Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

colombia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
Bookmark and Share

Dr. Nubia Muñoz wins Global Health Award for cancer research

The Canadian Embassy in Colombia and the University of Rosario recently hosted a conference to highlight the research of Dr. Nubia Muñoz, this year’s recipient of the Canada Gairdner Global Health Award, directed at health issues pertaining to developing countries.

Dr. Eduardo Franco speaking at the conference with Dr. Nubia Muñoz on his left.
Dr. Eduardo Franco speaking at the conference with Dr. Nubia Muñoz on his left.
   

The Gairdner Foundation selected Dr. Muñoz for this prestigious award for her research that defined the link between the human papilloma virus (HPV) and cervical cancer on a global level which led to the development of a vaccine for the virus.

Dr. Muñoz’s presentation was followed by a lecture by Dr. Eduardo Franco from McGill University on the role of HPV in cervical cancer screening and a roundtable discussion with all participants.

The conference addressed three basic themes, the natural history of HPV infection, the effectiveness of the vaccine and its impact in countries that administer the vaccine as well as the effectiveness of HPV as an early detection strategy for the prevention of cervical cancer.

In studies, the vaccine showed results demonstrating its effectiveness for primary prevention of cervical cancer in women. It also showed that the vaccine is effective in preventing re-infection of HPV in women who have previously been treated. These studies show that HPV vaccine will go a long way in preventing cervical cancer in populations that have been vaccinated.

Finally, despite these advances, education campaigns, self-care and prevention measures play a crucial role in the control of cervical cancer.

Another conclusion was that it would not be possible to implement a mass HPV vaccination campaign in Colombia due to lack of resources and other health priorities in Colombia.  However, during his stay in Bogotá, Dr. Eduardo Franco noted that this event could be used a stepping stone for future collaborative efforts between McGill and Rosario University and expressed an interest in working with the Canadian Embassy in 2010 to develop a collaborative agreement for future research.

Dr. John Dirks, Director of the Gairdner Foundation, and Dr. Sheila Robinson, the Foundation’s Director for International Relations, flew from Toronto to join representatives from the National Cancer Institute, various universities, local health authorities, and the Méderi University Hospital, at the event.

“This year was the first year the Gairdner Foundation has presented an award to someone from Latin America, and we hope this is the beginning of deepening links between Canadian and Colombian researchers.” – Dr. John Dirks

 

>> Read and share more stories about Canada’s activities around the world - follow Eyes Abroad.

 

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-04-20

Dre Nubia Muñoz, lauréate d’un prix international pour ses recherches sur le cancer

L’ambassade du Canada en Colombie et l’Université de Rosario ont accueilli récemment une conférence soulignant les recherches de la Dre Nubia Muñoz, lauréate cette année du Prix Canada Gairdner en santé mondiale, qui récompense les travaux visant à améliorer la santé dans les pays en développement.


Dr Eduardo Franco s’exprimant à la conférence; à sa gauche, Dre Nubia Muñoz.

La Fondation Gairdner a choisi de décerner ce prix prestigieux à la Dre Muñoz pour ses recherches qui lui ont permis d’établir le lien entre le papillomavirus et le cancer du col de l’utérus au niveau mondial, ce qui a mené à la mise au point d’un vaccin contre le virus.

L’exposé de la Dre Muñoz a été suivi d’une conférence du DEduardo Franco, de l’Université McGill, sur le rôle du papillomavirus dans le dépistage du cancer du col de l’utérus, puis d’une table ronde de tous les participants.

La conférence a abordé trois grands thèmes, soit l’histoire naturelle de l’infection au papillomavirus, l’efficacité du vaccin et son impact dans les pays qui l’administrent, ainsi que l’efficacité du papillomavirus comme stratégie de dépistage précoce pour la prévention du cancer du col de l’utérus.

Au cours de différentes études, le vaccin a démontré son efficacité pour la prévention primaire du cancer du col de l’utérus. Il s’est aussi avéré efficace pour prévenir la réinfection chez les femmes qui ont déjà été traitées contre le papillomavirus. Ces études ont montré que le vaccin contre le papillomavirus fera beaucoup pour prévenir le cancer du col de l’utérus chez les personnes vaccinées.

Enfin, malgré ces avancées, les campagnes d’éducation, la prise en charge personnelle et les mesures de prévention jouent un rôle de premier plan dans la lutte contre le cancer du col de l’utérus.

Par ailleurs, les participants ont conclu qu’il ne serait pas possible de mener une campagne de vaccination massive contre le papillomavirus en Colombie en raison de la pénurie de ressources et de la priorité accordée à d’autres objectifs en matière de santé dans ce pays. Toutefois, durant son séjour à Bogotá, le Dr Franco a fait observer que cette conférence pourrait servir de tremplin pour une future collaboration entre l’Université McGill et l’Université de Rosario; il a exprimé le désir de collaborer avec l’ambassade du Canada en vue de préparer en 2010 un accord de coopération pour de futurs travaux de recherche.

Le directeur de la Fondation Gairdner, Dr John Dirks, et la directrice des relations internationales de la Fondation, Dre Sheila Robinson, sont venus de Toronto et ont joint des représentants de l’Institut national du cancer des États-Unis, de diverses universités, des autorités sanitaires locales et de l’Hôpital universitaire Méderi pour cette manifestation.

« C’est la première fois que la Fondation Gairdner attribue un prix à une personnalité latino-américaine, et nous espérons que ce sera le début d’un resserrement des liens entre chercheurs canadiens et colombiens. » – Dr John Dirks

Autres ressources : en espagnol, l’Université de Rosario; en anglais, l’Institut national du cancer.