Canada celebrating National Aboriginal Day in Switzerland

The Cerny Inuit collection showcasing Aboriginal contemporary and traditional art pieces

The Embassy of Canada to Switzerland hosted a reception for National Aboriginal Day as a way of celebrating Canada’s unique heritage, diverse cultures and the outstanding contribution of First NationsInuit and Métis peoples to Canadian identity today. The Canadian Constitution recognizes these three groups as Aboriginal peoples, also known as Indigenous Peoples.

A collection piece made out of whalebone, caribou antler and a seal claw.

The event showcased how Aboriginal arts, history and heritage are woven into the fabric of our country, without losing sight of the many challenges still facing Canada’s Aboriginal communities, such as Indian Residential Schools and Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, and emphasized Canada’s continued and strong commitment to reconciliation today.

 “Indigenous voices and perspectives are of the utmost importance as our country works together to give our kids and grandkids a better, healthier, more prosperous, and more inclusive tomorrow. I look forward to working with Indigenous leaders to make real progress on the important issues affecting their communities and Canada.”

—Rt. Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada

 

 

Aboriginal contemporary and traditional art pieces

The reception took place at the Museum Cerny Inuit Collection, which houses a remarkable and extensive collection of contemporary and traditional art. The event attracted many guests and began with the lighting of the Qullik lamp, used mainly for ceremonial purposes.

In addition to the Collection, the Animatou Festival, with the support of the Embassy of Canada in collaboration with the National Film Board of Canada, showcased MANITOU, a free travelling program of 7 short animated films from Canada. These films were shown to highlight various aspects of life and traditions of Canadian Aboriginal peoples. After being screened at the Cerny Collection, the program will be shared across Switzerland. 

Choosing the Cerny Inuit Collection Museum to celebrate National Aboriginal Day provided the guests with a unique encounter in experiencing the customs and art of the peoples of the Arctic. Jessica Kotierk from Igloolik, Nunavut, who was in Berne working on York University‘s Mobilising Inuit Cultural Heritage project with the museum, lighted the Qulliq practicing an age old tradition that today also marks important communal gatherings and contributed to evening’s lively discussions.
The echo was one of discovery and fascination
. ”

—Martha Cerny, Founder & Curator, Museum Cerny Inuit Collection

Embassy of Canada to Switzerland partners for National Aboriginal Day around the traditional Qullik lamp.

Le Canada célèbre la Journée nationale des Autochtones en Suisse

La Cerny Inuit Collection présentant des œuvres d’art autochtones traditionnelles et contemporaines.

L’ambassade du Canada en Suisse a marqué la Journée nationale des Autochtones en célébrant l’héritage unique du Canada, ses cultures diverses et la contribution remarquable des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis. La Constitution canadienne reconnaît ces trois groupes en tant que peuples autochtones.

Une pièce de collection faite à partir d’os de baleine, de bois de caribou et d’une griffe de phoque.

Cet événement a mis l’accent sur la contribution remarquable des peuples autochtones aux arts, à l’histoire et au patrimoine, qui sont des éléments constitutifs de notre pays. En outre, cet événement a attiré l’attention sur les nombreux défis que les communautés autochtones canadiennes doivent relever, tels que la résolution des pensionnats indiens et l’enquête nationale sur les femmes autochtones disparues et assassinées, et sur l’engagement du Canada en faveur de la réconciliation.

 « Il est extrêmement important de faire entendre la voix et le point de vue des Autochtones au moment où notre pays cherche à donner à nos enfants et à nos petits-enfants un lendemain meilleur, plus sain, plus prospère et plus inclusif. Je suis impatient de travailler avec les dirigeants autochtones, pour faire avancer des dossiers importants qui touchent à la fois leurs communautés et le Canada. »

— Le très honorable Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada

 

 

Œuvres d’art autochtones traditionnelles et contemporaines

La réception a eu lieu au musée Cerny Inuit Collection, qui accueille une vaste collection remarquable d’art traditionnel et contemporain. L’évènement a attiré de nombreux invités et a débuté par l’allumage du qulliq, une lampe principalement utilisée à des fins rituelles.

En plus de cette collection, le festival Animatou, avec l’appui de l’ambassade du Canada et en collaboration avec l’Office national du film du Canada, a présenté MANITOU, un programme itinérant gratuit de sept courts métrages d’animation canadiens. Ces films ont été projetés afin de souligner différents aspects de la vie et des traditions des Autochtones du Canada. Après sa projection à la Cerny Collection, le programme voyagera dans l’ensemble de la Suisse. 

Les partenaires de l’ambassade du Canada en Suisse autour de la lampe qulliq traditionnelle pour la Journée nationale des Autochtones.

« Le choix du musée Cerny Inuit Collection pour célébrer la Journée nationale des Autochtones a permis aux invités de vivre une expérience unique à travers la découverte des traditions et de l’art des peuples de l’Arctique. Présente à Berne dans le cadre de sa collaboration avec le musée sur le projet "Mobilising Inuit Cultural Heritage" de l’Université York, Jessica Kotierk, de Igloolik, au Nunavut, a allumé le qulliq, pratiquant ainsi une tradition ancestrale qui marque désormais les rassemblements communautaires importants et qui a contribué aux discussions animées de la soirée. Cette soirée a été source de découverte et de fascination. »

—  Martha Cerny, conservatrice du musée Cerny Inuit Collection