PATH TO PEACE: Canada’s Peace, Security and Development work in Colombia

After over six decades of internal armed conflict, the prospect of peace, which Colombians so richly deserve, is closer than ever. Canada has been there to support the Government of Colombia through initiatives implemented by key partners during the conflict. The Government and all Colombians can count on Canada’s continued support for their efforts to build long lasting peace and prosperity.

Canada’s support for Colombia’s ‘Path to Peace’ focuses on four main areas:

Children, youth and vulnerable groups

Canada's programs support children and youth, with a priority on child protection and access to education, by helping to break the cycle of violence and to prepare future generations for full integration into Colombian society. In partnership with Colombian state institutions, non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and civil society, Canada works to protect children, youth and vulnerable groups from violence, exploitation and abuse.

Success Stories

Building Peace through Education

Without education or employment opportunities, vulnerable youth are at greater risk of being recruited into Colombia's illegal drug trade or armed conflict. Through the Vive la Educación project, in partnership with Save the Children Canada (SCC) and the Norwegian Refugee Council, Canada is providing $18.5 million (2013-2018) to help 100,000 vulnerable children and youth access quality education in some of the most conflict afflicted regions of Colombia.

“This project has helped make schools a safe place for children and youth. Through the project, children and youth learned to resolve conflicts and deal peacefully with violence in themselves, and in their families, schools, and communities. It helped them break the cycle of violence and start rebuilding their lives.”- Eleanor Douglas, SCC's expert on children in armed conflict

See how the SCC project is providing new opportunities for education:


Golombiao – the game of peace

Colombian youth are learning problem solving skills that are helping them from becoming involved in violence through an interesting mechanism - a variation on the popular game of soccer. 

Through its work with UNICEF (2010-2015) Canada has supported a very successful peace game known as Golombiao.  The game is a variation of soccer developed to strengthen peaceful co-existence and promote child and youth protection.  It encourages participation, recognition, and respect for differences and diversity between women and men.

Read more about Golombiao’s impact in Colombia:

Proud to partner with:

Facts:

  • $18.5 million since 2013 to help 100,000 vulnerable children and youth access quality education.
  • 64,000 children have learnt peace and problem-solving skills through Golombiao.

Rural Economic Development

Canada’s support for rural economic development in Colombia is helping to ensure that small-scale farmers, women, ethnic minorities and youth can earn a decent living and contribute to their local economy. Canada contributes to transforming Colombia’s rural areas by helping small-scale farmers increase their productivity, access credit and crop insurance, grow viable cooperative businesses and connect to new markets.

Success Stories

Making an IMPACT with rural farmers in Colombia

Colombia has great agricultural potential; however, small-scale farmers are being left behind. They lack access to financial services, training, production equipment and infrastructure, and have been constrained for decades by armed conflict.

Through the Improving the Economic Performance of Agricultural Cooperatives (IMPACT) project, implemented by the Canadian Cooperative Association (CCA), Canada is providing $15 million to create rural economic opportunities for small scale farmers in eleven areas of Colombia.  

See how this project is assisting farmers in Colombia:

Proud to partner with:

Facts:

  • $15 million to create rural economic opportunities for small scale farmers
  • 16,500 farmers assisted through the IMPACT project

Justice

Canada is supporting projects in Colombia to assist with the transition to a post-conflict environment. This includes working with Canada’s partners for the development of territorial peace and reconciliation initiatives, planning for the resettlement of internally displaced communities, implementing a new rural justice system and supporting victims of crime. 

Success Stories

Promoting understanding of the Peace Process

Canada is working closely with the Office of the High Commissioner for Peace and the Office of the Counsel Minister for Post-Conflict to enhance the Government of Colombia's capacity to engage and coordinate with local leaders and citizens in relation to the current peace process and the implementation of a final peace agreement. Government of Canada is supporting the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs (NDI) in order to work with political parties, candidates and elected officials as they seek to develop and implement policy proposals coming from the Peace Process.

The ultimate goal is to increase knowledge of both the Peace Process and public policies, to enable the public and government officials to become active participants in implementation. Canadian cooperation allows NDI leveraging the media to build this public knowledge base, as they will also train journalists on analyzing different public policy options, to improve election coverage and public awareness of important issues in the post-conflict environment.

 

Supporting Victims of Sexual Violence

Violence against women and girls is one of the most prevalent human rights abuses in the world. It undermines the ability of women to participate in rebuilding their communities and livelihoods in the aftermath of armed conflict.

