Canada in Australia: 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence

Members of the Simbu Rural Women Empowerment organisation in Papua New Guinea.

From the Seeds website: “Seeds Drama Artists getting ready for an outreach”

Community members embrace dramatic arts to raise awareness surrounding domestic and sorcery-related violence against women in Papua New Guinea.

The Namuga Hospital Project, funded by the High Commission, increased the quality of care for victims of gender-based violence.

Community members learn about safety and preventing gender-based violence through women’s groups in Vanuatu.
 

The Pacific region has some of the highest rates of domestic violence in the world.

Between 70 and 75 per cent of women in the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu reported experiencing some form of domestic violence.

A time to take action

The International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women marks the beginning of UN Women’s 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence Campaign, a time to take action to end violence against women and girls around the world.

The High Commission of Canada in Australia is committed to empowering women and helping to reduce gender based violence in the Pacific which it has supported through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI).

Changing attitudes: Women Not Witches

In the past three years, the High Commission has supported three programs run by the Seeds Theatre Group, all of which used dramatic arts to raise awareness surrounding domestic and sorcery-related violence against women in Papua New Guinea. These programs not only provided safe spaces for women and girls to take part in various activities, but encouraged boys and young men to change their attitudes and behaviours relating to the treatment of girls and women.

“Drama role play was used, depicting real-life situations of everyday life in a community, including beliefs and interaction where scenes portrayed events which lead to the murder of a woman accused of sorcery. These performances provided the audience with a clear understanding that killing is wrong, against the law, against Christian principles and against human rights.”

Empowering rural women

Simbu Rural Women Empowerment is an organisation in Papua New Guinea that conducts training sessions focusing on the empowerment of women by discussing issues such as gender equality and domestic violence in communities. Over the past five years, the High Commission of Canada has supported six other similar programs that address the problem of gender-based violence in the country.

In the highlands of Papua New Guinea (PNG), where gender based violence is extremely high, local faith pastors were invited to address gender-based violence across church-based settings.

“Awareness is well taken when women are assisted by men folks to improve women empowering women in the highlands of PNG. Increase curiosity among men and faith based elders to assist women to conduct awareness in the communities for gender equality and empowering women living or victims of domestic violence.”

A further outcome of this project has also been an increase in knowledge on the issues of sorcery-related violence against women and children.

Rebuilding a healthier community

In 2012/2013, the High Commission supported the Namuga Hospital Project, building a health facility for the 22,000 people of the Star Harbour area, as well as the two outlying islands of Santa Ana and Santa Catalina. The project has provided a healthier and safer environment for women and girls through health education and the provision of domestic violence services.

Women’s Rights Action Movement

The Solomon Islands Women’s Rights Action Movement (WRAM) has been helping to eliminate violence against women by training facilitators on the Family Protection Act and sharing information among service providers that enhance services for domestic violence victims. This program is one of four in Solomon Islands that the High Commission of Canada has supported through the CFLI in the past five years.

Community empowerment

ACTIV (Alternative Communities Trade in Vanuatu) is an organisation that runs empowerment programs for women’s groups in Vanuatu on issues such as domestic violence, reproductive health and economic empowerment. The High Commission of Canada has funded two ACTIV programs in recent years, as well as supported three other NGOs in the area of gender-based violence, as a means by which to address this problem.

Preventing gender-based violence in Micronesia

Micronesian Productions is running a program with women’s groups across the Federated States of Micronesia that identifies key issues such as safety and education, and raises their profile in a number of ways, including through community festivals and YouTube videos. This is a key program that the High Commission of Canada has supported through the CFLI that assists in preventing gender-based violence in the country.

Related information:

Le Canada en Australie : 16 journées de mobilisation contre la violence sexiste

Des membres de l’organisme Simbu Rural Women Empowerment, en Papouasie - Nouvelle-Guinée.

Légende tirée du site Web de Seeds : « Les acteurs de Seeds se préparent à sensibiliser leur public »

Des membres de la communauté adoptent l’art dramatique pour sensibiliser à la violence familiale et liée à la sorcellerie faite aux femmes en Papouasie - Nouvelle-Guinée.

Le projet de l’Hôpital de Namuga, financé par le Haut-commissariat, améliore la qualité des soins prodigués aux victimes de violence fondée sur le genre.

Au Vanuatu, des membres de la communauté se renseignent sur la sécurité et la prévention de la violence sexiste par le biais de groupes de femmes.
 

La région du Pacifique fait partie des zones où l’on constate les taux de violence familiale les plus élevés au monde.

Aux Îles Salomon et au Vanuatu, 70 à 75 % des femmes ont indiqué subir une violence familiale sous une forme ou une autre.

