Raising voices together for indigenous rights in Latin America  

English / Français / Español

“Undoubtedly, we continue to see the challenges that exist for indigenous women in El Salvador and Canada are large and complex, but being here together today, gives us the certainty that we have come a long way and we shall continue recovering spaces and rights for our people.”
Canadian Ambassador to El Salvador Maryse Guibeault

A traditional ceremony of the Nahuat people opens the discussion forum in El Salvador.
 

Judy Clark receives a gift from El Salvadorian Culture Secretariat.
 

“Through this event, we wanted to demonstrate our strong commitment to the rights of Indigenous peoples and to women’s empowerment. Now, more than ever, it is critical for Indigenous women across Central America to join forces and work together for their rights and a better future for their daughters.” 
Canada’s Ambassador to Costa Rica, Michael Gort

Three Canadian Embassies in Latin America recently hosted a regional tour to promote indigenous women’s rights. The tour served as a platform for open dialogue amongst indigenous leaders from Canada and Latin America. It helped to commemorate International Day of the Elimination of Violence Against Women.

The Embassy of Canada to Costa Rica, the Embassy of Canada to El Salvador, and Embassy of Canada to Guatemala were proud to welcome Judith Clark, a member of Canada’s Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC), and Denise Haché, National Youth Representative for the NWAC to Guatemala, to Honduras, El Salvador, and Guatemala in order to meet with local indigenous leaders. Throughout the tour, Clark shared her personal story of challenges and successes.

Building connections between communities

In Honduras, Clark met with ten community representatives who came from different areas of the country and six organisations based in Tegucigalpa. Together they shared their respective experiences as indigenous women. The exchange was very well-received by the participants, who saw it as an insightful sharing experience.

The event was historic as it was the first time these representatives of local indigenous communities had the opportunity to meet each other in person, which made them realize that union makes them stronger. This exchange strengthened the relationship between Canada’s bilateral cooperation program, indigenous organizations, and local civil societies working to protect and promote indigenous women’s human rights.

Discussion on Indigenous Rights in El Salvador.

Working together for indigenous rights

During the stop in El Salvador, Canada’s Ambassador to El Salvador Maryse Guilbeault hosted a discussion forum with Clark, local partners, and 80 Salvadorian indigenous human rights leaders to exchange experiences. This productive discussion took place at the San Andres archeological site and commenced with a traditional local indigenous ceremony. During the forum, participants confirmed the importance of support for inclusive practices for their communities.

"This kind of meeting reaffirmed the importance of indigenous peoples worldwide," said Dr. Ramon Rivas, El Salvador’s Former Secretary of Culture. El Salvador’s indigenous leaders and ‎Canada committed to continue to work together to improve the rights of indigenous women in their countries.

Youth indigenous leaders in Sololá, Guatemala.

“As an indigenous woman, I am aware of the challenges we face as pillars of our families and communities.However, as Canada’s Ambassador to Guatemala, I can also attest to the potential of indigenous women to make valuable contributions to the development of their communities and economies. This is true in Guatemala, in Canada and everywhere in the world.”
Canada’s Ambassador to Guatemala, Deborah Chatsis

Cultural commonalities

In Guatemala, NWAC’s Youth Representative Chenise Haché, travelled to Sololá, an area in the Western Highlands that has a large indigenous population. Haché shared her Canadian experiences about youth leadership with young indigenous women leaders who are working on eliminating child early and forced marriage in their own communities. The young Canadian and Guatemalan women found much in common in their cultures and the challenges they face. 

Finally, Judy Clark capped off her regional tour by participating in the VII Indigenous Women’s Forum of the Americas in Guatemala. Canadian Ambassador to Guatemala Deborah Chatsis gave opening remarks on behalf of the international community, where she highlighted donors’ support for the economic, social and political empowerment of indigenous women. Discussions touched on human rights such as gender-based violence, poverty, empowerment and climate change. The meeting hosted more than 300 indigenous representatives from 21 countries and contributed to the strengthening of networks between organizations and women activists in the Americas.

S’exprimer pour les droits autochtones en Amérique latine

English / Français / Español

« Nous continuons sans aucun doute à voir que les défis qui existent pour les femmes autochtones en El Salvador et au Canada sont vastes et complexes. En étant aujourd’hui rassemblés, nous avons la certitude d’avoir parcouru du chemin et nous continuerons à regagner des espaces et des droits pour notre peuple. »
Maryse Guibeault, ambassadrice du Canada en El Salvador.

Une cérémonie traditionnelle du peuple Nahuat ouvre le forum de discussion en El Salvador
 

Judy Clark reçoit un cadeau du Secrétaire salvadorien à la Culture.
 