Canada has provided $850,000 to launch an access to justice strategy for victims of sexual and gender-based violence in Colombia. This initiative will counter the existing high number of unregistered incidents, promote the registration of complaints and the investigation of these cases, and provide psychological support to the victims.

Proud to partner with:

Facts:

  • $382,000 to support understanding of the Peace Process in Colombia
  • $850,000 to support victims of sexual violence
  • $40,000 to assist in implementing a new rural justice system

Security

Canada is supporting the Government of Colombia’s continued efforts to curb violence, fight impunity from justice, and promote security and peace within a framework of human rights protection and the rule of law. Canada’s programs are working to reduce crime, strengthen citizen security and eliminate landmines in Colombia. 

Success Stories

Supporting Landmine Survivors

Colombia is one of the most landmine-affected countries in the world. Canada is proud to have been a lead donor on landmine action in Colombia, committing nearly $10 million to humanitarian demining initiatives.

Through the Assistance to Civilian Landmine Survivors project, implemented by Handicap International, Canada has provided $2.9 million since 2012 to deliver health, rehabilitation and psychosocial support to survivors of landmine accidents in 10 areas of Colombia. The project targets rural areas most affected by poverty and armed conflict.

See how the project is rebuilding lives: 

Police Transformation Focused On Citizen Security

In cooperation with partner Fundación Ideas para la Paz (FIP), Canada is supporting the Colombian National Police as it strives to reduce crime and strengthen citizen security in the 17 largest cities in Colombia, with special emphasis on areas in which violence and crime are affecting the most vulnerable populations.

Canada has provided $432,000 towards initiatives aimed to develop specific capacities within the Colombian National Police to reduce metropolitan crime (including violence against women and sexual violence) and improve the public's perception and confidence in the Colombian security sector.

For the first time within the National Police, there is a strong gender focus to address domestic violence in Colombia. As a result, the program allows the police to understand and address domestic violence against women, including how to ensure that women properly denounce this crime, how first responders can better support women in these situations and what services and resources are available to them.

Proud to partner with:

Facts:

  • Colombia is one of the most landmine affected country in the world
  • $10 million since 2003 to support demining initiatives
  • $2.9 million to support survivors of landmine accidents
  • $432,000 to support crime reduction projects in 17 Colombian cities

EN ROUTE VERS LA PAIX : L’engagement du Canada en ce qui concerne les thèmes de la Paix, de la Sécurité et du Développement en Colombie

À l’issue de plus de six décennies de conflit armé interne, la possibilité d’atteindre la paix, tant méritée par la population colombienne est plus proche que jamais. Le Canada était présent pour soutenir le gouvernement de la Colombie par l’entremise d’initiatives mises en œuvre par des partenaires clés durant le conflit. Le gouvernement et tous les colombiens peuvent compter sur le soutien continu du Canada dans leurs des efforts visant à assurer une paix durable ainsi que la prospérité.

L’engagement du Canada lié à la construction de paix se divise en quatre grandes categories.

Enfants, jeunes et groupes vulnérables

Les programmes canadiens en Colombie appuient les enfants et les jeunes, en mettant un accent prioritaire sur la protection de l’enfance et l’accès à l’éducation et en contribuant à briser le cycle de la violence ainsi qu’ à préparer les générations futures à s’intégrer pleinement à la société colombienne. Le Canada œuvre de concert avec les institutions gouvernementales colombiennes, les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et la société civile pour protéger les enfants, les jeunes et les groupes vulnérables contre la violence, l’exploitation et les mauvais traitements.

Cas exemplaires

Consolider la paix grâce à l’éducation

Faute de possibilités en matière d’éducation ou d’emploi, les jeunes vulnérables risquent davantage d’être recrutés par des entités participant au trafic de stupéfiants ou impliqués au niveau du confit armé en Colombie. Par l’intermédiaire du projet Vive la Educación, qui est organisé en partenariat avec Aide à l’enfance – Canada et le Conseil norvégien pour les réfugiés (en anglais seulement), le Canada investit 18,5 millions de dollars (2013-2018) afin d’aider 100 000 enfants et jeunes en situation de vulnérabilité  à accéder à une éducation de qualité dans certaines des régions colombiennes les plus touchées par le conflit.

