Eyes Abroad 2011

Eyes Abroad - stories from the field

  • Building futures with education in the Philippines

    Ambassador Thornley greets Bajau youth

    2011-12-28 - Canada is helping indigenous Bajaus settle in a new community by providing food and school supplies for children and livelihood skills for women. [Philippines, December 2011]

  • Canada participates in the Algiers International Comic Strip Festival

    A group of children at an artistic exhibit

    2011-12-19 - Comic book artists and cartoonists flocked to Algiers from thirty-seven different countries around the world – including Canada. With a program of exhibitions, panel discussions, workshops, and film screenings, it was a very busy four days. [Algiers, December 2011]

  • Learning together at the Maple Arch military exercises in Poland

    Soldiers at attention

    2011-12-15 - Standing side-by-side and shoulder-to-shoulder, a group of two hundred soldiers undertook special training known as the Maple Arch exercises, so they can learn to cooperate effectively in the field. [Poland, December 2011]

  • Engaging Youth in Ghanaian Democracy

    Mr. Kofi Akpaloo at the forum on the role of youth in elections

    2011-12-12 - In preparation for the upcoming 2012 elections in Ghana, the High Commission of Canada, in partnership with the Institute of Professional Studies-Students’ Representative Council, organized a forum on the role of youth in elections at the Institute of Professional Studies in East Legon. [Ghana, December 2011]

  • Promoting accountability in Trinidad and Tobago

    Anti-Corruption conference

    2011-12-08 - Corrupt procurement practices have contributed to bringing down two Trinbagonian governments in recent years, so Canadian experts have been eager to assist by sharing best practices and discussing the diverse global views of Anti-Corruption Commissions. [Trinidad and Tobago, December 2011]

  • Canadian Dancers MOVE at the 13th Annual Bangkok International Festival of Music and Dance

    The dancers of MOVE

    2011-11-22 - The Bangkok International Festival of Music and Dance is Thailand’s largest annual performing arts celebration, and a worldwide attraction for dance and music lovers of all stripes. This year, the festival featured the dancers of MOVE, a Vancouver-based contemporary dance company. [Thailand, November 2011]

  • Culture on Cloth: Inuit Tapestries in Trinidad and Tobago

    Culture on Cloth: Inuit Tapestries in Trinidad and Tobago

    2011-11-18 - The arctic lands of Canada’s North may seem to be a long way from Port of Spain, but art can connect cultures and communities all over the world. Culture on Cloth is a travelling exhibition of tapestry art produced by Inuit women from Nunavut that concluded its Latin American tour with a visit to Port of Spain, in Trinidad and Tobago.

  • Ongoing friendship: 20th Anniversary of the re-establishment of Canada-Lithuania diplomatic relations

    Ongoing friendship: 20th Anniversary of the re-establishment of Canada-Lithuania diplomatic relations

    2011-10-26 - In 1990, the year before the break-up of the Soviet Union, Lithuania became the first Soviet republic to declare independence. More than two decades later, we celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the re-establishment of Canada-Lithuania diplomatic relations.

  • Connecting Communities and Commemorating the 10th Anniversary of the Inter-American Democratic Charter in Chile

    10th Anniversary of the Inter-American Democratic Charter

    2011-10-25 - Through the establishment of a computer club in the low income community called La Granja, this project helps vulnerable children to become functional digital citizens, improving their ability to access employment and academic opportunities.

  • A taste of Canada at the Monterrey International Film Festival

    A taste of Canada at the Monterrey International Film Festival

    2011-10-20 - The MIFF is the most important film festival in Northern Mexico and one of the country’s most important cultural events. Each year the festival invites a guest country with an important cinematographic tradition – and this year, that country was Canada.

  • Unique Perspectives and Difference Makers: Discussions of disability in Australia

    Discussions of disability in Australia

    2011-10-14 - Three high profile Canadians, including Man in Motion Rick Hansen, visited Australia to participate in continuing dialogue on the challenges, achievements and research into disability and accessibility – and to connect with communities in the arts and sciences.

  • Building community participation in the prevention and treatment of Tuberculosis

    Building community participation in the prevention and treatment of Tuberculosis

    2011-10-11 - Four years ago, Irene Nyambura’s husband contracted Tuberculosis. Today, Irene is a community health worker in the low income settlement area of Kawangware who works tirelessly to break down the stigma and teach the community about how to prevent and treat TB.