Il est temps de passer à l’action

La Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes. Cette date marque le début de la campagne d’ONU Femmes intitulée 16 journées de mobilisation contre la violence sexiste, lancée pour inciter les pays du monde entier à passer à l’action pour mettre un terme à la violence infligée aux femmes et aux filles.

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Australie s’engage à renforcer l’autonomie des femmes et à contribuer à la baisse de la violence fondée sur le genre dans le Pacifique par le truchement du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL).

Faire évoluer les mentalités : des femmes, pas des sorcières

Depuis trois ans, le Haut-commissariat soutient trois programmes de la Troupe de théâtre Seeds. Ces programmes misent sur l’art dramatique pour sensibiliser à la violence familiale infligée aux femmes en Papouasie - Nouvelle-Guinée. Ces programmes ne se contentent pas d’offrir aux femmes et aux filles des espaces sécuritaires où elles peuvent participer à des activités variées : ils incitent également les garçons et les jeunes hommes à changer de comportement en ce qui concerne le traitement des filles et des femmes.

« Nous avons fait appel au jeu de rôle pour mettre en scène des situations réelles qui surviennent tous les jours dans une communauté. Nous avons également inclus les croyances dans le cadre d’une pièce évoquant le meurtre d’une femme accusée de sorcellerie. Ces pièces ont permis d’expliquer clairement au public que c’est mal de tuer, que cela va à l’encontre de la loi, des principes chrétiens et des droits de la personne. »

Émancipation des femmes dans les zones rurales

Simbu Rural Women Empowerment est un organisme de Papouasie - Nouvelle-Guinée qui organise des formations axées sur l’autonomisation des femmes. Ces séances abordent des questions telles que l’égalité entre les sexes et la violence familiale. Au cours des cinq dernières années, le Haut-commissariat du Canada a appuyé six autres programmes similaires qui dénoncent le problème de la violence fondée sur le genre dans le pays.

Dans les hautes terres de Papouasie - Nouvelle-Guinée (PNG), où les taux de violence fondée sur le genre sont extrêmement élevés, on encourage les pasteurs locaux à évoquer cette question dans les lieux confessionnels.

« L’objectif de sensibilisation est atteint quand des femmes reçoivent l’aide de la gent masculine dans leur combat pour donner des moyens d’agir aux femmes des hautes terres de PNG. Susciter la curiosité chez les hommes et les gardiens de la foi aide les femmes à conduire des initiatives de sensibilisation au sein des communautés sur le thème de l’égalité entre les sexes et de l’autonomisation des femmes qui ont survécu à la violence familiale ou qui en sont victimes. »

Autre retombée positive du projet : le renforcement des connaissances concernant la violence qui est infligée aux femmes et aux enfants à la suite d’accusations de sorcellerie.

Reconstruire une communauté plus saine

En 2012-2013, le Haut-commissariat a apporté son soutien au projet de l’Hôpital de Namuga pour la construction d’un établissement de santé destiné aux 22 000 personnes de la zone de Star Harbour, ainsi qu’aux résidents des deux îles périphériques de Santa Ana et Santa Catalina. Grâce à des services d’éducation en santé et de lutte contre la violence familiale, le projet offre un environnement plus sain et sécuritaire aux femmes et aux filles.

Un mouvement d’action pour les droits des femmes

Le mouvement d’action pour les droits des femmes des Îles Salomon (Women’s Rights Action Movement, ou WRAM) contribue à l’éradication de la violence envers les femmes. Pour ce faire, il forme des animateurs à la loi sur la protection des familles et donne aux fournisseurs de services des renseignements permettant d’améliorer les prestations proposées aux victimes de violence familiale. Ce programme est l’une des quatre initiatives que le Haut-commissariat du Canada soutient depuis cinq ans par le biais du FCIL.

Autonomisation communautaire

ACTIV (Alternative Communities Trade in Vanuatu) est un organisme qui dirige des programmes d’autonomisation destinés à des groupes de femmes du Vanuatu et abordant des questions telles que la violence familiale, la santé génésique et l’émancipation économique. Le Haut-commissariat du Canada a apporté une aide financière à deux programmes d’ACTIV des dernières années, et a également soutenu trois autres ONG qui luttent contre la violence fondée sur le genre afin d’éliminer ce problème.

Prévention de la violence fondée sur le genre en Micronésie

Micronesian Productions mène actuellement une initiative auprès de groupes de femmes dans les États fédérés de Micronésie. Ce programme cerne des priorités clés comme la sécurité et l’éducation, et en fait la promotion par différents moyens, par exemple dans le cadre de festivals communautaires et grâce à des vidéos YouTube. Le Haut-commissariat du Canada soutient, par le biais du FCIL, ce programme essentiel qui aide à prévenir la violence sexiste dans le pays.

Renseignements connexes :