« Ce projet contribue à rendre les écoles sécuritaires pour les enfants et les jeunes. Grâce à ce projet, des enfants et des jeunes ont appris à résoudre des conflits et à réagir de façon pacifique à la violence qui règne en eux-mêmes, dans leur famille, leur école et leur collectivité. Ce projet les aide à briser le cycle de la violence et à se rebâtir une vie. »
- Eleanor Douglas, spécialiste en ce qui concerne l’enfance touchée par les conflits armés

Découvrez comment le projet d’Aide à l’enfance offre de nouvelles possibilités en matière d’éducation :

Golombiao, le « jeu de la paix »

Les jeunes colombiens acquièrent des compétences de résolution de problèmes qui les dissuadent de participer à des activités violentes. Pour cela, le projet utilise un mécanisme intéressant, fondé sur une variante d’un sport très populaire: le soccer.

En collaborant avec l’UNICEF (2010-2015), le Canada a appuyé  Golombiao, une initiative ludique sur la paix qui continue de remporter un franc succès. Ce jeu est une variante du soccer conçu pour favoriser la coexistence pacifique et la protection des enfants et des jeunes. Il encourage la participation, la reconnaissance et le respect des différences et de la diversité entre les hommes et les femmes.

Renseignez-vous sur les retombées de Golombiao en Colombie :

Fier partenaire de :

Dans les faits :

  • 18,5 millions de dollars sont investis (2013-2018) pour aider 100 000 enfants et jeunes vulnérables à accéder à une éducation de qualité
  • 64 000 enfants ont appris ce qu’était la paix et ont acquis des compétences de résolution de problèmes par le biais de Golombiao

Développement économique rural

Le soutien qu’apporte le Canada au développement de l’économie rurale en Colombie aide les petits producteurs agricoles, les femmes, les minorités ethniques et les jeunes à gagner correctement leur vie tout en contribuant à l’économie locale. Le Canada participe à la transformation des zones rurales colombiennes en aidant les petits producteurs agricoles à accroître leur productivité, à accéder au crédit et à l’assurance-récolte, à exploiter des coopératives viables et à atteindre de nouveaux marchés.

Cas exemplaires

Avoir un IMPACT pour les exploitants ruraux de Colombie

La Colombie a un riche potentiel agricole; toutefois, les petits producteurs agricoles sont laissés pour compte. À cause des décennies de conflit armé, ces derniers n’ont pas pu avoir accès aux services financiers, aux formations, à l’équipement de production ou à l’infrastructure.

Grâce au projet IMPACT (Améliorer le rendement économique des coopératives agricoles) mis en œuvre par l’Association des coopératives du Canada (ACC), le Canada a investi 15  millions de dollars pour créer des possibilités de développement économique rural pour les petits producteurs  agricoles provenant de 11 différentes régions colombiennes. 

Découvrez comment ce projet prête main-forte aux producteurs agricoles de Colombie :

Fier partenaire de :

Dans les faits :

  • 15 millions de dollars investis dans la création de possibilités de développement économique rural pour les petits exploitants agricoles
  • Le projet IMPACT a permis d’aider 16 500 exploitants agricoles

Justice

Le Canada soutient les projets menés en Colombie pour faciliter la transition vers un environnement post-conflit. Cet appui inclut une collaboration avec les partenaires du Canada pour l’instauration d’initiatives axées sur la paix territoriale et la réconciliation, la planification de la réinstallation de communautés déplacées à l’intérieur du pays, la mise en œuvre d’un nouveau système judiciaire rural et un soutien aux victimes d’actes criminels.

Cas exemplaires

Promouvoir la compréhension du processus de paix

Le Canada travaille étroitement avec le Bureau du Haut-Commissaire pour la paix ainsi qu’avec le ministère du post-conflit afin d’améliorer la capacité du gouvernement colombien d’assurer la participation des dirigeants locaux et des citoyens en ce qui concerne le processus de paix et la mise en œuvre éventuelle d’un accord de paix final. Le Gouvernement du Canada appuie l'Institut National Démocratique pour les Affaires Internationales (NDI) dans le développement du travail avec les partis politiques, les candidats et les élus dans leurs efforts pour développer et mettre en œuvre des propositions pour la création de politiques qui viennent du processus paix.