  • Celebrating Children’s Musical Achievements in Greece

    Celebrating Children’s Musical Achievements in Greece

    2011-09-30 - Putting a creative spin on the classic German story of the Pied Piper, The Magic Recorder is the product of a successful partnership between Canada and Greece, during which children’s choirs came together to perform in an innovative cross-cultural project.

  • Comic meets iconic

    Just For Laughs

    2011-09-28 - Starting from humble roots in Montreal, Just for Laughs at the Sydney Opera House attracted 16,000 comedy fans. [Australia, September 2011]

  • Maple leaves abound at University of Wollongong’s All Canada Day

    Maple leaves abound at University of Wollongong’s All Canada Day

    2011-09-26 - It was a great delight when the red maple leaf popped up all over campus for the celebration of All Canada Day, in which the university highlighted Canadian film, literature, and seminars on exchange to Canada and Canadian research funding.

  • Building Green Roofs in Chandigarh

    Building Green Roofs in Chandigarh

    2011-09-20 - An innovation that has grown popular in residential and business buildings alike, green roofs are a creative approach to reducing heating and cooling costs, in addition to increasing the amount of growing space available for vegetation. [India, September 2011]

  • Sharing Canadian Literature in Sweden

    Sharing Canadian Literature in Sweden

    2011-09-12 - The translation of works of literature into different languages is one of many ways we can share knowledge and creativity across borders and promote cross-cultural understanding. The Canadian Embassy in Stockholm recently had the pleasure of hosting two different Canadian authors on their visits to Sweden.

  • Continuing the Legacy of Terry Fox in Bangkok

    Continuing the Legacy of Terry Fox in Bangkok

    2011-09-07 - After fifty years of diplomatic relations between Thailand and Canada, the two countries continue to work together to enact positive social change; this time around, Thailand and Canada banded together again in the fight against cancer.

  • Tapping into the Trinbagonian diaspora

    Tapping into the Trinbagonian diaspora

    2011-08-31 - When it comes to ties between Canada and Trinidad and Tobago, there is certainly a lot to celebrate. The High Commission of Canada in Port-of-Spain hosted a celebration in which they tapped into the Trinbagonian diaspora – and brought world-class entertainment home to Trinidad and Tobago.

  • Bringing hope to displaced youth in Somalia

    2011-08-30 - It’s been more than five years since 16 year old Deka fled Mogadishu. The Galkayo Education Center for Peace and Development started a vocational skills training project to directly benefit displaced girls and equip them with skills that would enable them generate income and sustain their needs.

  • Slapshots and Canadian karaoke: Bangkok celebrates Canada’s francophone culture

    Slapshots and Canadian karaoke: Bangkok celebrates Canada’s francophone culture

    2011-08-29 - Large groups of students travelled to Bangkok for La Journée internationale de la francophonie, and were eager to take part in the various activities offered, as well as a petanque tournament and a karaoke contest.

  • A celebration of Canadian music in Tasmania

    A celebration of Canadian music in Tasmania

    2011-08-24 - When it comes to making music, Canada and Australia sing in perfect harmony. Tasmania’s celebrated festival, Ten Days on the Island, once again highlighted island life with a lively menu of Canadian artists and performers mainly from Canada’s east coast.

  • Unfurling the flag in Tunisia

    2011-08-09 - Hoisting the Canadian flag for the first time in front of the new chancery was a proud event for Canadians and Tunisians alike, as the ceremony highlighted the significance of the new chancery’s opening recently following the Jasmine Revolution of January 2011.

  • Canada serves up culinary delights in Costa Rica

    2011-08-08 - To mark the arrival of Canadian beef to Costa Rican markets, Canadian Ambassador Cameron MacKay hosted a culinary celebration at the official residence in San José, featuring the renowned Chef Edgar Alvarez.

  • Grandmothers and Canadian Diversity

    2011-08-04 - Grandmother, baba, nona, yiayia, babcia: how would you describe your grandmother to the world? The Canadian Embassy in Stockholm hosted a photo exhibition entitled Legacies, highlighting Canadian women and diversity.

  • Canada helps preserve a Pacific treasure

    Canada helps preserve a Pacific treasure

    2011-08-02 - Canada continues to support the development and preservation of natural and cultural assets in Batanes, a unique province in the Philippines.

