Canada and Estonia: Two sealskin designers, sharing expertise and creating opportunities

Jana Ruubel, Reet Könninge, Mona Netser, Maie Aav, Mark Soosaar, Elo Könninge

Jana Ruubel, Reet Könninge (women from the Kihnu island)

Fur coat made of seal skin.

Mona Netser, Reet Könninge, Elo Könninge – Elo and Reet getting some practical tips from the seamstress Mona

In Canada’s remote coastal and northern communities, sealing is an important part of the way of life and a much needed source of income for thousands of families. In addition to their economic value, seal products hold a significant cultural and traditional value to northern communities.

Although Estonia and the Canadian Arctic region are separated by a vast ocean, both share an interdependence of the people and their land in fishing and sealing traditions, Fostering a dialogues and sharing traditions brought our nations together as two sealskin designers from Nunavut, Mona Netser and Rannva Simonsen, visited Estonia.

Mona Netser is a traditional sealskin seamstress and designer from Cole Harbour, Nunavut who also teaches traditional methods and design to students of Nunavut Arctic College. Her work is featured at the Gallery of the High Commission of Canada in London, England.

Ravvna Simonsen emigrated to Iqaluit, Nunavut twenty years ago from the Faroe Islands. In Iqaluit, she operates Rannva's Designs and runs Sewing for Survival, a sealskin design program at a local women's shelter.

The workshop

Office of the Embassy of Canada in Tallinn invited various guests to come to the workshop, including the Viljandi Culture Academy and the Estonian Academy of Arts with members of the national handicraft guild.

Mona opened the workshop by lighting a qulliq, the traditional sealskin oil lamp used in the Arctic.

Estonian artists worked with the Mona and Ravvna to design accessories made out of sealskin. The group explored shared traditional methods of cutting and sewing; compared design methods, tools, and design; and shared stories.

'Sealing' as a tradition

Mark Soosaar, a former member of parliament, filmmaker and seal hunt conservationist from Estonia's Kihnu Island, showed his film about traditional sealing on the island; a historical tradition still supported by many residents.

Representatives of the Estonian Hunters’ Society also participated to learn more about the current situation of Indigenous sealing in Canada's north, and possible ways to teach indigenous traditional methods in Estonia.

Creating opportunities

The designers were accompanied by a delegation from Nunavut and the Department of Fisheries and Oceans. Following the 2015 agreement between Canada and the European Union, seal skin products certified from Indigenous people in Canada's north may be exported to the European Union.

Canadian and Estonian Indigenous connections will continue to strengthen in the future through activities such as; educational exchanges with the Estonian Academy of Arts and the Viljandi Culture Academy; and plans for indigenous artists from Canada to visit Estonia's historic sealing communities.

Canada et Estonie : Deux créatrices de vêtements en peau de phoque partagent leur savoir et créent des possibilités

Jana Ruubel, Reet Könninge, Mona Netser, Maie Aav, Mark Soosaar, Elo Könninge

 Jana Ruubel, Reet Könninge (femmes originaires de l’île de Kihnu)

Manteau de fourrure fabriqué avec de la peau de phoque

Mona Netser, Reet Könninge, Elo Könninge – Mona donne des conseils de couture à Elo et Reet

Dans les collectivités côtières et du Nord du Canada très isolées, la chasse au phoque est un aspect important du mode de vie et une source de revenu essentielle pour des milliers de familles. Outre leur valeur économique, les produits dérivés du phoque ont une grande valeur traditionnelle et culturelle pour les collectivités du Nord.

Même si l’Estonie et la région de l’Arctique canadien sont séparées par un vaste océan, il existe dans les deux régions une relation étroite entre les habitants et leurs terres et les traditions liées à la pêche et à la chasse au phoque.

La volonté de favoriser le dialogue et le partage de traditions a rapproché nos deux nations et a motivé deux créatrices de vêtements en peau de phoque du Nunavut, Mona Netser et Rannva Simonsen, à se rendre en Estonie. 

Mona Netser est une couturière et créatrice de vêtements en peau de phoque traditionnels de Cole Harbour (Nunavut). Elle enseigne également les méthodes traditionnelles et le design aux étudiants du Nunavut Arctic College. Son travail est exposé dans la Galerie du Haut-commissariat du Canada à Londres (Angleterre).

Ravvna Simonsen est originaire des îles Féroé et a émigré à Iqaluit (Nunavut) il y a vingt ans. À Iqaluit, elle s’occupe Rannva's Designs et dirige Sewing for Survival, un programme de design de peaux de phoque dans un refuge pour femmes de la région.

L’atelier

Le Bureau de l’ambassade du Canada à Tallinn a invité diverses personnes à venir à l’atelier, notamment la Viljandi Culture Academy et l’Estonian Academy of Arts et des membres de l’office national d’artisanat.

Mona a débuté l’atelier en allumant un qulliq, la lampe à huile de phoque traditionnelle utilisée dans l’Arctique.

Des artistes estoniens ont travaillé avec Mona et Ravvna pour fabriquer des accessoires en peau de phoque. Les membres du groupe ont étudié les méthodes traditionnelles de découpe et de couture, ont comparé les techniques et outils de design et ont échangé leurs expériences.

La tradition de la chasse au phoque

Mark Soosaar, ancien député, cinéaste et défenseur de la chasse au phoque originaire de l’île de Kihnu en Estonie, a montré son film sur la chasse au phoque traditionnelle sur l’île. Cette tradition historique continue d’avoir le soutien de nombreux résidents.

Des représentants de l’Estonian Hunters’ Society ont également participé afin d’en savoir plus sur la situation actuelle dans le Nord du Canada en ce qui concerne la chasse au phoque autochtone et sur les façons d’enseigner les méthodes traditionnelles autochtones en Estonie.

Créer des possibilités

Les créatrices étaient accompagnées par une délégation du Nunavut et du ministère des Pêches et des Océans. En application de l’entente conclue en 2015 entre le Canada et l’Union européenne, les produits dérivés de la peau de phoque certifiés par les peuples autochtones dans le Nord du Canada peuvent être exportés vers l’Union européenne.

Les liens établis entre les peuples autochtones canadiens et estoniens continueront de se renforcer grâce à des activités telles que des échanges pédagogiques avec l’Estonian Academy of Arts et la Viljandi Culture Academy et des projets de visite d’artistes autochtones canadiens dans les communautés historiques estoniennes pratiquant la chasse au phoque.