin

I live in Patukhali district. I’m14 years old and in class 8 at the local school. My father is a peanut seller and he wanted to reduce the family’s outgoings so he arranged for me to marry a 25 year old man from a nearby village.

I protested as I saw how many young girls were becoming mothers and dying in childbirth. I also saw them dropping out of school.

Monirul Alam, a brave young man who is a community support group member of Nirapod - 2 project, came to know about the marriage and tried to talk to my father about the negative consequences that such an early marriage would have. But my father didn’t listen. So Monirul said that he would inform the chairman of the union and the UNO. Unfortunately, that it didn’t work either. Finally, he pretended to phone the police on the day of my wedding. The groom’s father was afraid the police would come and so went back to his village. I overcame the curse of early marriage.

“Much progress has been achieved in regards to the child marriage in Bangladesh. This was only possible due to the dedication and commitment of the government officials who are working at the grassroots level. We hope that other officials will be inspired by these awardees, and will in turn be able to further contribute to a reduction of child marriage and gender-based violence all across Bangladesh.”

The High Commissioner of Canada

The awardees shared their experiences and the measures they are taking to prevent child marriage in their areas with the media:

“Child marriage is the most egregious form of human rights violation for which the entire society must be held accountable. A society is judged by the way we treat our girls and we must all join hands in fighting this societal scourge.”

Professor Dr Gowher Rizvi
International Relation Advisor

“Bangladesh is making huge progress in reducing child marriage and we must ensure that progress is accelerated over the coming years. A stronger law against child marriage, which does not allow for marriages of girls under 18, will be an important step forward in the right direction.”

Ms Anna Minj,
Director BRAC and National Coordinator of Girls Not Brides Bangladesh Alliance

Read more:

Sensibiliser le public sur le mariage des enfants au Bangladesh

Le Haut-Commissaire remet un prix à l'équipe de l'Unité de l'innovation en gouvernance - Bureau du Premier ministre

 “Avant, je ne connaissais pas mes droits et mes parents m'ont mariée de force. Maintenant, je dois agir pour que ma sœur cadette ne soit pas mariée de force trop tôt” - Samira

“J'ai brisé la malédiction du mariage précoce.” - Parvin

Chaque année, 15 millions de filles à travers le monde sont contraintes de se marier avant leur 18e anniversaire. Chacune de ces filles a une histoire à raconter.

Le mariage d’enfants au Bangladesh est passé de 74 % à 52 % au cours des dix dernières années. Ce chiffre est le reflet des progrès accomplis mais il y a encore beaucoup à faire.

Le Haut-Commissariat a récemment organisé une cérémonie de remise de prix afin de saluer le travail de leaders qui œuvrent au sein de la communauté pour mettre un terme au mariage d’enfants et à la violence sexospécifique. L’exposition Paroles de filles était à l’honneur lors de la cérémonie. Cette exposition illustre combien il est important que ces filles prennent la parole et partagent leurs expériences. Samira et Parvin sont originaires respectivement du Nord et du Sud du Bangladesh. Elles ont apporté leur témoignage.

Samira

Je vis dans un village du district de Nilphamari. Je suis une victime des mariages précoces. Quand j'avais 14 ans, j'ai été mariée de force car j'étais considérée comme un fardeau pour ma famille. Ma famille a accepté ce mariage car le marié ne demandait pas de dot. Mon mari avait le double de mon âge (35 ans). Pendant mon mariage j'ai subi l'expérience horrible du viol conjugal. Ne pouvant plus le tolérer, je suis retournée chez mes parents et je vis avec eux désormais. J'ai tellement peur de mon mari et de la vie conjugale.

J'ai entendu parler de droits et de santé sexuelle et reproductive grâce au projet IMAGE de Terre des Hommes Pays-Bas. À cause de mon amère expérience, j'ai décidé d'être une « actrice du changement ». Je suis déterminée à poursuivre mes études, à adopter des pratiques sexuelles sûres et à ne pas tomber enceinte avant mes 20 ans. Je suis aussi déterminée à protéger ma sœur cadette (12 ans) d'un mariage précoce.

Parvin

Je vis dans le district de Patukhali. J'ai 14 ans et suis en classe 8 à l'école locale. Mon père est un vendeur de cacahuètes et qu'il voulait réduire les dépenses de la famille, il s'est donc arrangé pour me faire épouser un homme de 25 ans d'un village voisin.

J'ai protesté car j'avais vu nombre de jeunes filles devenir mères et mourir en couches. Je les avais vues abandonner l'école.

Monirul Alam, un jeune homme courageux, membre du groupe communautaire de soutien du projet Nirapod - 2, a entendu parler de ce mariage et a essayé d'expliquer à mon père les conséquences négatives qu'aurait un tel mariage. Mais mon père n'a pas écouté. Alors Monirul a dit qu'il informerait le président de l'intercommunalité et de l'UNO. Malheureusement, cela n'a pas marché non plus. Finalement, il a fait semblant de téléphoner à la police le jour de mon mariage. Le père du marié a eu peur que la police ne vienne et est retourné dans son village. J'ai brisé la malédiction du mariage précoce.

« D’énormes progrès ont été accomplis dans le domaine du mariage d’enfants au Bangladesh. Ces progrès ont été rendus possibles grâce au dévouement et à la détermination des responsables gouvernementaux qui œuvrent sur le terrain. Nous espérons que ces lauréates seront une source d’inspiration pour d’autres responsables et que ces derniers seront en mesure de contribuer à leur tour au recul des mariages d’enfants et de la violence sexospécifique partout au Bangladesh. »

Le haut-commissaire du Canada

Les lauréates ont présenté leurs expériences aux médias ainsi que les mesures qu’elles prennent pour empêcher le mariage d’enfants dans leur région respective :

« Le mariage d’enfants est la forme la plus flagrante de violation des droits de la personne; un phénomène pour lequel la société tout entière doit être tenue responsable. Une société est jugée en fonction de la façon dont elle traite ses filles et nous devons tous conjuguer nos efforts pour lutter contre ce fléau sociétal. »

Dr Gowher Rizvi
Conseiller en relations internationales

« Le Bangladesh accomplit d’énormes progrès dans le domaine de la lutte contre le mariage d’enfants et nous devons faire en sorte que ces progrès s’accélèrent au cours des prochaines années. Une loi plus ferme contre le mariage d’enfants, qui empêche les filles de moins de 18 ans de se marier, sera un pas important dans la bonne direction. »

Anna Minj
Directrice, BRAC et coordinatrice nationale de Girls Not Brides Bangladesh Alliance

Ressources supplémentaires :