  • Canadian Embassy Employees Volunteer for Island Clean-up in Budapest

    A team from different sections of the embassy is cleans the sandbox of the playground

    2011-07-28 - The Ambassador and staff of the Canadian Embassy in Budapest spent a day volunteering in the community park of Margit Island.

  • Art makes an impact in Manila’s depressed communities

    Art makes an impact in Manila’s depressed communities

    2011-07-28 - It is not easy to be outdoors in Manila as this is the peak of the Philippines’ dry summer season. But the searing heat did not deter more than sixty Canadian and local staff of the Embassy in Manila, led by Ambassador Christopher Thornley, when they recently volunteered their time to paint houses at a social housing project

  • Born to be Wild: Canadian primatologist and conservationist Biruté Galdikas is honoured in Lithuania

    Born to be Wild: Canadian primatologist and conservationist Biruté Galdikas is honoured in Lithuania

    2011-07-28 - World renowned primatologist and conservationist, Canada's own Dr. Biruté Galdikas, visited Lithuania in early May, where she received a State Honour at the Presidential Palace and spearheaded an initiative to rejuvenate Lithuania's oak forests.

  • A Network of Canadians Working in International Organizations

    A Network of Canadians Working in International Organizations

    2011-07-28 - Ambassador Lambert and his wife highlighted the accomplishments of the hundreds of Canadians working in the International courts and tribunals as well as the OPCW, NATO’s NC3A and other organisations present in The Hague, International City of Peace and Justice.

  • Canada honours pioneers of the sciences in Israel

    Canada honours pioneers of the sciences in Israel

    2011-07-28 - The Canadian Ambassador to Israel co-hosted a reception to recognize Israeli recipients of this year’s prestigious Canada Gairdner International Awards, which support the world’s leading biomedical scientists.

  • Women making waves through constitutional activism

    Women making waves through constitutional activism

    2011-07-28 - The Foundation for Human Rights hosted a screening of Consitute!, a documentary celebrating the diverse history of women’s activism in constitution-making.

  • Training UN Police Officers in the Democratic Republic of Congo

    Training UN Police Officers in the Democratic Republic of Congo

    2011-07-28 - After a November exploratory visit facilitated by the Embassy of Canada in Kinshasa, the Pearson Peacekeeping Centre returned to give a training session on sexual violence to UN police officers.

  • Sharing Procurement Knowledge Across Countries and Sectors

    Sharing Procurement Knowledge Across Countries and Sectors

    2011-07-28 - Sharing knowledge with management in the public and private sectors of Trinidad and Tobago, Canada co-hosted a successful procurement practices learning event.

  • Canadian Companies Apply High Social Standards in Chile

    Canadian Companies Apply High Social Standards in Chile

    2011-05-06 - Chile-Canada Chamber of Commerce launched its second glowing report on the Corporate Social Responsibility practices of Canadian companies operating in Chile.

  • Transformational Canadian Lauded for Work in Ghana

    Transformational Canadian Lauded for Work in Ghana

    2011-03-03 - Kathy Knowles has been recognized for her work building libraries and promoting literacy in Ghana and around Africa. [Ghana, February 2011]

  • Canadian Music Makes Noise in Australia

    Canadian Music Makes Noise in Australia

    2011-02-21 - The Consulate General of Canada in Sydney has initiated a program focused on introducing emerging Canadian talent to the vibrant Australian music festival market, and to the opportunities for touring “down under”. [Australia, February 2011]

  • “Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration” exhibition unveiled at the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo

    “Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration” exhibition unveiled at the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo

    2011-02-17 - The Embassy of Canada in Tokyo held an opening ceremony of the exhibition “Inuit Prints: Japanese Inspiration” highlighting the little-known connection between Inuit and Japanese printmaking [Japan, February 2011]

  • Indigenous Peoples learn to put their business plans into action

    Indigenous Peoples learn to put their business plans into action

    2011-02-09 - The Embassy of Canada in the Philippines and the University of Manitoba-Stu Clark Centre for Entrepreneurship teamed up to launch Philippine BizCamp to help Philippine Indigenous Peoples build on their business interests and create sustainable economic plans. [Philippines , February 2011]

  • Creating a new generation of Chilean leaders through Canadian education and research

    Creating a new generation of Chilean leaders through Canadian education and research

    2011-02-01 - This year, over 100 Chileans received grants and scholarships to study or conduct research in Canada. The Embassy of Canada in Chile organized a ceremony to celebrate these bilateral education links. [Chile, December 2010]