Le but ultime est de sensibiliser à la fois du processus de paix ainsi que les politiques publiques, pour permettre aux fonctionnaires publics et gouvernementaux participent activement à sa mise en œuvre. La coopération canadienne permet relation NDI avec les médias pour construire une base de connaissances du public et la formation des journalistes dans l'analyse des différentes options stratégiques pour améliorer la couverture des élections et de la sensibilisation du public aux questions importantes de la phase post-conflit. 

Appui aux victimes de violences sexuelles

La violence faite aux femmes et aux filles est, aux quatre coins du monde, l’un des abus les plus flagrants des droits de la personne. Ces actes compromettent la capacité des femmes à participer à la reconstruction de leur collectivité et de leurs moyens de subsistance à l’issue d’un conflit armé.

Le Canada a investi 850 000 dollars pour lancer une stratégie d’accès à la justice pour les victimes colombiennes de violences sexuelles et fondées sur le genre. Aujourd’hui, ces agressions sont très largement non signalées, et cette initiative veut remédier à cette situation, encourager le dépôt de plaintes et l’ouverture d’enquêtes, ainsi que fournir un soutien psychologique aux victimes.

Fier partenaire de :

Dans les faits :

  • 382 000 dollars ont été octroyés pour favoriser la compréhension du processus de paix en Colombie
  • 850 000 dollars ont été versés pour épauler les victimes de violences sexuelles
  • 40 000 dollars ont été investis dans la mise en œuvre d’un nouveau système judiciaire rural

Sécurité

Le Canada appuie les efforts constants déployés par le gouvernement de Colombie pour endiguer la violence, lutter contre l’impunité devant la justice et promouvoir la paix et la sécurité en vertu de la protection des droits de la personne et du respect de l’État de droit. Les programmes canadiens s’efforcent de réduire la criminalité, de renforcer la sécurité des citoyens et d’éradiquer les mines antipersonnelles en Colombie.

Cas exemplaires

Appui aux survivants des mines antipersonnelles

La Colombie est l’un des pays les plus durement touchés par les mines antipersonnelles. Le Canada est fier de faire partie des principaux contributeurs aux initiatives de lutte contre les mines antipersonnelesl en Colombie et a versé près de 10 millions de dollars pour appuyer les opérations de déminage humanitaire.

Par l’intermédiaire du projet d’aide aux survivants de mines antipersonnel dirigé par Handicap International, le Canada a versé 2,9 millions de dollars depuis 2012 pour que, dans dix régions colombiennes, des services de santé, de réadaptation et de soutien psychosocial soient dispensés aux personnes ayant survécu à des accidents provoqués par des mines antipersonnel. Ce projet concerne particulièrement les zones rurales les plus touchées par la pauvreté et le conflit armé.

Découvrez comment ce projet permet de reconstruire des vies :

Transformation des services policiers axée sur la sécurité des citoyens

En collaboration avec son partenaire Fundación Ideas para la Paz (FIP), le Canada soutient les efforts déployés par la Police nationale colombienne pour réduire la criminalité et renforcer la sécurité des citoyens dans les 17 plus grandes villes du pays, en accordant une attention particulière aux zones dans lesquelles la violence et le crime affectent les populations les plus vulnérables.

Le Canada a versé 432 000 dollars à l’appui d’initiatives visant à développer des capacités spécifiques au sein de la Police nationale colombienne pour réduire la criminalité urbaine (y compris la violence faite aux femmes et les agressions sexuelles), améliorer la façon dont le public perçoit le secteur de la sécurité en Colombie et renforcer sa confiance envers ces services.

Pour la première fois, une attention soutenue est accordée au sein de la Police nationale aux agressions fondées sur le genre, l’objectif étant de réduire la violence familiale en Colombie. De ce fait, le programme permet à la police de comprendre la violence faite aux femmes dans les foyers et d’y répondre, notamment en veillant à ce que les femmes signalent ces actes de façon appropriée, à ce que les premiers intervenants leur offrent un soutien plus efficace dans de telles circonstances et en mettant à leur disposition les services et ressources qui conviennent.

Fier partenaire de :

Dans les faits :

  • Après l’Afghanistan, la Colombie est le pays le plus touché par les mines antipersonnelles
  • 10 millions de dollars depuis 2003 ont été versés à l’appui d’initiatives de déminage
  • 2,9 millions de dollars ont été octroyés pour épauler les personnes ayant survécu à des accidents liés à l’explosion de mines antipersonnelles
  • 432 000 dollars ont été investis pour soutenir des projets de réduction de la criminalité dans 17 villes de Colombie