« À travers cet évènement, nous avons voulu démontrer notre engagement ferme envers les droits des peuples autochtones et l'autonomisation des femmes. Maintenant, plus que jamais, il est essentiel pour les femmes autochtones à travers l'Amérique centrale d'unir leurs forces et de travailler ensemble pour leurs droits et pour un avenir meilleur pour leurs filles. »
Michael Gort, ambassadeur du Canada au Costa Rica

Trois ambassades du Canada en Amérique latine ont récemment organisé une visite régionale pour faire la promotion des droits des femmes autochtones. La visite a servi de plateforme à un dialogue ouvert entre les dirigeants autochtones du Canada et d’Amérique latine. Cela à permis de célébrer la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes.

L’Ambassade du Canada au Costa Rica, l’Ambassade du Canada en El Salvador et l’Ambassade du Canada au Guatemala étaient fiers d’accueillir Judith Clark, membre de l’Association des femmes autochtones au Canada (AFAC), et la représentante nationale des jeunes de l’AFAC au Guatemala, Denise Haché, au Honduras, en El Salvador, et au Guatemala afin de rencontrer les dirigeants autochtones locaux. Au cours de la visite, Mme Clark a partagé ses réussites et défis personnels.

Établir des liens entre les communautés

Au Honduras, Mme Clark a rencontré dix représentantes de communautés provenant de différentes régions du pays et six responsables d’organismes basés à Tegucigalpa. Ensemble, elles ont partagé leurs expériences respectives en tant que femmes autochtones. Les participantes ont très bien accepté l’échange, perçu comme une expérience de partage pertinente.

L’événement a été historique, puisque c’était la première fois que ces représentantes de communautés autochtones locales avaient l’occasion de se retrouver en personne. Elles ont pris conscience que leur union les rend fortes. Cet échange a renforcé les relations entre le programme bilatéral de coopération du Canada, les organismes autochtones et les sociétés civiles locales qui travaillent pour protéger et faire la promotion des droits des femmes autochtones.

Discussion sur les droits des autochtones en El Salvador.

Collaborer pour les droits autochtones

Au cours de la visite en El Salvador, l’ambassadrice du Canada en El Salvador, Maryse Guilbeault, a organisé un forum de discussion avec Mme Clark, des partenaires locaux et 80 défenseurs salvadoriens autochtones des droits de l’homme pour partager leurs expériences. Cette discussion productive a eu lieu sur le site archéologique de San Andres et a débuté par une cérémonie autochtone locale traditionnelle. Au cours du forum, les participantes ont confirmé l’importance du soutien en matière de pratiques inclusives pour leurs communautés.

« Ce type de rencontre confirme l’importance des peuples autochtones dans le monde », a déclaré le Dr Ramon Rivas, ancien secrétaire à la culture en El Salvador. Les dirigeants autochtones en El Salvador et le ‎Canada se sont engagés à continuer de collaborer pour améliorer les droits des femmes autochtones dans leurs pays.

Jeunes dirigeants autochtones à Sololá, au Guatemala.

« En tant que femme autochtone, je suis consciente des défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés en tant que piliers de nos familles et de nos communautés. Cependant, en tant qu’ambassadrice du Canada au Guatemala, je peux également témoigner du potentiel des femmes autochtones pour faire des contributions précieuses au développement de leur communauté et de leur économie. C’est vrai au Guatemala, au Canada, et dans le monde entier. »
Deborah Chatsis, Ambassadrice du Canada au Guatemala.

Similitudes culturelles

Au Guatemala, Chenise Haché, représentante des jeunes de l’AFAC, s’est rendue à Sololá, une région montagneuse de l’ouest où vivent de nombreux autochtones. Mme Haché a partagé ses expériences canadiennes au sujet du leadership des jeunes avec les dirigeantes des jeunes femmes autochtones qui travaillent à abolir les mariages d’enfants précoces et forcés dans leurs propres communautés. Les jeunes femmes canadiennes et guatémaltèques ont trouvé beaucoup de points communs dans leurs cultures et parmi les défis qu’elles rencontrent.

Enfin, Judy Clark a terminé sa visite régionale en participant au VIIe forum des femmes autochtones des Amériques (lien en anglais seulement) au Guatemala. L’ambassadrice du Canada au Guatemala, Deborah Chatsis, a prononcé un discours d’ouverture au nom de la communauté internationale au cours duquel elle a souligné le soutien des donateurs pour l’autonomisation économique, sociale et politique des femmes autochtones. Les discussions ont porté sur les droits de la personne tels que la violence fondée sur le sexe, la pauvreté , la responsabilisation et le changement climatique. La rencontre a réuni plus de 300 représentantes autochtones de 21 pays et a permis le renforcement de réseaux entre les organismes et les militantes aux Amériques.