Coup d'oeil sur le monde 2011

Coup d'oeil sur le monde - des histoires vécues sur le terrain

  • Construire un avenir avec l'éducation aux Philippines

    L'ambassadeur salue les jeunes Bajau

    2011-12-28 - Le Canada aide les autochtones Bajaus à s’installer dans leur nouvelle communauté en fournissant des denrées alimentaires et des fournitures scolaires aux enfants et des compétences de travail aux femmes pour leur autosuffisance. [Philippines, decembre 2011]

  • Le Canada participe au Festival International de la Bande Dessinée d’Alger

    Un groupe d’enfants visitant une exposition artistique

    2011-12-19 - Les artistes et les dessinateurs de bandes dessinées ont afflué vers Alger en provenance de trente-sept pays différents à travers le monde, dont le Canada. Entre les expositions, les discussions en groupe, les ateliers et les projections de films, ce programme de quatre jours se s’est avéré extrêmement chargé. [Alger, decembre 2011]

  • Apprendre ensemble lors de l’exercice militaire « Maple Arch » en Pologne

    Les soldats au garde

    2011-12-15 - Côte à côte, épaule à épaule, un groupe de 200 soldats ont entrepris une formation spéciale connue sous le nom d’exercice Maple Arch. Cet exercice leur offre l’occasion d’apprendre à coopérer efficacement sur le terrain. [Pologne, decembre 2011]

  • Impliquer les jeunes dans la démocratie ghanéenne

    M. Kofi Akpaloo au forum sur le rôle des jeunes dans les élections

    2011-12-12 - Comme préparation aux imminentes élections de 2012 au Ghana, le haut‑commissariat du Canada a organisé à l’Institut d’études professionnelles de Legon un forum sur le rôle des jeunes dans les élections. [Ghana, decembre 2011]

  • Promotion de la responsabilité à Trinite-et-Tobago

    Une conférence contre la corruption

    2011-12-08 - Les pratiques d'approvisionnement corrompues ont contribué à la chute de deux gouvernements de Trinité-et-Tobago au cours des dernières années, si bien que des experts canadiens se sont empressés d'apporter leur aide en proposant des pratiques exemplaires et en discutant des différentes vues globales des commissions anticorruption. [Trinite-et-Tobago, decembre 2011]

  • La troupe de danse canadienne MOVE au 13e Festival international de danse et de musique de Bangkok

    Les danseurs de MOVE

    2011-11-22 - Le festival international de danse et de musique de Bangkok est la plus grande manifestation des arts de la scène de la Thaïlande. Cette année, le Festival a présenté les danseurs de MOVE, une troupe de danse contemporaine de Vancouver, marquant ainsi la première fois qu'une troupe de danse moderne canadienne se produisait en Thaïlande.

  • Culture sur étoffe : des tapisseries inuites à Trinité-et-Tobago

    Culture sur étoffe : des tapisseries inuites à Trinité-et-Tobago

    2011-11-18 - Les territoires arctiques du Nord canadien semblent être une contrée si lointaine vue de Port of Spain, pourtant l’art peut faire office de pont entre les cultures et les communautés à travers le monde.

  • L'amitié continue : le 20ième anniversaire du rétablissement des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Lituanie

    L'amitié continue : le 20ième anniversaire du rétablissement des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Lituanie

    2011-10-26 - En 1990, l'année précédant l'éclatement de l'Union soviétique, la Lituanie est devenue la première république soviétique à proclamer son indépendance. Plus de deux décennies plus tard, nous celebrons le 20ième anniversaire du rétablissement des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Lituanie.

  • Rassembler des communautés et commémorer le 10e anniversaire de la Charte démocratique interaméricaine au Chili

    le 10e anniversaire de la Charte démocratique interaméricaine

    2011-10-25 - Grâce à la création d’un laboratoire informatique, le centre d’activités parascolaires à La Granja désire permettre à des enfants vulnérables de devenir des citoyens du numérique fonctionnels, augmentant ainsi leur chance d’accéder à des possibilités d'emploi et à des opportunités académiques.

  • Un avant-goût de la culture canadienne au Festival international du film de Monterrey

    Un avant-goût de la culture canadienne au Festival international du film de Monterrey

    2011-10-20 - Ce festival est le principal festival du film dans le Nord du Mexique et l’un des évènements culturels des plus incontournables du pays. Chaque année, le festival sélectionne un pays invité ayant une tradition cinématographique d’envergure et cette année, le choix s’est porté sur le Canada.

  • Perspectives uniques et innovatrices : discussions sur les handicaps en Australie

    Discussions sur les handicaps en Australie

    2011-10-14 - Trois Canadiens de renommée ont visité l’Australie pour participer à des discussions portant sur les défis, les réalisations et les recherches en matière de questions touchant les personnes handicapées et l'accessibilité, et pour établir des contacts avec des communautés qui font des activités artistiques et scientifiques.

  • Accroître la participation communautaire à la prévention et au traitement de la tuberculose

    2011-10-11 - Il y a quatre ans, le mari d’Irene Nyambura a contracté la tuberculose. Aujourd’hui, Irene est une travailleuse de la santé en milieu communautaire dans la région d’installation à faible revenu de Kawangware qui travaille pour éliminer la stigmatisation et enseigner à la communauté des techniques de prévention et de traitement de la tuberculose.

  • Célébrer les réalisations musicales des enfants à la Grèce

    Célébrer les réalisations musicales des enfants à la Grèce

    2011-09-30 - Jetant un éclairage nouveau sur le conte classique allemand du joueur de flûte d’Hamelinf, La Flûte à bec enchantée est le fruit d’un partenariat réussi entre le Canada et la Grèce, où deux chœurs d’enfants ont participé à un projet interculturel novateur.

  • Le comique rencontre le symbolique

    Juste Pour Rire

    2011-09-28 - A partir de ses humbles origines à Montréal, Juste Pour Rire à l’Opéra de Sydney attire 16,000 admirateurs de la comédie.

  • À l’occasion de la Journée du Canada, l’Université de Wollongong regorge de feuilles d'érable

    À l’occasion de la Journée du Canada, l’Université de Wollongong regorge de feuilles d'érable

    2011-09-26 - C’était un grand plaisir de voir la feuille d'érable rouge jalonner tout le campus pour la célébration de la Journée du Canada, durant laquelle l'université s'est penchée sur le cinéma, la littérature et les programmes d’échanges canadiens et le financement de la recherche au Canada.

  • Construire des toits verts à Chandigarh

    Construire des toits verts à Chandigarh

    2011-09-20 - En tant qu’innovation qui recueille une adhésion de plus en plus importante aussi bien pour les immeubles d'habitation que pour les immeubles d’entreprises, les toits verts représentent une approche créative pour réduire les coûts liés au chauffage et à la climatisation, sans compter qu’ils permettent l’augmentation des espaces pouvant être réservés à la végétation.

  • Partager la littérature canadienne en Suède

    Partager la littérature canadienne en Suède

    2011-09-12 - La traduction d’ouvrages littéraires dans diverses langues est l’une des nombreuses façons pour nous de partager des connaissances et notre esprit créateur dans d’autres pays. L’Ambassade du Canada à Stockholm a eu le plaisir récemment d’accueillir deux auteurs canadiens pendant leur séjour en Suède

  • Commémoration du 11 septembre 2011 : la ville de Lewisporte et le vol 15 de Delta

    Commémoration du 11 septembre 2011 : la ville de Lewisporte et le vol 15 de Delta

    2011-09-09 - Pour remercier leurs nouveaux amis de leur hospitalité extraordinaire et spontanée de 9/11, les passagers et membres de l’équipage du vol 15 ont mis sur pied un fonds de bourses d’études pour les étudiants de Lewisporte, Terre‑Neuve.

  • Perpétuer l’héritage de Terry Fox à Bangkok

    Perpétuer l’héritage de Terry Fox à Bangkok

    2011-09-07 - Après cinquante ans de relations diplomatiques entre la Thaïlande et le Canada, les deux pays continuent à travailler ensemble afin d’entraîner des changements sociaux positifs; cette fois-ci, le Canada et la Thaïlande ont de nouveau joint leurs forces sous la bannière de la lutte contre le cancer.

  • Tirer parti de la diaspora de Trinité-et-Tobago

    Tirer parti de la diaspora de Trinité-et-Tobago

    2011-08-31 - Lorsqu'il s’agit des liens entre le Canada et Trinité-et-Tobago, il y a certainement de quoi à célébrer. Le Haut-commissariat du Canada à Port d’Espagne a puisé dans la diaspora de Trinité-et-Tobago et a ramené à Trinité-et-Tobago des talents musicaux de calibre international.

  • Nourrir l’espoir des jeunes déplacés en Somalie

    Nourrir l’espoir des jeunes déplacés en Somalie

    2011-08-30 - Cela fait plus de cinq ans que Deka, âgée de 16 ans, a fui Mogadiscio. Le Galkayo Education Center for Peace and Development a lancé un projet de formation professionnelle qui profite directement aux jeunes filles déplacées.

  • Lancers frappés et karaoké canadien : Bangkok célèbre la culture francophone du Canada

    Lancers frappés et karaoké canadien : Bangkok célèbre la culture francophone du Canada

    2011-08-29 - Des groupes importants d’étudiants se sont rendus à Bangkok spécialement pour la Journée internationale de la francophonie et étaient plus que ravis de prendre part aux diverses activités, notamment un tournoi de pétanque ainsi qu'un concours de karaoké.

  • Une célébration de la musique canadienne en Tasmanie

    Une célébration de la musique canadienne en Tasmanie

    2011-08-24 - Quand il s’agit de faire la musique, le Canada et l’Australie continuent à chanter en parfaite harmonie. Ten Days on the Island, le célèbre festival de Tasmanie, a une fois encore souligné la vie insulaire avec, dans un programme endiablé, des artistes canadiens venus essentiellement de la côte Est du Canada.

  • Le drapeau déployé en Tunisie

    2011-08-09 - C’est avec une grande fierté que les participants à la cérémonie ont vu le drapeau canadien s’élever pour la première fois devant la nouvelle chancellerie, car la cérémonie d’inauguration a souligné l’importance de l’ouverture récente de la nouvelle chancellerie après la Révolution du jasmin.

  • Le Canada sert des délices culinaires au Costa Rica

    2011-08-08 - Pour souligner l’arrivée du bœuf canadien sur les marchés costaricains, l’ambassadeur canadien Cameron MacKay a organisé une célébration culinaire à la résidence officielle de San José, avec le chef de renom Edgar Alvarez.

  • Les grands-mères et la diversité canadienne

    2011-08-04 - Grandmère, baba, nona, yiayia, babcia : comment décririez-vous votre grand-mère ? L’ambassade du Canada à Stockholm a organisé une exposition de photos nommée « Héritages » pour souligner la contribution des femmes et la diversité .

  • Un fonds canadien pour préserver un trésor du Pacifique

    Un fonds canadien pour préserver un trésor du Pacifique

    2011-08-02 - Le Canada continue d’appuyer le développement et la préservation des richesses naturelles et culturelles de Batanes, une province unique des Philippines.

  • Les employés de l'Ambassade du Canada se portaient volontaires pour un environnement plus écolo

    Une équipe formée à partir des différentes sections de l’ambassade nettoie le bac à sable.

    2011-07-28 - L'ambassadeur et le personnel de l'Ambassade du Canada à Budapest ont uni leurs efforts pour nettoyer un parc sur l'île Marguerite en tant que bénévoles.

  • L'art fait un impact positif au sein des communautés déprimées de Manille

    L'art fait un impact positif au sein des communautés déprimées de Manille

    2011-07-28 - Il n’est pas facile de se retrouver à l’extérieur au mois d’avril à Manille alors que les températures les plus chaudes s’abattent sur la ville au beau milieu de la saison sèche philippine. Mais la chaleur accablante n’a pas réussi à dissuader plus de soixante membres de l’Ambassade du Canada, personnel canadien et collègues recrutés sur place à Manille avec en tête l’Ambassadeur Christopher Thornley, lorsqu’ils se sont récemment portés bénévoles pour peinturer des maisons dans le cadre d’un projet domiciliaire.

  • Nés pour être libre: Une primatologue et conservationniste canadienne se voit accorder une distinction officielle en Lithuanie

    Nés pour être libre: Une primatologue et conservationniste canadienne se voit accorder une distinction officielle en Lithuanie

    2011-07-28 - Madame Biruté Galdikas, primatologue et conservationniste canadienne de renommée internationale, s’est rendue en Lituanie au début mai afin de recevoir une distinction officielle de la part de l’État au Palais présidentiel, et de lancer une initiative visant à restaurer les forêts de chêne de ce pays.

  • Un réseau des Canadiens travaillant aux organisations internationales

    Un réseau des Canadiens travaillant aux organisations internationales

    2011-07-28 - L’ambassadeur Lambert et sa femme ont souligné les accomplissements des centaines de canadiens travaillant au sein des cours et des tribunaux internationaux ainsi qu’à l’OIAC, la NC3A de l’OTAN et les autres organisations multilatérales présentes à La Haye, Cité internationale de Paix et de Justice.

  • Canada honore des pionniers des sciences en Israël

    Canada honore des pionniers des sciences en Israël

    2011-07-28 - L'ambassadeur du Canada en Israël a co-organisé une réception pour rendre hommage aux récipients israéliens du prix prestigieux Canada Gairdner International 2011, qui soutient les leaders mondiaux en sciences bio-médicales.

  • Les femmes font des vagues par leur militantisme constitutionnel

    Les femmes font des vagues par leur militantisme constitutionnel

    2011-07-28 - La Foundation for Human Rights a organisé un visionnement du documentaire Consitute!, qui célèbre l’histoire diversifiée du militantisme des femmes dans l’élaboration de constitutions.

  • Formation des agents de police de l'ONU en République démocratique du Congo

    Formation des agents de police de l'ONU en République démocratique du Congo

    2011-07-28 - Après une visite exploratoire facilitée par l’Ambassade du Canada à Kinshasa, le Centre Pearson de maintien de la paix était de retour pour offrir une formation sur les violences sexuelles aux officiers de la Police onusienne.

  • Partager ses connaissances en matière d’approvisionnement d’un pays et d’un secteur à l’autre

    Partager ses connaissances en matière d’approvisionnement d’un pays et d’un secteur à l’autre

    2011-07-28 - Partage de connaissances avec des cadres supérieurs des secteurs public et privé de Trinité-et-Tobago; le Canada a co-animé une séance d’apprentissage réussie sur les pratiques fructueuses en matière d’approvisionnement.

  • Les entreprises canadiennes appliquent les plus hauts standards au Chili

    Les entreprises canadiennes appliquent les plus hauts standards au Chili

    2011-05-06 - La Chambre de commerce Chili-Canada a lancé son deuxième rapport sur les pratiques des entreprises Canadiennes présentes au Chili quant à la Responsabilité sociale des entreprises.

  • Le travail d’une visionnaire canadienne en action au Ghana

    Le travail d’une visionnaire canadienne en action au Ghana

    2011-03-03 - Kathy Knowles est reconnue pour avoir fait bâtir des bibliothèques et fait la promotion de l’alphabétisation au Ghana et à travers l’Afrique. [Ghana, février 2011]

  • La musique canadienne se fait entendre en Australie

    La musique canadienne se fait entendre en Australie

    2011-02-21 - Le consulat général du Canada à Sydney a lancé un programme qui vise à faire connaître aux artistes canadiens émergents le marché du festival de musique dynamique d’Australie et les occasions de faire des tournées aux antipodes. [Australie, Février 2011]

  • L’exposition « Gravures inuites : Inspiration japonaise » dévoilée à l’ambassade du Canada à Tokyo

    L’exposition « Gravures inuites : Inspiration japonaise » dévoilée à l’ambassade du Canada à Tokyo

    2011-02-17 - L’Ambassade du Canada à Tokyo a organisé une cérémonie d’ouverture de l’exposition « Gravures inuites : Inspiration japonaise » qui souligne le lien peu connu entre la gravure sur pierre inuite et japonaise [Japon, Février 2011]

  • Des autochtones apprennent à mettre en œuvre leur plan d’action

    Des autochtones apprennent à mettre en œuvre leur plan d’action

    2011-02-09 - L’Ambassade du Canada aux Philippines et le Stu Clark Centre for Entrepreneurship de la University of Manitoba ont fait équipe pour lancer le BizCamp aux Philippines pour aider les peuples autochtones philippins à développer leurs propres intérêts commerciaux et à créer des plans économiques durables. [Philippines , Février 2011]

  • Créer une nouvelle génération de leaders chiliens grâce à l’éducation et à la recherche au Canada

    Créer une nouvelle génération de leaders chiliens grâce à l’éducation et à la recherche au Canada

    2011-02-01 - Cette année, plus de 100 Chiliens ont reçu des subventions et des bourses pour étudier ou faire de la recherche au Canada. L’Ambassade du Canada au Chili a organisé une cérémonie pour célébrer ces liens bilatéraux en matière d’éducation. [Chili, décembre 2010]